We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special 2 days in the Lakes!”
Review of Rydal Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rydal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rydal Hall
Ranked #2 of 5 Rydal B&B and Inns
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special 2 days in the Lakes!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having worked at Rydal Hall a few years ago it was really good to return from a guests perspective.
From walking into the Hall way just a beautiful place to be. smiles and friendliness.
Good food and hospitality,beautiful grounds.
Perfect for a break!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    17
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
24
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a night in a pod, and it was a delight. Having camped here before, I thought a pod would be more suitable for outdoor activities in winter. Despite there being no electricity, we were quite cosy all snuggled up.

The site is stunning and its great to visit when its so quiet and see the landscape looking so different from summer. Pods make winter camping possible, what a cheap relaxing romantic break before Christmas.

Reception staff delightfully friendly and helpful. Tea rooms gorgeous with delicious cakes, coffee and service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowrover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times and love the place relaxing and very beautiful, don't be put off by the thought of it being a Christian centre and think it's for religious people it's not and the staff are lovely really helpful

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a two night break at Rydal Hall to break our journey from Scotland.

Rydal Hall is excellent value. the rooms are of a high standard and spotlessly clean. the food is very good, with a choice, with not only tea making facilities in your rooms but coffee, etc, available in reception area, with tray bakes.

We pland to return in the Spring

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trisha209938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Rydal Hall has been renovated and the gardens restored. It is an attractive combination, well-situated with good views and enjoyable local walks.

The rooms, which had en-suite facilities, were simply but well-furnished, clean and comfortable.

We enjoyed the breakfast each morning. It was served at communal tables in the dining room, which provided an opportunity to engage with a variety of different other guests. Some were on courses, others were there on retreat or just holidaying. That arrangement may not suit everybody (and, indeed, our two sons, both students, found it slightly trying). An unusual touch is that the cooked breakfast is sometimes served by a local priest; I enjoyed that and appreciated its symbolism.

Dinner is available in the evening, but we decided to dine out with our local family members so missed the chance of trying it. The dinner menu looked good, with a choice of dishes, but we did not have first-hand experience of its quality, so cannot comment further.

I would be happy to return to Rydal Hall. It seemed to be a place where one can have peace and quiet, reflect and recuperate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpha1Norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed at Rydal Hall in the context of the Wordsworth Summer Conference and loved my stay. The staff were polite, courteous, and friendly, a joy to deal with. The catering was aimed at a large group, and with that proviso, it was perfectly fine, palatable, and fresh. My room was enormous, with a very functional en-suite bathroom, and, best of all, with a stunning view of the grounds. The garden was an oasis: well tended, beautifully laid out, soothing and tranquil. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful setting, all pitches are spacious and surrounded by beautiful scenery. The waterfall and streams can be heard wherever you are on the site. It truly is a spectacular place. The hall and gardens provide a lovely backdrop.

The facilities are good, charging points in the shower blocks, also enables you to use a hairdryer and straighteners!

The tea rooms are lovely too.


Ambleside is a 30 min walk via a pretty track past lots of pretty fields with many sheep! The sheep do roam freely, so dont leave any food or rubbish bags outside your tent, or they will be looking through it and easily nibble their way through bags!

Gorgeous place and its nice to be left alone without overbearing campsite rules wnd checks. The staff there were all so friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowrover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
0.2 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydal Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydal Hall

Property: Rydal Hall
Address: Rydal Hall, Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rydal
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydal Hall is the Diocese of Carlisle Conference, Retreat and Holiday Centre. We offer meeting room hire and equipment, accommodation, a youth centre bunk house, holiday cottage and camp-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rydal Hall Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing