We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent two nights stay at Glen Rothay Hotel”
Review of Glen Rothay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Rothay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Glen Rothay Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the Lake District. We stayed in the Kentmere suite which was very comfortable, spacious and has wonderful dual aspect views both over Rydal Lake and 'Dora's Field' which when we visited mid March was covered in daffodils - beautiful. The staff are all very welcoming, accommodating and down to earth and with this hospitality extended to being able to have our dog with us made it a special few days. The hotel is also well located for various walks, tea rooms and pubs - within walking distance of Ambleside and Grasmere (but don't forget your torch for the return journey!), although the food at the Badger Bar/Restaurant was tasty/good quality so there is also no need to venture too far. We were also lucky to see 5 of the 'resident' badgers at feeding time - lovely all round.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johncush5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just returned from another relaxing break in the lovely Glen Rothay Hotel. Once again the hotel lived up to all our expectations in every respect. We were warmly welcomed by the staff - they clearly take a pride in their work, the hotel and in making people feel at home and relaxed. The room was comfortable, the breakfast excellent and the evening meal, which we took in the bar, very good. As always, there was range of real ales available and there is little wonder that the the local CAMRA group hold their meetings here. A great hotel in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellinght85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay using an Amazon deal. This little gem is superb, from the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm friendly face. We brought along our pet dog which was no trouble at all and the staff really make you feel at ease. The bedroom was lovely and clean with a gorgeous view and the staff were very knowledgeable with regards to the surrounding area and gave us useful tips and hints with where is best to go walking to suit your needs and ability. A special mention to a lady called Caroline who we saw every day and night and at all times she was brilliant and extremely helpful always making sure guests were well looked after, a lovely genuine person! There is a wide selection of ales and their food is all locally sourced and freshly made to order. All our meals were simply delicious and the portions are extremely good (for those with a sweet tooth like me the sticky toffee pudding is divine!) We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Picked up a deal on Amazon Local for a 2 night stay including a three course meal and it proved a bargain.
Our room was a fair size and very tastefully decorated. We also had a decent tv in the room with some freeview news channels.
The three course meal was very good and I should mention the excellent choices of local Real Ales available in the Badger Bar.
There was also a good choice for breakfasts.
The staff were superb with special thanks to the Bar Manager Jay who looked after us very well as well as the lady who took our very wet coats and boots to a boiler room to dry out rather than leaving them wet.
The hotel is located about a mile from Ambleside so within easy walking distance whilst Grasmere is about an hour and a half away on a pleasant track through the hillside and by Rydalwater lake.
I would like to make one suggestion which is to put up a shower curtain or screen in the ensuite bathroom. If you used the hand held shower, there was a good chance the carpet would get very wet. This would also save a lot of water (which is sourced from a local spring rather than water mains) because you wouldn't need to run a bath in the morning or after a walk.
Definitely an excellent place to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1KK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a lovely weekend break. The hotel is a beautiful building with alot of character in a great location to start walks from. The room was clean and of a good standard. The breakfast was excellent. The adjoining pub had a nice atmosphere and the food was extremley good and at a reasonable price, we ended up eating there both nights of our stay it was so nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a good stay and would recommend this hotel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AMM0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nice Friendly staff was made to feel welcome from the start the food is lovely. Came with small Dog he was made to feel really welcome!
Rooms really clean & loads of room great location good parking
Looking forward to going back.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank GlenDen190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay the the Glen Rothay hotel in Rydal which has a lovely atmosphere. The hotel offers comfortable accommodation. excellent food and the staff are friendly and helpful. We have stayed in many hotels throughout the UK this is one we will return to.

A&P Revell

Room Tip: There was a little road noise as we had a room on the front but it was minimal after 11.00pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprevell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,228 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,417 reviews
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Rothay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rothay Hotel

Address: Glen Rothay Hotel Grasmere Road, Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rydal
Price Range: £82 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Rothay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Lakeland hotel perfectly located between Ambleside and Grasmere. Huge rooms with 4-poster beds. Woodland and mountain views all around, and a 2 minute walk to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Rothay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Rothay Rydal
Glen Rothay Hotel Rydal, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing