We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb break in November '13”
Review of Glen Rothay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Rothay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb break in November '13”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have just had a couple of nights at this unique Hotel...this is our second stay on the 'Amazon' package. First visit was in Dora's room, this time we had the largest room which was huge, full of charm and had everything we needed including a superb bathroom with a gorgeous roll top bath! The food is stunning, breakfast top quality ( salmon blini's are yum) and the evening meal was to die for! The team are very friendly and welcoming....the rooms are spotlessly clean. We also had spa passes for Langdale Spa which we thoroughly enjoyed. If you want a break that is quirky, cosy, satisfying (esp...the food and ales) and filled with great memories - chose this charming hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueShellard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    135
    37
    24
    17
See reviews for
76
295
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our experience of this place didn't start off very well and we were left distinctly unimpressed by our whole trip. We'd booked a two night stay and needed to change dates due to other family commitments. Tried to rearrange by email and over the phone but kept getting told to call back when the manager was there (didn't even recieve a response to email). Finally managed to get through and were told in no uncertain terms that we could't change dates and had to go when we had booked or we'd lose the money for the entire holiday (we'd had to pay in full which is unusual in itself these days). We obviously didn't want to kiss goodbye to almost £200 so decided to go.

Perhaps we were unlucky with the room allocated but it looked on the shabby side with peeling wallpaper, loose window frames and some unsavoury looking stains on the carpet. The room was large as was the bathroom but the trickle of water from the shower was not an enticing prospect for either us or the kids.

Can't comment on food as didn't eat our evening meal there but overheard some comments about it being a bit dear for what you got. Breakfast was OK but the time slot of 45 mins means that everyone is waiting to be served at the same time. The staff did their best but there weren't enough of them meaning that we ended up hanging around much longer than we hoped. For this reason we ate at the Apple Pie on the second day which was much better.

Certainly won't be going back here again and won't be recommending it to friends and family either.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October 2013 - also on an Amazon package.
The location is great - just above Rydal Water and very close to walking tracks through from Rydal to Grasmere and Ambleside.
We had a huge four poster bed room with the largest (and warmest) bathroom you have ever seen!!
The food at every meal we had in the restaurant was delicious and the Salmon and scrambled breakfast is lovely and so nicely presented you want to photograph it rather than eat it!!!!
The badger feeding every night is a new experience and the young barman James. (Just kidding Jay!!!!) has fantastic knowledge of real ales.
Real family feel to the hotel and bar, excellent food and a great location - as other people have said - if what you want is generic rooms and corporate service go somewhere else - book here for a proper Lakeland break

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByebyeCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a really enjoyable 2 night stay. The staff were really friendly, the food was plentiful and of good quality. They also served a good variety of real ales. The location is stunning, the rooms were big and there was a real sense of being in a listed building dating back to the 17th century. Then on top of all this there was the badgers - fed nightly at 8.45p.m. A must see!
After 2 days we felt rested, cared for and looking forward to another trip sometime in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncfch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Given what we were paying (Amazon Vouchers + Supplement for 'Kentmere' room) we thought this was an exceptional place. The 'A' Board outside refers to "Real Ale, Real Food and Real Staff" Totally accurate! The staff in particular were so friendly. Young Jay welcomed us, took food orders and served an excellent pint and kept up just the right level of non-intrusive banter with us.....a customer service level well beyond his years. Our room was really a suite - a wonderful place to wind down in at the end of a long day out. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at Glen Rothay on an Amazon Local deal for two nights. Booking was easy and it was nice to have a chat with Andrew the Manager. On arrival we had a warm welcome and had a table booked for evening meal in the restaurant. We stayed at the best room in the hotel - Kentmere which was palatial in size with massive windows overlooking the road and Rydal Water beyond.

Dining in the restaurant was pleasurable - we had table 31, it was lovely to see original wainscot panelling dating from the 17th Century and our table ensconced on either side by settles was most charming. Look out for the mirror above it made from a privvy seat once sat on by Oliver Cromwell - yes, really! I take issue with those prior reviewers who stated that the room needed redecorating - obviously the sort of feckless chavs whose idea of sophistication and interior decor excellence comes ala mode of Ikea and DFS!

Similarly, the Badger Bar was charming and boasted a range of five cask ales, expertly presided over by the knowledgeable Andrew and well deservedly winning a CAMRA award. The Barngates Red Bull Terrier being especially lush and enjoyable. The Jennings was not as I remember it and although my palate had not experienced the Marston brewery influence, Andrew changed my half without quibble - top chap who knows his beers well. Again, I cannot see why anyone would criticise the decor here and I would suggest that if you want beige colouring everywhere then get yourself a National Health hearing aid and stay way from this cosy and characterful bar.

Food was not bad at all, and I can recommend dinner as the smoked salmon had an exceptional cure and there was plenty of it and my rare steak that followed was a triumph.

There were two further highlights to my stay, first was meeting our Head Chef during our stay who looked like Alistair McGowan - did I tell you that he cooks a mean rare steak as well as being like the rest of the staff, very friendly and a font of local knowledge. Unfortunately Ronnie Ancona does not come out with the puddings nor does she turn down the bed for guests every night - awwwww!

The second was meeting Graham, the second half of the management team who was both a bon-vivant and badger expert. Yes, a badger expert as for the past 4 and a half years, he has acted as foster parent to a cete of 13 badgers by feeding them the kitchen scraps at 20:45 sharp - and guess what, they are waiting for him every night come rain or shine. A top action which earns an accolade from me and many other guests who found the vision of thirteen of these ferocious little creatures unconcernedly guzzling food whilst we ooohed and ahhhed only some 10 foot away quite charming. Interesting that the hotel also won an Eco award too - wonder if this food recycling was as a consequence of the award.

Continuing with the food, try the smoked salmon blinis for breakfast, most enjoyable.

The spa experience at a neighbouring note some eight miles away was enjoyable and a nice bonus.

We enjoyed our time at Glen Rothay and the positives far outweighed the negatives, however, for the sake of a balanced review we must mention cold baked beans at breakfast, poor ground coffee - change the blend as this one is truly dire, a shower with poor water pressure and comensurate trickle. Putting these minor quibbles into perspective though - especially if you read my other Lake District reviews - there are a lot of Lakeland businesses that are truly dire,trading on past glories and taking advantage of a captive clientele with a take it or leave it attitude to their appallingly poor and expensive service provision.

What I would say is save your displeasure and vilification for the these and give your support to hotels like Glen Rothay who are really trying - go visit and judge for yourself and hopefully like us, you won't be disappointed with your experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sminky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We spent 2 very enjoyable nights at The Glen Rothay this week on an Amazon Local deal. The hotel and bar was full, and no wonder, this is a great little place. From the warmest of welcomes when we arrived to breakfast on leaving everything was spot on. The staff are all really helpful and special thanks goes to James (?) who got the local gin for us out of the office and recommended ( with lots of knowledge) the local beers.
The seeing the feeding of the resident sett of badgers who visit each evening isn't to be missed.
Well done Glen Rothay team, keep up the good work, you're doing a great job.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ_Spoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,204 reviews
2.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Rothay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rothay Hotel

Property: Glen Rothay Hotel
Address: Glen Rothay Hotel Grasmere Road, Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Rothay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Lakeland hotel perfectly located between Ambleside and Grasmere. Huge rooms with 4-poster beds. Woodland and mountain views all around, and a 2 minute walk to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glen Rothay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Rothay Rydal
Glen Rothay Hotel Rydal, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing