We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend Break”
Review of Glen Rothay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Rothay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekend Break”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Nice Friendly staff was made to feel welcome from the start the food is lovely. Came with small Dog he was made to feel really welcome!
Rooms really clean & loads of room great location good parking
Looking forward to going back.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenDen190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    135
    37
    24
    17
See reviews for
76
295
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay the the Glen Rothay hotel in Rydal which has a lovely atmosphere. The hotel offers comfortable accommodation. excellent food and the staff are friendly and helpful. We have stayed in many hotels throughout the UK this is one we will return to.

A&P Revell

Room Tip: There was a little road noise as we had a room on the front but it was minimal after 11.00pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprevell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay with friends and had a very nice break in a lovely part of the world with very friendly hosts.
On arrival the staff were very welcoming and we were shown to our rooms which overlooked Rydal Fell. Everything you require in the rooms and large en suite (although no shower but hand set on the bath taps) as the weather was very inclement we decided to make use of the Langdale Spa facility, easily found using the map provided. Spent 2 relaxing hours in the pool, sauna and jacuzzi - excellent changing room facilities. Three course dinner at the hotel, which was included in our Amazon deal price was superb, to be recommended was the smoked mackerel pate and the Hunters Chicken and the 3 flavours ice cream. After a good homely breakfast and a very wet visit to Cockermouth we again headed for the spa, rather busier being a Saturday but again spent a relaxing couple of hours. We decided to eat at the hotel again due to the appalling weather and again everything excellent and obviously cooked to order.

In conclusion I would say that we will certainly visit again, excellent value for money. If you like contemporary plastic business hotels don't come here, however if you enjoy comfy bars with real fires good food and friendly hosts this is the place - have a look in the ladies toilets for an amazing surprise!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SpainshFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We've just returned from a two night stay at the glen rothay hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt extremely welcome, the room was lovely with beautiful views out the back, and very warm and cosy! The hotel is beautiful and very charming. A great location to enjoy walks, the food was lovely we didn't eat anywhere else as we enjoyed it so much. The bar is lovely with the own fire, great place to relax after a long walk. And most of all the staff here are fantastic, a credit to the hotel, very friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
We will deffinately return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amycalderbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Spent 5 nights here over New year with a group of friends plus dog. Weather was very Lake District cold and wet but the hotel made up for it. Very welcoming, good food, and the beers were to die for - very well kept and a constantly changing selection, a real ale fanatics heaven. New Year eve was wonderful, a full house and an excellent two man folk/rock combo, great fun all the way through the night, even had a short quiz thrown in - good stuff! Back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidPickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Another lovely stay at the Glen Rothay, this time with our 7 month old baby. Very happy to report that the baby monitor worked in the bar where there were lovely local ales and fabulous food a'plenty! Spa passes made inclement weather unnoticeable, soft play at Langdale spa too. Lovely location on the edge of Rydal with nice walks to Ambleside and Grasmere. Really can't fault it. Would definitely recommend a stay here. Thanks for a very enjoyable break!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebJamesJenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A beautiful 17th Century Hotel with real character incorporating traditional features and original wood finish. A most charming and welcoming interior.
Clean and exceptionally spacious bedroom with plenty of storage space and a very large ensuite bathroom. Stunning views from both the bedroom and bathroom towards the hills and lake.
Spacious breakfast room with a pleasent view towards Rydal Water. Fabulous breakfast menu ranging from traditional English through to Smoked Salmon Binis on a slate. Evening meals are of a very high quality well presented with locally sourced fresh ingredients.
Very friendly, knowledgable and welcoming staff with top customer service skills.
The Hotel contains a great deal of character and history and is graced with the spirit of Dora.
I highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cus2merAlwaysRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,199 reviews
2.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Rothay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rothay Hotel

Property: Glen Rothay Hotel
Address: Glen Rothay Hotel Grasmere Road, Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Rothay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Lakeland hotel perfectly located between Ambleside and Grasmere. Huge rooms with 4-poster beds. Woodland and mountain views all around, and a 2 minute walk to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glen Rothay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Rothay Rydal
Glen Rothay Hotel Rydal, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing