We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coppice Guest House
Ranked #15 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Lovely Weekend”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We arrived Friday afternoon (and had a very friendly greeting from Chris) and left Sunday morning. The room was wonderful, very romantic and had been decorated with red rose petals as I'd requested. The bath in the room was also very nice, and the lights on the floor around it added a finishing touch. The en suite was also very nice and very clean.
The breakfast in the morning was marvelous, and Barbara did very well keeping up with the guests' requests!
We got the impression that nothing was too much to ask for, and we had a lovely weekend away.
I'd definitely recommend staying here, and Chris and Barbara should be proud of their guest house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14_Rob_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hello Rob, We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay in one of our new totally refurbished interior designed rooms. We are extremely pleased with the way our rooms are finished, hand made furniture, new beds, roll-top baths and drapes etc. Much more up market than before and as you have experienced now, we have the WOW factor again. it was wonderful to see your faces when I took you up and you first saw the room, brilliant and just what we were after achieving. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to Welcome you again in the very near future. Chris & Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    76
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
204
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Before we arrived we were slightly nervous as we usually stay in one of the boutique hotels in Windermere. Due to the price of them we decided to try a guest house for a change as we wanted a last minute weekend away - not too expensive. Obviously The Coppice is no boutique hotel but it's also no where near the price you would pay to stay in one.

We where met in reception by a lovely friendly lady who checked us In and showed us to our room. The rooms are quite small but this wasn't an issue as we had wardrobe space for our bags etc & the room spotlessly clean. We where further out of bowness than we thought, probably 15minute walk into the centre so not too much of an issue.
Breakfasts where lovely which is always a plus haha.

Overall our first stay in a guesthouse was a good one! As they say you get what you pay for and the cost of the guesthouse for two nights was reasonable and worth every penny....Not expensive for a little weekend break. Lovely friendly staff & nothing at all we could fault with the accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraSiobhanxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi, thanks for your time in writing a review.. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and I suppose compared to a boutique we are not in the same league or price range, but very pleased your compared us with a high grade hotel and you feel you got value for money for your little break with us. please do it again and perhaps you will pop up to the Coppice again for another break. We enjoyed having you stay. Chris & Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This B&B is lovely, close to the train station and the lake. We stayed for 2 nights and we were made to feel very welcome.Excellent breakfast with a large choice with a selection of beautiful fruit. The bus stops are directly outside on the main road, the times of the buses are hit and miss, so dont go by the timetable really! Lovely cool rooms,(we hate hot rooms!) with a very comfy bed. The shower , however, did not seem to get as hot as we would like, so it was a quick dip in and out, but we didnt mention it , as everything else was perfect, including the decanter of sherry which was our little night cap!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Wonderful to read your review after your stay with us.. Barbara and I are so pleased you enjoyed breakfast and all the little things we do to make our guesthouse a little above the others.
We did take note of the shower not being to hot, sorry.. We have just fitted 5 new showers on the first and top floors and have now Tuesday the 22nd of April managed to get the plumber back to balance the water flow and alter the individual shower thermostats, so very pleased you mentioned it as nobody else had. The Buses are a little bit out of zinc sometimes out of season and are roughly hourly but from May the summer timetable comes in and they run 1/2 hourly and some every twenty minutes and the bus stops as you say are just thirty paces from our front door.
Lovely to have you stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back.
Chris & Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalmadena, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Well !!! Check in was funny as the landlord greeted us in marigolds that looked like welders gloves, Not quite sure what he had been doing ?
We were shown to our 'Luxury King Room with Spa bath' which was old and dated.
The Spa bath was nice but the taps leaked, The tap on the sink was loose and there was no window covering and as the sink was sat on the window ledge this was a bit odd.
There is no bar!! as stated only a lounge like at home.
Breakfast was really good but would have been better if there was as much as a radio on or breakfast news TV as everybody felt awkward listening to each others conversations.
Filter coffee is a good point if the cafetiere filters properly which ours didn't.
Nobody around at checkout so just 'walked out'
I paid £110 for 1 night which was not good value, Wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Go and stay in Bowness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe_mac001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Well, I am dismayed at this TRIP ADVISORS “ Senior contributor’s review.
I admit I did greet them with my rubber gloves on and full chefs kit as I didn’t want to keep guests waiting, (I was cleaning my oven, we have a Food HYGIENE rating of 5 out of 5 ) and I did apologise for my appearance as my wife had popped into the village. Whilst he was signing in I removed my gloves and apron and went back into the hall to be asked by the gentleman’s lady “where’s the Bar” I said we serve drinks in the lounge - we stock a full range of local Beers, Spirits, wines and Champagne etc. I showed them to their room and all the details mini decanter of Sherry etc and how the SPA bath worked. The SPA bath taps do not leak when put in the closed position - they are the bar and not screw type. The wash basin is a modern oval style with a stand pipe tap in front of the newly fitted double glazed opaque glassed window. The window looks out to the quiet back area of the building where there is a 20 ft Laurel hedge. Our interior designer didn’t see the need for a blind. The room furniture, handmade by a local cabinet maker was fitted in the first week of March. The bed is also new with a 1000 pocket sprung mattress. As for the breakfast time TV in our spacious dining room, well !!! Some of our rooms are “dated” in style but in keeping as it was the village Vicarage, others are modern. The guest 'walked out' whilst my wife and I were serving the last of the breakfasts and she was back and forth as the dining room is one side of the hall and the Kitchen the other so we were around.
I apologise for the Cafétiere filter not working correctly, if mentioned it would have been replaced immediately and £110 for room with a SPA Bath in Windermere, the Lake District National park is not expensive. we do have a full range of rooms and prices.
Chris..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This Guest House does exactly what it says on the tin - the accomodation is extremely pleasant, the beds are VERY comfortable, and - yes - the sherry is a great touch. The dining area is lovely and bright and the food and service is more than you could hope for. I would certainly recommend this a a base for a Lake District visit.

I must add that the showers are very good - among the best I have come accross in any "hotel".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

It's been some years since we stayed in a more traditional Guest House of this type but can't seem to remember having been to one as nice this
The warmth of welcome is genuine and greatly appreciated however the Coppice itself is ideally situated and within easy reach of many fine eating houses and hostelries and even for the less mobile like me the local taxi service is excellent and won't break the bank if you want to venture further
Overall this place is exceptionally well looked after and is very comfortable although one special mention must be made for the superb Full English breakfast which sets you up for the day Would definitely recommend this place and hope to return in the not too distant future

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 540PeterS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in busy Windemere. A very well run establishment with some nice touches. Decanter of Sherry was a great hit with my mother. Booked here because it was the only ground floor room we could find in any older Inn or B&B. Rooms are a little tired but in the process of being upgraded. Breakfast room is lovely and Breakfast fantastic.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shaktiom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi thank you for your review.. It was nice to meet you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. We were sorry we could not be there when you left after your stay with us, but from what you say our daughter looked after you as we would. The ground floor room is the 6th to be refurbish with a make over and we start in a couple of weeks. It will be finished for Easter. We hope the rest of your stay in England will give you the same fond memories as your stay in the Lake District at the Coppice..

Chris & Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice Guest House

Property: The Coppice Guest House
Address: Brook Road, Windermere LA23 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in traditional Lake District stone & style, The Coppice, once a Windermere Vicarage retains all its character and charm. Sitting quietly in an elevated position between the villages of Windermere and Bowness, our Guesthouse is perfectly placed for touring or walking in the Lake District National Park.The all en-suite bedrooms have been individually designed so each has its own distinctive feel and our renowned Lake District breakfast is sourced from local produce and is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Coppice Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppice Guest House Hotel Windermere
The Coppice Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing