We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house for our friends 50th Celebration”

Review of Morland House

Morland House (front)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Morland House (front)
Morland House (rear, showing guests' private garden) Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Morland House (front)
Morland House (rear, showing guests' private garden)
Drawing Room
Drawing Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Admiral's Room
General's Room
Archbishop's Room
Geographer's Room
Landing Library
Back Landing
Games Room
Back Hall
Kitchen
Wooden Bridge (in garden)
Engineer's Room
Explorer's Room
Canon's Room
Colonel's Room
Minna's Room
Front Stairs
Inner Hall
Outer Hall
Looking along the beck in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angie H
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect house for our friends 50th Celebration”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful family home near Penrith is the best find ever. With everything you could image for cooking. Plenty of wine Glass, (a must) and crockery for everyone. Stunning art work on the walls and lovely old furniture and comfy sofas. Freddy (the owner) Couldn't have been more helpful and even the dogs could stay. Jane was helpful making sure we had settled in ok and helped Judith who came in and cooked a superb 3 course dinner with coffee afterwards for our Adults murder mystery night. A perfect place to host this event. With a pub and brewery down the road and cafe which does amazing Pizza take away (on friday nights).

The house gardens are stunning and the house is lovely and warm, the open fire in the lounge is welcoming after a long day out. The kitchen area is huge and sometimes all 15 of us were in there and seemed plenty of space. We also liked the fact there was no television in the best Lounge as you then have conversations with the friends. There are 2 televisions if you want one. 1 in the games room ( a must for the kids) and 1 in the snug.

I am trying to sort dates for next year Freddy so will be in touch. Thank you again for letting us use your beautiful home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for a large party”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Very comfortable large house for a large party
It has everything you need plus all the extras stated on the other posts
The wi-wi is very strong but there is no phone signal at all which wasn't a problem for me
Make sure you lite the fire in the large room and kitchen, it makes it so much more comfy
We had a full Christmas Day with our friends on the Saturday, turkey dinner with all the trimmings- something you only tend to do with your family on Xmas day. Great to wear our Christmas jumpers in November too
The only downside was the pub opposite the Manor House, it was awful..
They open when they want, hardly ever anyone in there. We had a meal booked on the Sunday night, again we where on our own so no atmosphere at all. We are not fussy eaters but they served up the worst food I personally have ever tasted..8 out of 10 plates went back half full
So in short, don't factor the Crown Inn in to your plans, it's not worth it
So get a large group or family together and go and enjoy Morland House
We did
Jay n Magz Moore
Formby

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The history
Liked least: The local pub
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sagalout2...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulously special”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a weekend with my extended family ranging from teenagers to grandparents for a special birthday and all thoroughly enjoyed it.
Kitchen superbly equipped for large groups... 2 fridges, 2 freezers, double oven, large round kitchen table and all the cooking and eating utensils we could have wished for, including cafetières for the coffee lovers.
Rooms and house immaculately clean and comfortable. Very interesting and informative notices and displays of the history of the house, which is fascinating.
Playing croquet on the lawn and walking the river just added to the pleasure of our stay as did the roaring fires we lit. All logs provided and dried ready for use.
Wifi good. Mobile phone signal is not great, so if you need to rely on that, please ask the owner of its current status. Freddy is very helpful. Housekeeper gave us a courtesy call to check all was well and sorted out our hot water issue straight away.
No keys to worry about as the door has a key pad coded entry specific for your stay. P

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowy4344
Auchtermuchty, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A huge thank you to the Markham family and to Jane for all they did to make our family gathering for my wife's 50th birthday absolutely fantastic!

Jane's warm welcome on arrival and the hard work obviously put in to ensure a stay at Morland House is so comfortable and relaxing was much appreciated. The house is stunning inside and out and the history, furniture, ornaments and decoration are breathtaking; so interesting and full of character! Bedrooms are all quirky, individual and comfortable. The log burning fires in the Drawing Room and the Dining Room made for a fantastic atmosphere and our entire party enjoyed a celebration meal around the fabulous main dining table. The kitchens are so well equipped for large parties and the Games Room a focal point for the younger members of the party. The grounds are lovely and some of our party (not including me) 'enjoyed' a swim in the pool by the mill! We enjoyed croquet and also boules on the other lawn and ate lunch in the private garden - awesome! We also took a few of the circular walks from the house in the stunning surrounding countryside.

We leave with fabulous memories of a great weekend and thank you all at Morland House once again for making it possible. We hope to return in the future and would highly recommend it for special family celebrations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Stately home suitable for large parties”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A large group of us (18 adults) stayed in this beautiful accommodation for a weekend. The house itself is steeped in history and is decorated with many original paintings and artefacts. We enjoyed the spacious gardens, nearby river and the excellent cafe next door and reasonable pub opposite. Excellent facilities for cooking for large groups, a large dining hall, multiple bathrooms and a games room with pool table. We were able to use as a base to explore the surrounding areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue G
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best long weekend ever”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was for my Fiancé's 50th Birthday. What a fantastic time, this is an amazing house filled with history, with so many interesting items, the display cabinets full of wonderful things, items in cupboards you just didn't expect. Could have easily spent a week not a weekend, nobody in my party wanted to leave. On the Friday it was just my partner and I, we discovered all sorts of things and allocated the beautiful bedrooms for our guests, explored some of the gardens, and we spent a lovely evening with the fire lit in the drawing room. On the Saturday we had a fantastic meal in the dining room cooked by the Kites from Mill Yard Café (which was amazing), followed by lots of wine and a pub quiz in the drawing room. On the Sunday we all had a brilliant breakfast in the kitchen, explored the grounds and did a walk round the village up a hill and back through some woods (we got soaked) ordered a Chinese takeaway so we could all enjoy the dining room again, in the evening we played cards against humanity, a slightly outrageous card game. The house was filled with laughter the entire time, brilliant weekend had by us all, I'm sure we will be back, and we have all just been recommending it to everyone since, and are still talking about it now! We did intend to play croquet, on the beautiful croquet lawn just ran out of time.
Thank you so much to the Markham family for sharing such an amazing place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The whole weekend, the amazing things in the house
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert C
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house and grounds ”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I recently organised a large reunion party for friends at Morland house and everything exceeded my expectations. The house is steeped in history and filled with curiosities, and the garden and grounds are beautiful and extremely well looked after. Everyone was blown away with the location and house and we were lucky to enjoy fantastic weather. For large groups who enjoy a bit of history and country life, this is a great place to visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing