We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote How Lakeland Venue
Ranked #4 of 5 Rydal B&B and Inns
Lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely, lovely!”
Reviewed 13 April 2008

Truely a relaxed home from home set in a superb location. Park the car and forget about it during your stay as you won't need it. Comfortable, spacious rooms with great views of the fells and Lake. Wake up to the birds singing, enjoy the wonderful organic breakfasts and start your walk from the front door. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2008

We booked the Cote How Guest House for two days at the end of our Honeymoon, and what a great choice we made!
The place is gorgeous, rooms that you'd want to live in not just stay for one night!
David and Caroline are so friendly and helpfull , advising you on walks, where to stop for a pint! and the home made Marmalade is to die for. Oh and the best bed we've ever slept in!
Fab breakfasts, and the whole place really puts to shame other B&B's
Why can't they all be like this one!! but then that's why The Cote How stands out as much, much better than the rest.
Louise Folkard Manchester

  • Liked — the beautifull rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sparklebanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, england
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2008

This was our third visit to the guest house, simply because it's so good! This time we stayed for 3 nights in the Loughrigg Suite, but have previously stayed in both the Rydal and Wansfell suites, all of which are beautifully furnished and very comfortable.

We have been visiting the Lakes for many years and stayed in a variety of hotels and guest houses and without a doubt this is one of the best. From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel so welcome by David and Caroline, nothing is too much trouble for them and we have become good friends.

The location of the guest house is outstanding, set amid beautiful scenery, with many fabulous walks, without having to move your car an inch. Rydal Water is virtually at the bottom of the garden and last year David allowed us to use some of the family kayaks, what fun!

Caroline is a fantastic cook and her breakfasts, are really good!

This is a guest house which has something very special, particularly David and Caroline who are the nicest of people and
who go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. We will be going back again quite soon and can highly recommend it to anyone.

Iain and Julie Wilson
York

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank ianwislon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2008

What an excellent Bed & Breakfast. We were looking for something special for a relaxing break and certainly received it. There are alot of bed and breakfasts out there who could learn from Caroline and David. We were only able to stay for one night but will definately be back. The rooms were large, thoughtfully decorated and presented, even including candles and every where was immaculately clean, the visitors lounge was welcoming as were Caroline and David, they were helpful and freindly and as a previous reviewer commented there is something about how Caroline and David run the place that instantly relaxes you and make you feel at home, a very very difficult thing to do.

The organic aspect of the guest house is a reassurance for those like us who like quality and to feel that the organic and natural approach adds quality and benefit, but for those not interested in this aspect of Cote How it is simply a fantastic guest house.

The breakfasts are good and the tea shop which is open at the weekends serves genuine quality home prepared food, a welcome change from some places.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cote How and based on the standard of some of the Bed and Breakfasts we have stayed in recently, I cannot praise David and Caroline enough for the incredible effort that they put into making their guests feel welcome and their home warm and inviting.

  • Liked — Warm, friendly, immaculately clean and run by people who care.
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all excellent.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILLIE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

We stayed at Cote How in December 2007.

We arrived around teatime on a freezing cold Friday night and received a warm welcome from Caroline, the B&B owner. She made us feel so at home and showed us around before taking us to our room.

We stayed in the Loughrigg Suite which was superb !! The room was spacious with a large bathroom (including a roll top bath and shower).

The weather was really bad but we managed the 3 minute walk to the Badger Bar that night from the back of the B&B (do not attempt this in the rain on a dark night without a torch!!) The Badger Bar is small and friendly and we had a nice bar meal.

Caroline and David had recommended the Jumble Room restuarant in Grasmere and we went there on the Saturday night - we had one of the best meals ever !!! The Jumble Room is only small but the atmosphere is vibrant and the staff are just lovely !!

The breakfasts at Cote How are wonderful too and I would love to stay there again. With hosts like David and Caroline, their lovely family and 2 dogs it's a real home from home - they go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need without being over-powering. If anyone out there doesn't appreciate their enthusiasm and hospitality maybe they should take a break at Faulty Towers.

Keep up the good work :-)

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful hosts and fantastic room
  • Disliked — A bit expensive
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NicetobeNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We have just returned from this fantastic B&B. the whole experience was perfection itself. The location, the food and the quality of the rooms could not be improved on. Their website is very detailed and does exactly what it says on the tin, we were in the Rydal suite which has fantastic views from the bedroom and even better from the wonderful bath. The owners have all the info maps walks etc and are very knowledgeable, the Fairfield Horseshoe is a must if the weather is clear. The website fails to mention that there is a Bar at the local Hotel 200 yards away which serves great beer and also a Bus stop for both directions the same distance away although the expensive fares don't encourage you to leave the car. For that special stay you can't go wrong here.

  • Liked — Pefect location and the quality of all aspects of the B&B
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank japan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

We stayed at Cote How with our family (two young children) and their Grandparents. We had a very relaxed and enjoyable time, and felt very comfortable and welcomed. Our rooms were very good, and the food and service was excellent. Moreover though, there is a quiet sense of being at home and being able to relax - something you usually won't find in corporate hotels or B&Bs.

I would highly recommend Cote How, which, whilst not cheap, is quite a special place.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
0.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
972 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote How Lakeland Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote How Lakeland Venue

Property: Cote How Lakeland Venue
Address: Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LW, England (Formerly Cote How Organic Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rydal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive, unique and romantic Lakeland venue with five star accommodation, naturally secluded by river fell and woodland. Cote How specialises in small intimate celebrations of all kinds. Exclusive use of our historical 16th century venue also includes four acres of grounds, with an adjacent field down to the lake shore of Rydal Water, the Bluebell woods and the River Rothay. A picturesque wooden footbridge leads to Rydal church just 200m away. There are few lakeland venues with such a picture perfect location for your wedding or special occasion. NOTE: we no longer offer single room B and B but can offer whole house exclusivity for short breaks and weekends minimum 6 adult bookings. Please telephone to make an enquiry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cote How Lakeland Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cote How Lakeland Venue Rydal, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing