We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for a trip to the Lakes”
Review of Rydal Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rydal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rydal Hall
Ranked #2 of 5 Rydal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for a trip to the Lakes”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just returned from a camping weekend here with a group of friends and cannot fault this place at all. The toilet and shower facilities were clean and well maintained, the staff we met were friendly and helpful and the location in one of the most beautiful and breathtaking parts of the Lake District was perfect. My friends and I did a lot of research on various parts of the Lakes before deciding to stay here and we all agreed we made the right choice, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our weekend in what is now my favourite corner of England. The worst part was at 10am on Monday with all the tents and equipment packed away knowing that we'd have to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    17
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
25
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It was absolutely beautiful place here in the Lake District. When we arrived at Rydal Hall, the workers were so friendly and helped us even when i lost my camera but managed to find it. As a group of friends, we enjoyed it here and facilities were always clean. We had a good spot for camping and quite close to the other towns to explore. Definitely would come here again :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katilu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Rydal Hall is in the heart of the Lake District, and in the heart of Wordsworth country. Indeed his main abode for 43 years adjoins it. He described the localites, views and lakes. The location is perfect for walking. The grounds and waterfall are stunning. Rooms medium-spacious, clean. Layout full of old-world charm, lovely old photographs. Lots of beams and exposed wood. The staff hail from several continents and nationalities, and are charming, smiley and polite. Function facilities are really excellent, with superb gardens.
Whilst there you can truly experience the Lake District, enjoy the sights, smell the land, read its literature, hear the waterfalls and birdsong. However the food, whilst palatable, is homogenised international pap, with no local identity or character at all. You cannot tell that you are in the Lake District, Cumbria, England or even Europe. You could be in any continent on the planet. For example the fish served is from Vietnam and New Zealand. Why? When the locality is SO VERY special, why can't the food have true regional identity too? Where is the local lamb, produced by Cumbrian farmers? The beer is locally souced ales, brewed nearby. So the hotel 'gets' this. But the food is intercontinental humdrum. What a disappointment. Give people a local choice PLEASE.

Room Tip: Ask for rear, overlooking gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tadorna-tadorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having worked at Rydal Hall a few years ago it was really good to return from a guests perspective.
From walking into the Hall way just a beautiful place to be. smiles and friendliness.
Good food and hospitality,beautiful grounds.
Perfect for a break!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a night in a pod, and it was a delight. Having camped here before, I thought a pod would be more suitable for outdoor activities in winter. Despite there being no electricity, we were quite cosy all snuggled up.

The site is stunning and its great to visit when its so quiet and see the landscape looking so different from summer. Pods make winter camping possible, what a cheap relaxing romantic break before Christmas.

Reception staff delightfully friendly and helpful. Tea rooms gorgeous with delicious cakes, coffee and service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbowrover2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times and love the place relaxing and very beautiful, don't be put off by the thought of it being a Christian centre and think it's for religious people it's not and the staff are lovely really helpful

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a two night break at Rydal Hall to break our journey from Scotland.

Rydal Hall is excellent value. the rooms are of a high standard and spotlessly clean. the food is very good, with a choice, with not only tea making facilities in your rooms but coffee, etc, available in reception area, with tray bakes.

We pland to return in the Spring

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trisha209938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
0.2 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
468 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,427 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#12 of 12 in Ambleside
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydal Lodge Hotel
Rydal Lodge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Rydal
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydal Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydal Hall

Property: Rydal Hall
Address: Rydal Hall, Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rydal
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydal Hall is the Diocese of Carlisle Conference, Retreat and Holiday Centre. We offer meeting room hire and equipment, accommodation, a youth centre bunk house, holiday cottage and camp-site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rydal Hall Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing