We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cote How Lakeland Venue
Ranked #4 of 5 Rydal B&B and Inns
Cheshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An Excellent Break!”
Reviewed 18 March 2007

We read great things about Cote How on this website and were not disappointed! It was in a beautiful location, but easy to find, and the owners were really welcoming, providing us with homemade chocolate cake and tea on our arrival! The breakfasts were spot on, with delicious organic local produce, and cooked to our tastes. We were given advice on 2 great walks to suit our abilities. The tearoom was open at the weekend, so we treated ourselves to more homemade cakes! The room itself was beautifully situated, and the bathroom was very spacious too. We'll be back!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank GLE30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazzacaz, Owner at Cote How Lakeland Venue, responded to this review, 22 March 2007
Many thanks for you review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we arelooking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2007

As post Christmas relaxation, a short break in the Lakes seemed the ideal solution. And with the help of our hosts at Cote How, David and Caroline, how right we were! From the cup of tea on arrival, to the fantastic Rydal suite.. the constant willingness to offer suggestions and sound local advice for things to do, ranging from walks in the beautiful surrounding area to restaurant recommendations and arranging taxis - perfect.
Just far enough away from busier Ambleside, but within easy walking distance, I certainly hope we get another chance to visit David and Caroline (and Dippy of course!) in the future.

  • Liked — The generous hosts and perfect location
  • Disliked — having to leave!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklandsric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2006

Always difficult to find somewhere to stay that fits all your criteria - for us it was somewhere that catered for veggies and loved kids and dogs - Cote How does all this and more. Thankfully outside of Ambleside which can be a bit overcrowded at times, it's still close enough to enjoy all the local amenities. However, Cote How gave us a chance to relax in beautiful surroundings (both inside and out), enjoy some great walks (wet of course but what else would you expect in the lakes), eat some great food and enjoy some good company. David and Caroline couldn't have been more helpful - from good advice on where to go, finding out info for us, providing cutlery and crockery for us to enjoy our takeaway and even helping us with cleaning out our car! The house is beautiful, our room was spacious - bed was very comfortable, bathroom a treat especially after long cold walk. Loads of nice touches - DVDs provided for our entertainment, honesty bar, and fair trade/organic food. Would recommend this for singles, couples and families alike.

  • Liked — Location and comfort of rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HighlandsMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2006

We spent a couple of days here and had a great time. Dave and Caroline were able to advise us on all of the local attractions and walks. They were very friendly which added to the excellent atmosphere in the B&B
The rooms were very tasteful and we have already planned a return trip!
We would advise anyone who is thinking about a trip to Ambleside to stay here.
The tea room is well worth a visit.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Chadlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2006

We booked this B&B when my husband did a triathlon up in the Lake District. Dave and Caroline really went out of their way from the moment we arrived really late on the Friday evening until we left on the Monday. They pulled out route maps so we could plot the triathlon route, booked us a wonderful Italian restaurant for carbo-loading the night before and woke up really early on the day of the race to make us breakfast. They also do the most wonderful homemade lunches and fresh cream teas which we took advantage of every day. The location is wonderful, the old guest house amazing and the service very personal. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — The large rooms and personal service
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregorys1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2006

Cote How is a terrific family-friendly B & B and we had a superb 3- night stay there in October 2006. The quiet, rural location provides great access to walking trails yet is close to Rydal and Ambleside for sightseeing. Our Loughrigg Suite was roomy, spotless, tastfully decorated, with lovely forest views. Hosts David and Caroline and family were very welcoming, and especially kind to our 5 year old child and our Labrador. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Liked — The hosts running it - they made the B & B a home for us
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay there more than 3 days!
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early - there are only 3 rooms, and only one designated for travellers with a dog
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumDadKidDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2006

August was our second stay at Cote How having stumbled across it by accident in April. I doubt you could find a warmer welcome anywhere else. David and Caroline did everything they could to make our stay a good one. They are extremely knowledgeable about the area and are more than happy to help with walking routes etc. To say that the house is beautiful is an understatement; retaining its historical feel and complimented with tasteful, high quality furnishings, gorgeous colour schemes and the biggest most comfortable bed you could ever imagine (Loughrigg suite)! Surrounded by beautiful fells and the river and lake at the bottom of the garden, the views are breathtaking. Also many places for outings or walks are within easy reach of its location. We took our dogs for four nights and they also thoroughly enjoyed their stay, admiring in particular the abundance of sheep and rabbits, they did paddle in the lake too. Breakfast is excellent (more toast and coffee!) and vegetarians are catered for. Cote How is a very special place!

  • Liked — Beautiful, high quality, convenient location, large rooms, quiet
  • Tips/Secrets — Book for more than one night! Include a weekend day to experience the tea room.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rydal
0.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
475 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
972 reviews
1.9 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote How Lakeland Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote How Lakeland Venue

Property: Cote How Lakeland Venue
Address: Rydal, Ambleside LA22 9LW, England (Formerly Cote How Organic Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside > Rydal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rydal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive, unique and romantic Lakeland venue with five star accommodation, naturally secluded by river fell and woodland. Cote How specialises in small intimate celebrations of all kinds. Exclusive use of our historical 16th century venue also includes four acres of grounds, with an adjacent field down to the lake shore of Rydal Water, the Bluebell woods and the River Rothay. A picturesque wooden footbridge leads to Rydal church just 200m away. There are few lakeland venues with such a picture perfect location for your wedding or special occasion. NOTE: we no longer offer single room B and B but can offer whole house exclusivity for short breaks and weekends minimum 6 adult bookings. Please telephone to make an enquiry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cote How Lakeland Venue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cote How Lakeland Venue Rydal, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing