We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote How Lakeland Venue
Ranked #4 of 5 Rydal B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

Stayed in the Rydal room and was overwhelmed by the size and quality. We loved the location with access to walking, lake, peace and quiet, away from the busier towns in the Lakes District but still within walking distance of Ambleside.
Great hosts - nobody seems to have mentioned the best host in Lurcher!

  • Liked — Hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JWMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

This guest house was the nicest we have ever stayed in.
The room was luxurious, and large with lovely decor and views.
David and Caroline welcomed us with a cuppa, and showed us round before leaving us to enjoy our weekend.
The organic food was mouthwateringly scrumptious, and lovely scones and lunches.
It felt like home from home but more luxurious,
I would recommend this to anyone wanting a romantic, relaxing, peaceful, break from the hussle and bustle of daily life.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazzymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

We have just returned from Cote How Guest House where we spent four extremely enjoyable days. The whole experience of staying there has been fantastic; from the informative website before we got to Cote How, to the welcome we received on our arrival (which was the best we've ever had anywhere) to the help and information David and Caroline gave us on walks and activities in the area. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them.

The room we stayed in was spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated and overlooked the garden where birds came down to feed, rabbits hopped about and even a couple of lambs wandered through.

Excellent organic and locally sourced food - the breakfasts really set you up for the day.

David and Caroline are clearly two people who are committed to and passionate about providing excellent quality luxury accommodation whilst maintaining their principles on sustainability and green issues.

Perfect - if only more guest houses were like this.

  • Liked — Organic credentials and helpfulness and friendliness of David and Caroline
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MandSAshford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2008

Truely a relaxed home from home set in a superb location. Park the car and forget about it during your stay as you won't need it. Comfortable, spacious rooms with great views of the fells and Lake. Wake up to the birds singing, enjoy the wonderful organic breakfasts and start your walk from the front door. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

We booked the Cote How Guest House for two days at the end of our Honeymoon, and what a great choice we made!
The place is gorgeous, rooms that you'd want to live in not just stay for one night!
David and Caroline are so friendly and helpfull , advising you on walks, where to stop for a pint! and the home made Marmalade is to die for. Oh and the best bed we've ever slept in!
Fab breakfasts, and the whole place really puts to shame other B&B's
Why can't they all be like this one!! but then that's why The Cote How stands out as much, much better than the rest.
Louise Folkard Manchester

  • Liked — the beautifull rooms
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sparklebanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, england
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

This was our third visit to the guest house, simply because it's so good! This time we stayed for 3 nights in the Loughrigg Suite, but have previously stayed in both the Rydal and Wansfell suites, all of which are beautifully furnished and very comfortable.

We have been visiting the Lakes for many years and stayed in a variety of hotels and guest houses and without a doubt this is one of the best. From the moment you arrive, you are made to feel so welcome by David and Caroline, nothing is too much trouble for them and we have become good friends.

The location of the guest house is outstanding, set amid beautiful scenery, with many fabulous walks, without having to move your car an inch. Rydal Water is virtually at the bottom of the garden and last year David allowed us to use some of the family kayaks, what fun!

Caroline is a fantastic cook and her breakfasts, are really good!

This is a guest house which has something very special, particularly David and Caroline who are the nicest of people and
who go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. We will be going back again quite soon and can highly recommend it to anyone.

Iain and Julie Wilson
York

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank ianwislon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2008

What an excellent Bed & Breakfast. We were looking for something special for a relaxing break and certainly received it. There are alot of bed and breakfasts out there who could learn from Caroline and David. We were only able to stay for one night but will definately be back. The rooms were large, thoughtfully decorated and presented, even including candles and every where was immaculately clean, the visitors lounge was welcoming as were Caroline and David, they were helpful and freindly and as a previous reviewer commented there is something about how Caroline and David run the place that instantly relaxes you and make you feel at home, a very very difficult thing to do.

The organic aspect of the guest house is a reassurance for those like us who like quality and to feel that the organic and natural approach adds quality and benefit, but for those not interested in this aspect of Cote How it is simply a fantastic guest house.

The breakfasts are good and the tea shop which is open at the weekends serves genuine quality home prepared food, a welcome change from some places.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cote How and based on the standard of some of the Bed and Breakfasts we have stayed in recently, I cannot praise David and Caroline enough for the incredible effort that they put into making their guests feel welcome and their home warm and inviting.

  • Liked — Warm, friendly, immaculately clean and run by people who care.
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all excellent.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILLIE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
5.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote How Lakeland Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote How Lakeland Venue

Property: Cote How Lakeland Venue
Address: Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LW, England (Formerly Cote How Organic Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rydal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive, unique and romantic Lakeland venue with five star accommodation, naturally secluded by river fell and woodland. Cote How specialises in small intimate celebrations of all kinds. Exclusive use of our historical 16th century venue also includes four acres of grounds, with an adjacent field down to the lake shore of Rydal Water, the Bluebell woods and the River Rothay. A picturesque wooden footbridge leads to Rydal church just 200m away. There are few lakeland venues with such a picture perfect location for your wedding or special occasion. NOTE: we no longer offer single room B and B but can offer whole house exclusivity for short breaks and weekends minimum 6 adult bookings. Please telephone to make an enquiry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cote How Lakeland Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cote How Lakeland Venue Rydal, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing