We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely room and excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendale Guest House
Ranked #35 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Blackburn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely room and excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed for 1 night whilst visiting relatives, a lovely homely place to stay, a very comfy bedroom. Plentiful toiletries and drink tray. Breakfast was excellent, and the choice was very good no wonder they have a breakfast award. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirleylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    22
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
22
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exiled in watford
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We spent 2 nights at Glendale mid-November. We have a young daughter and wanted somewhere that would be family friendly, and Moira and Allan certainly were. We had a good sized family room + they provided cot + highchair which was really helpful. Room was absolutely fine for us and we enjoyed using the DV library. Breakfast was excellent :-)

Really hope we get the chance to go back to Penrith soon.

Room Tip: Family room is available - we asked in advance for a cot and high chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFCBTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed hear on the second night of a "Coast to Coast" cycle ride, I had advised that I had a disability, so imagine my supprise when I got there they had put the heating on for me. "We thought you would be cold" how very thoughtful. The room was excellent clean and warm!, Attention to detail was fantastic, the new en-suite was superb the toilet even had a seal on it after been cleaned. The breakfast was super also and with a single room keenly priced at £35pp a bargain to boot. Gastro pub at the end of the road made for a very pleasent stay. I will deffinatley stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jono1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Very friendly couple. Super Breakfasts. Very Helpful with where to eat in the evening. Would recommend to others. You can book over the net and pay for Paypal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston-super-mare
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

A very warm welcome from the owners. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfy. A lovely breakfast in the morning, and a great location to walk into the town. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauld_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Glendale Guest House and wished we had 3 more to stay there! The proprietors were incredibly welcoming and helpful, the room was comfortable and attractive, and the breakfast was outstanding! We were thoroughly pleased and impressed with the establishment, and couldn't believe how little we spent to stay there. The town itself was a short drive from the fell walks we wanted to do, and there are dozens of restaurants and lots of shopping within walking distance. We will stay there again in the future!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotobritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2011

A one night stay in a single room with my dog. We were made to feel exceptionally welcome from the very start and the service throughout was faultless. The room was a little small but perfectly formed, very clean and in extremely good condition, with new appliances. Breakfast was delicious and you can't grumble with the price. All in all a great B&B for a great price, i'd definitely stay again, highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tighbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
2.8 mi away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#48 of 61 in Penrith
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Townhouse
The Red Townhouse
#10 of 61 in Penrith
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norcroft Guest House
Norcroft Guest House
#29 of 61 in Penrith
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#14 of 61 in Penrith
139 reviews
0.5 mi away
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
#21 of 61 in Penrith
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendale Guest House

Property: Glendale Guest House
Address: 4 Portland Place, Penrith CA11 7QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Glendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendale Hotel Penrith
Glendale Guest House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing