We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Decor, Clean Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coppice Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coppice Guest House
Ranked #21 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Decor, Clean Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had mixed experiences with this guest house. Chris gave a wonderful welcome and couldn't have been more helpful, the room was immaculate, and there were really nice touches like a decanter of sherry, and smellies for the shower. My only quibbles are fairly minor, and based on my personal circumstances. As someone staying in the Lakes for a few weeks, I've been at a number of guest houses, and this was by far the most expensive, but also the cleanest and nicest room. It was just lacking something here and there. As someone staying for a number of weeks, not being allowed to have take aways in the bedroom was a bit of a pain. As someone on business, the internet was awful. And as a solo traveller, I felt the atmosphere at breakfast somewhat lacking in service. The breakfast was very salty, and the lady had no time to stop and take my order, and it felt quite stressed and rushed, with toast almost thrown at me in haste. I felt a pressure to vacate my room by a set time each day, which made it difficult as a base to work from. Had a been a tourist, off on a sight seeing trip for the day, this would have been a different experience. On the plus side, the guest house is well stocked with DVDs, games, and is dog friendly. I would just like it to feel a bit more relaxed and homely.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure to request a room on the lower floors, as the attic has quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arrancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
hi thanks for your very full review. Sorry but we really can not allow takeaways in our rooms it is food smells curries etc and greasy fingers need wiping somewhere !!! Other guests using our rooms want to have a nice clean fresh linen smell. The only time we ask you to vacate you room in reasonable time is on your departure day.. Many guests stay in the room for lots of reasons and you can use the sign saying don't make up the room if you want a lie in or do not want to be disturbed etc. Again very sorry about the internet at time it is awful. We have boosters on every floor to try to improve the flow but we live in villages and so we are not deemed important enough by the post office to give us a better service even though we pay the same as the big cities when service is amazing and so fast and in the height of summer there are 1 Million people staying in and using our beautiful Lake District. we hope you will stay again. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    72
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
185
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at The Coppice for the Great North Swim Friday to Sunday. Warm welcome on arrival, room really good with four poster bed, shower room a little cramped but it did the job. Nice touches like a small decanter of sherry in your room. Breakfast fantastic - huge range of fruits, cereals and cooked items to order. Close to Windermere (5 mins) and Bowness (15 mins). Would definitely use again. Recommend you book early.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Really good you enjoyed you stay with us and you did the great north swim many congratulations and I am sure an amazing experience. We are hope the smallish shower did not cause you to much trouble. they are standard size and cater for all sizes of people some larger than others. The house is the old vicarage and the rooms are all different sizes and when they were converted for guesthouse use not quite as big as we would have liked. I think you room you used was Room 8 black and white and a favorite with a lot of our guest. We are so pleased you liked your breakfast and we do have to get a bit of speed up as we don't as guests to pre order as you know and cook most items to order. Perhaps we will see you again next year to beat your swim time from this year....Best wishes Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here from Friday night to Sunday and had a great stay. We were welcomed very warmly, shown around and given lots of information about the local area. We were in the area for the Great North Swim, and the owners went out of their way to help us, from advising us on parking and transport, to making sure we had breakfast early on Sunday so we could get going.

Our room was at the top of the house. It was lovely and cosy, with a shower room and separate toilet, and beautifully decorated, in a modern style. The bed was very comfy and the shower was excellent (although I do prefer to have a bath). The decanter of sherry was a lovely thoughtful touch.

Breakfast was excellent, far superior to much more expensive hotels that I have stayed in, and nothing was too much trouble. Conversation flowed freely between the tables on both mornings.

The Coppice is in a great location, within easy walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness, and with its own car park. I would be more than happy to stay here again and to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi thank you for the wonderful review of the Coppice, we really do try very hard to make every bodies stay that bit special and the 5 rooms we have refurbished have had excellent reviews.
We do try to make all guests feel welcome and the sherry just seems to calm you down after the journey. We also ask what you plan to do that day which helps other and they all start talking about their own experiences and this make for a very friendly atmosphere. Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future..Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We arrived Friday afternoon (and had a very friendly greeting from Chris) and left Sunday morning. The room was wonderful, very romantic and had been decorated with red rose petals as I'd requested. The bath in the room was also very nice, and the lights on the floor around it added a finishing touch. The en suite was also very nice and very clean.
The breakfast in the morning was marvelous, and Barbara did very well keeping up with the guests' requests!
We got the impression that nothing was too much to ask for, and we had a lovely weekend away.
I'd definitely recommend staying here, and Chris and Barbara should be proud of their guest house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 14_Rob_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hello Rob, We are delighted you both enjoyed your stay in one of our new totally refurbished interior designed rooms. We are extremely pleased with the way our rooms are finished, hand made furniture, new beds, roll-top baths and drapes etc. Much more up market than before and as you have experienced now, we have the WOW factor again. it was wonderful to see your faces when I took you up and you first saw the room, brilliant and just what we were after achieving. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to Welcome you again in the very near future. Chris & Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Before we arrived we were slightly nervous as we usually stay in one of the boutique hotels in Windermere. Due to the price of them we decided to try a guest house for a change as we wanted a last minute weekend away - not too expensive. Obviously The Coppice is no boutique hotel but it's also no where near the price you would pay to stay in one.

We where met in reception by a lovely friendly lady who checked us In and showed us to our room. The rooms are quite small but this wasn't an issue as we had wardrobe space for our bags etc & the room spotlessly clean. We where further out of bowness than we thought, probably 15minute walk into the centre so not too much of an issue.
Breakfasts where lovely which is always a plus haha.

Overall our first stay in a guesthouse was a good one! As they say you get what you pay for and the cost of the guesthouse for two nights was reasonable and worth every penny....Not expensive for a little weekend break. Lovely friendly staff & nothing at all we could fault with the accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraSiobhanxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi, thanks for your time in writing a review.. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and I suppose compared to a boutique we are not in the same league or price range, but very pleased your compared us with a high grade hotel and you feel you got value for money for your little break with us. please do it again and perhaps you will pop up to the Coppice again for another break. We enjoyed having you stay. Chris & Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This B&B is lovely, close to the train station and the lake. We stayed for 2 nights and we were made to feel very welcome.Excellent breakfast with a large choice with a selection of beautiful fruit. The bus stops are directly outside on the main road, the times of the buses are hit and miss, so dont go by the timetable really! Lovely cool rooms,(we hate hot rooms!) with a very comfy bed. The shower , however, did not seem to get as hot as we would like, so it was a quick dip in and out, but we didnt mention it , as everything else was perfect, including the decanter of sherry which was our little night cap!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Wonderful to read your review after your stay with us.. Barbara and I are so pleased you enjoyed breakfast and all the little things we do to make our guesthouse a little above the others.
We did take note of the shower not being to hot, sorry.. We have just fitted 5 new showers on the first and top floors and have now Tuesday the 22nd of April managed to get the plumber back to balance the water flow and alter the individual shower thermostats, so very pleased you mentioned it as nobody else had. The Buses are a little bit out of zinc sometimes out of season and are roughly hourly but from May the summer timetable comes in and they run 1/2 hourly and some every twenty minutes and the bus stops as you say are just thirty paces from our front door.
Lovely to have you stay with us and we do look forward to welcoming you back.
Chris & Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Well !!! Check in was funny as the landlord greeted us in marigolds that looked like welders gloves, Not quite sure what he had been doing ?
We were shown to our 'Luxury King Room with Spa bath' which was old and dated.
The Spa bath was nice but the taps leaked, The tap on the sink was loose and there was no window covering and as the sink was sat on the window ledge this was a bit odd.
There is no bar!! as stated only a lounge like at home.
Breakfast was really good but would have been better if there was as much as a radio on or breakfast news TV as everybody felt awkward listening to each others conversations.
Filter coffee is a good point if the cafetiere filters properly which ours didn't.
Nobody around at checkout so just 'walked out'
I paid £110 for 1 night which was not good value, Wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Go and stay in Bowness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe_mac001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Well, I am dismayed at this TRIP ADVISORS “ Senior contributor’s review.
I admit I did greet them with my rubber gloves on and full chefs kit as I didn’t want to keep guests waiting, (I was cleaning my oven, we have a Food HYGIENE rating of 5 out of 5 ) and I did apologise for my appearance as my wife had popped into the village. Whilst he was signing in I removed my gloves and apron and went back into the hall to be asked by the gentleman’s lady “where’s the Bar” I said we serve drinks in the lounge - we stock a full range of local Beers, Spirits, wines and Champagne etc. I showed them to their room and all the details mini decanter of Sherry etc and how the SPA bath worked. The SPA bath taps do not leak when put in the closed position - they are the bar and not screw type. The wash basin is a modern oval style with a stand pipe tap in front of the newly fitted double glazed opaque glassed window. The window looks out to the quiet back area of the building where there is a 20 ft Laurel hedge. Our interior designer didn’t see the need for a blind. The room furniture, handmade by a local cabinet maker was fitted in the first week of March. The bed is also new with a 1000 pocket sprung mattress. As for the breakfast time TV in our spacious dining room, well !!! Some of our rooms are “dated” in style but in keeping as it was the village Vicarage, others are modern. The guest 'walked out' whilst my wife and I were serving the last of the breakfasts and she was back and forth as the dining room is one side of the hall and the Kitchen the other so we were around.
I apologise for the Cafétiere filter not working correctly, if mentioned it would have been replaced immediately and £110 for room with a SPA Bath in Windermere, the Lake District National park is not expensive. we do have a full range of rooms and prices.
Chris..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invergarry Guest House
Invergarry Guest House
#19 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#17 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#13 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#28 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice Guest House

Property: The Coppice Guest House
Address: Brook Road, Windermere LA23 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in traditional Lake District stone & style, The Coppice, once a Windermere Vicarage retains all its character and charm. Sitting quietly in an elevated position between the villages of Windermere and Bowness, our Guesthouse is perfectly placed for touring or walking in the Lake District National Park.The all en-suite bedrooms have been individually designed so each has its own distinctive feel and our renowned Lake District breakfast is sourced from local produce and is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Coppice Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppice Guest House Hotel Windermere
The Coppice Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing