We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place with magnetic hospitality made our selection easy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Rose
Ranked #56 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SHIPLEY
2 reviews
“A place with magnetic hospitality made our selection easy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

We are approximately third or fourth time visitors to this hotel and our appreciation of it gets better everytime we go.
We tend to go for short 'walkiing' holidays in the winter, and though there is plenty of choice for an evening meal out just a short walk away, we love to return to our logdings to finish the evening in warmth and comfort and plan for the next days walking.
Caroline is so pleasant and friendly, apparently the same with everyone, she puts you at ease straight away, and her full English breakfast is just perfect, though requests are accepted for alternative personel choices we find.
There was a large flat screen tv with a DVD player and a leather sofa in our room at the front of the house and the bed was comfortable and gave a good nights sleep everytime..
Very good value for money in these hard up times!

Room Tip: The first floor bedrooms.at the front are a little more spacious with better ammenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
David and Hazel - It was lovely seeing you both again and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I must say that I miss seeing your smiling faces at breakfast - and the banter!!
Hope to see you both in the beautiful Lakes again soon!! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
81
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed here and used it as a base for our walking holiday. It was ideal for us. Caroline was a very welcoming host and we had a room at the front of the house with a large TV and a sofa to relax on in the evening. The bed was so comfy it was almost a struggle to get up although the smell of the breakfast cooking soon awoke us :) Freshly cooked breakfast and plenty of choice too. A perfect B&B in a lovely spot only metres from the centre of Windermere. We will definitely be visiting again soon. Ben & Karen

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the front of the house on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treble99united
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thanks so much for taking time to leave such a positive review on your stay at the White Rose.
It was lovely seeing you both and we hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had a very relaxing stay at White Rose over the New Year weekend. Rooms are cosy and clean, breakfast is superb and Caroline is very welcoming and helpful. Excellent location: in the heart of Windermere village and only a 20 mins walk to the lake/Bowness. We highly recommend this hotel and would stay again!

Room Tip: Top floor/attic is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daytripper125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Thanks so much for leaving your comments on your recent stay at the White Rose.
It was lovely meeting you both and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we will see you both again soon.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

This is the third time we have stayed here and you could not ask for more. It is so welcoming and the rooms are clean, warm and homely with everything you would need. We always sleep really well thanks to the comfortable beds and quiet peaceful location. This is despite the fact that you are literally a few minutes walk from the centre of Windermere. The breakfasts are lovely too. Really filling, perfectly cooked and served with a smile by Caroline. Caroline is really knowledgeable about the local area and is always happy to chat about things to do and places to go. We have never felt so welcome anywhere and would not stay anywhere else. Thanks for making our short breaks so enjoyable :-).

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnlynda16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your stay at the White Rose. It was lovely seeing you both again and I am glad you enjoyed another stay with us!! Hopefully it won't be too long before you're back!!
Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

There are a lot of nice touches that indicate that the White Rose is in experienced hands, for example a bottle opener and wine glasses, fold away trays, a DVD player (with a small selection of films) and unfussy, but very pleasant decor.

The hostess, Caroline, was very warm and welcoming and made us feel as if she genuinely really enjoyed having us there.

Other reviews have mentioned the small bathroom and ours was small, but clean and fully functioning. I would rather have a small bathroom, than have to use one across the corridor or, worse still, share!

The breakfast was lovely and, although it is served in a slightly restrictive half hour slot (but I do understand why and this is standard for guest houses), it was as leisurely as we wished it to be.

Autumn had well and truly set in by the time of our visit, and the White Rose was always lovely and warm – such a pleasure to come back to after a damp, cold day out and about.

The White Rose is perfectly situated for Windermere (a full minute’s walk to the centre), but is a good 15 minute walk to Bowness, where the main action (and access to the lake) is. I am sure there are buses, but we didn’t look to use them. A taxi from Bowness back to the White Rose was readily available and cost just £3 before midnight, so the distance really isn’t an issue.

Would fully recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you so much for takimg time to leave a review of your stay at the White Rose.
We appreciate your feedback and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We do love our job - and meeting people like you makes the job even more enjoyable!!
Hopefully we will see you again, should you return to the area.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at this wonderful B&B for a week celebrating our honeymoon. Caroline couldn’t have done more to make us feel so welcome. We had room 3 which was immaculate. White Rose breakfasts are delicious (you didn’t need lunch-felt full all day). Caroline advised us of all the wonderful places to visit. The B&B is in a perfect location for Lake Windermere and all of the Lake District. We recommend this B&B highly, wonderful position, delightful landlady, incredibly clean and excellent value for money. Thank you Caroline!!!! Rebecca & Stephen

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
It was great that you chose the White Rose for your honeymoon and it was lovely meeting you both. Thank you for leaving such a positive review!!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves whilst in the beautiful Lake Disrtrict - and I have missed your smiling faces at breakfast time!!
Good luck in your married life - and hope to see you both again!
Caroline
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Another wonderfuk stay i cant reccomend this b&b enough caroline is a wonderful host the whole place is wonderful
we will be booking again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babyspud5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolakes, Owner at White Rose, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Thankyou so much for leaving positive feedback on your recent stay at the White Rose.
We're so pleased that your enjoyed another stay here - and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Meadfoot Guest House
Meadfoot Guest House
#47 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#50 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#20 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#30 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#31 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rose

Property: White Rose
Address: Broad Street | Windermere. The Lake District. Cumbria, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Alison would love to welcome you to the White Rose in Windermere where you can enjoy the lovely en-suite bedrooms with a large drink and nibble selection on our hospitality trays.Our delicious and traditional English breakfast will set you up for the day.Any dietry requirements catered for[Vegetarian,gluton free ect]Just let us know on booking. The house is close to the centre of Windermere village which has various restaraunts and cafes,we are only a 20 minute walk or a five minute drive from Bowness - where you can take a cruise around the Lake. Grasmere and Keswick are also within easy driving distance of the White Rose. We are a 5 minute walk from the train station for those arriving by train. There is a fantastic bus service which runs from Windermere to Ambleside grassmere keswick. Also tours with the mountain goat will pick you up from us for full or half day tours.Ten Lake tour, Hill top [Beatrix Potters farm] and a mountain tour.These tours are highly recomended. We offer special 3, 4 and 7 night deals throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rose Hotel Windermere
White Rose Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing