We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bed for cylists.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #38 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good bed for cylists.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Very friendly couple. Super Breakfasts. Very Helpful with where to eat in the evening. Would recommend to others. You can book over the net and pay for Paypal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
19
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
weston-super-mare
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

A very warm welcome from the owners. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfy. A lovely breakfast in the morning, and a great location to walk into the town. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauld_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Glendale Guest House and wished we had 3 more to stay there! The proprietors were incredibly welcoming and helpful, the room was comfortable and attractive, and the breakfast was outstanding! We were thoroughly pleased and impressed with the establishment, and couldn't believe how little we spent to stay there. The town itself was a short drive from the fell walks we wanted to do, and there are dozens of restaurants and lots of shopping within walking distance. We will stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotobritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

A one night stay in a single room with my dog. We were made to feel exceptionally welcome from the very start and the service throughout was faultless. The room was a little small but perfectly formed, very clean and in extremely good condition, with new appliances. Breakfast was delicious and you can't grumble with the price. All in all a great B&B for a great price, i'd definitely stay again, highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tighbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

“We found our stay at Glendale brilliant, the owners were lovely, the accommodation was very comfortable and modern and most of all you could see that they care about the place, it was very clean and well looked after and the breakfast was excellent. We will definately be staying again!”

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham, Eng
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Stayed here with group on coast to coast cycle trip. Friendly enough owners but the rooms and facilities were newly re furbished. Very good quality finish and breakfast was also great with good range and variety. very central to the town.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Moira and Allan certainly do welcome you for a relaxing stay in Penrith!

I use this B&B quite a lot as it is really close to the town hall where I often have business meetings. I would however also recommend the hotel to anyone on holiday in the lake district as well, the location is great, only 10 minutes away from the M6 but you are right in the heart of quaint little Penrith and easy access to all the lake district attractions as well.

It is good value for money and the breakfast is always delicious, rooms are clean & spacious and Moira & Allan are great.

I noticed there is a bad review on here about a room being too small and the bed being lumpy. All I can say is that quite a few people from our company have stayed here so we've probably tried out every bed and we have never had any problems.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoody1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.0 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#8 of 61 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Norcroft Guest House
Norcroft Guest House
#32 of 61 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brandelhow Guest House
Brandelhow Guest House
#25 of 61 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
2.8 mi away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#49 of 61 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 4 Portland Place, Penrith CA11 7QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Hotel Penrith
Glendale Guest House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing