We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic British B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coppice Guest House
Ranked #17 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed for two nights in busy Windemere. A very well run establishment with some nice touches. Decanter of Sherry was a great hit with my mother. Booked here because it was the only ground floor room we could find in any older Inn or B&B. Rooms are a little tired but in the process of being upgraded. Breakfast room is lovely and Breakfast fantastic.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shaktiom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hi thank you for your review.. It was nice to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. We were sorry we could not be there when you left after your stay with us, but from what you say our daughter looked after you as we would. The ground floor room is the 6th to be refurbish with a make over and we start in a couple of weeks. It will be finished for Easter. We hope the rest of your stay in England will give you the same fond memories as your stay in the Lake District at the Coppice..

Chris & Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and my partner stayed for 2 nights we was welcomed and shown to our room which was clean and well presented. In the morning we was welcomed down for breakfast where we was given a menu of choice we both had the big breakfast which was really nice we would visit again and recommend to others lovely weekend thankyou nicky

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Nicky thank you for your wonderful review.. We thank you so much for taking the time to write about the Coppice.
We do strive hard to maintain an excellent standard for Welcome, service and cleanliness and it is pleasing for us and our staff to read your report. We will be delighted to welcome you on your return..

Chris & Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Its been 20 years since we have been to Windermere and we had a great 3 days stay at The Coppice guest house. Very comfortable and a nicely decorated room, only downside would be en-suite was very small (we stayed in room 4). A lovely big breakfast with a huge choice set us up
for the day.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickNeal_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Arrived on the 13th Feb lunchtime to a very warm welcome. We booked in and then shown to our room. It was well decorated and clean beyond expectations a small decanter of sherry was provided as we're ample amounts of tea and coffee. The room was not the biggest that I have stayed in but the standard more than made up for this.the bed was awesome we both slept like babies best nights sleep I have had in a long while. Then the breakfast, this can only be described as excellent, good quality and masses of choice plenty for everyone even a vegetarian option. Our host were excellent and nothing was too much trouble even a rose on the bed for my wife on valentines night. We were made to feel welcome throughout our stay and would highly recommend the coppice to anyone. All in all an excellent stay will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stujacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Location was good with bus stops very close by..we could just step out and take a bus to Ambleside. Lake and restaurants nearby within easy walk. Hot homecooked Breakfast was delicious and host even prepared sandwiches for us as we had to depart by 7:30am the next morning. Tiny room nice and cosy English home with a fireplace after our cold windy night walks..rare experience for us who live in high rise flats in Singapore. Good stay, good memories!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeWoodbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I booked this B&B after reading the TA reviews. Very easy to find and located conveniently between Windermere and Bowness. Our room was the deluxe family room with ,which was very comfortable and freshly decorated , refreshed each day with fresh towels and toiletries. Our hosts Barbara and Chris were very welcoming and helpful. The house is very pleasant indeed as is the dining room. Please note that they only serve breakfast now, they stopped evening meals because the restaurants in the area are so good ! Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it, and chef was happy to do variations on the menu. There really was no need for lunch. The bathroom was small and the shower temperature a bit unsteady and on the cool side ,however this did not detract from our enjoyment, in fact we wanted to stay an extra night, but the house was fully booked. The complimentary spa pass at the Old England is a real bonus, as the facilities are wonderful and within 15 minutes walk. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and I would return for a future holiday.

Room Tip: As I said, if you prefer a bigger bath/shower room, then you should mention to the owners, in order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsChristmas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hi thanks so much for your time in writing a review. It was nice having you stay with us and we didn't know you hadn't stayed in a guesthouse before. We are so pleased you enjoyed the SPA club use. The Lake district is full of quaint B & B's and Guesthouse that is what gives it it's character, but not many very large Hotels with big rooms. That image is not for the National Park
We hope to see you again and please book direct for your next stay..
Thanks Chris & Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

very clean and comfortable with excellent choices for breakfast. the en suite was small and wouldn't suit the larger person and the bedroom was quite hot ( we had good weather) , the location was also very good and if you didn't want to drive down to the Lake or walk the bus stop is right on the corner. we would use this guest house again and being able to park the car in the grounds was very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themacs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Hello Shelly, thanks for staying with us on your big Europien tour . As you will have seen we have refurbished the whole of the outside this summer. We did down the stair s to the Hall last spring and had to stop to go outside. The Hall has now been redecorated and we have an interior designer updating the décor in every room in the Coppice.. We are this winter enlarging 3 of our smaller en-suites and adding 2 baths and updating some of the furniture. so have taken all you have said on board.. Thank again and the next time you stay you will benefit from the changes,. Chris & Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#10 of 107 in Windermere
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice Guest House

Address: Brook Road, Windermere LA23 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £83 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in traditional Lake District stone & style, The Coppice, once a Windermere Vicarage retains all its character and charm. Sitting quietly in an elevated position between the villages of Windermere and Bowness, our Guesthouse is perfectly placed for touring or walking in the Lake District National Park.The all en-suite bedrooms have been individually designed so each has its own distinctive feel and our renowned Lake District breakfast is sourced from local produce and is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Coppice Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppice Guest House Hotel Windermere
The Coppice Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing