We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coppice Guest House
Ranked #15 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This was booked for a 1st year anniversary, greeted with a warm welcome, and all pre requests were carried out. Gold helium balloons, chocolate truffles, pink champagne and Coors light!
The jacuzzi room is definitely one to book, modern but it doesn't take the country cottage feel away.
The breakfast had a massive variety to suit everyone, and had a home from home feel to the dining area.
Its situated right in the middle of both Windermere and bowness towns, just short walks.
The whole place was immaculate, and staff very accommodating and friendly.
Thank you for making our 1st anniversary a memorable one.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Hello Sarah,, We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and we enjoyed the excitement of getting your room ready for your surprise. we were just as excited as your partner to see your face.
The balloons certainly made a wonderful sight as you walk in the room and the Chilled Pink Champagne and hand made chocolate all added to make it SPECIAL. We will be very pleased to welcome you back again next year for number 2 and look forward to hearing direct from you as we offer added value to bookings direct with us...We.love the pictures added to our site, well done.
Best Wishes Chris & Barbara..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed in room 8 right at the very top- a good sun trap, cosy and very modern in terms of colour scheme and chrome fittings. Comfy bed!
Breakfast the next moning was incredible: local, fresh and a big variety- including several locally made jams. Eggs and smoked salmon were a real treat. Recommended, as situated about a 20 minute walk to the lake.

Room Tip: Room 8 is the most modern in colour scheme and facilities. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Hi to you both.. thanks for your glowing report and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us but would like to hear why we only marked us with 4 for rooms and if the service can be improved, please let us know how. We do try particularly hard to attain top marks in all groups and make breakfast special as it is the last impression of the Coppice before you go out for the day and when you must leave to return home and we are very pleased you were impressed.

Please try to visit us again soon.
Regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked through Booking.com and were very pleased with The Coppice.
We haven't stayed in a B&B for many years now but the greeting you get from the Owner was really nice as was the decanter of sherry in the room.
The 4 poster room was a nice room although a little small with a small bathroom.
The breakfast was excellent and worthy of a 4*Hotel.
About 10 minute walk to Bowness but not too difficult.
all in all a really nice stay, book with confidence.
Steven Furness

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank g8sjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Hello Steve, We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at our Bed and Breakfast and a great compliment saying our breakfast was up to 4 star hotel standard. Chuffed thanks.. When you next need a quick break in the Lake district we look forward to hearing from you and please book direct as you now know us and part of the coppice family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Although we had a minor problem finding our final destination this was mainly due to poor road signage in Windemere rather than directions as The Coppice is really conveniently place closed to the road linking Windermere and Bowness
Once we arrived we recieved a super welcome from Barbara and were shown to a lovely room with spotless bathroom(Spa bath) and even a welcoming glass of sherry
Chris ,Barbara and their team couldn't do enough providing an excellent breakfast and advice on where to visit -the only hiccup was a very short visit that first evening to a nearby pub for a meal and drink which turned out to be very short as we left within seconds due to attitude of the 'waiter'. I am putting that down to experience and not giving that pub a bad review as I know how such one off poor reviews can affect a business -perhaps unfairly.Anyway all other pubs and restuarants in the area that we visited gave great service.
Back to the Coppice -as I say a super base for either staying in Windermere/Bowness or travelling around the Lake District generally and the cream on the cake,for the inevitible wet afternoon in the Lakes , The Coppice has links with a nearby Spa Hotel in Bowness and provides free access to their facilities ie pool/sauna etc etc (they even provided valet parking despite our not being residents)
We would definietely return to the Coppice if we return to the Lakes

Room Tip: Only one room on ground floor so if any disabled issues bear this in mind as only stairs leading to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SevenoaksJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for your very in-depth review of our traditional Guesthouse in the Lakes We used to be the local vicarage so bottom middle floors have tall ceilings and the 2nd floor rooms are large in floor space but limited to 9 foot ceilings and all finished being totally refurbished in February this year. We do have little mizzen floors midway up the staircases so they are not long flights of stairs and if guests do have impaired walking we would like to know. Full descriptions are available on most web booking sites of size of room and which floor it is on So you have the choice. We are sorry you didn't enjoy the service from a local restaurant and we would like to know then we would not recommend them to our next guests enquiry about where to dine..
Thanks for staying with us.
We look forwards to welcoming you back in the future.. Best Wishes Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Thanks Chris & Barbara, for a warm welcome and a terrific stay.
Good quality rooms, nice and clean, with tea and coffee. A nice touch is the sherry.
Make sure you are hungry when odering the full breakfast, good quality produce used, very tasty.
We stayed in room 2 very comfortable.
The hotel is nice and central for the town or down to the lake, about a 15 minute walk.
Nice pleasant well kept garden bursting with colour.
Thanks again Chris & Barbara for a terrific stay, hope to stay again soon.
keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Nice fourposter bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryzee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Great review thanks you and Thanks for staying with us for your break.. Barbara and I are delighted you found our room to your liking. We also noted you enjoyed the SPA from your note in the visitors book on reception.. Not many mention the Complimentary SPA Club use at the Old England Hotel nearby on trip advisor review for some reason but all enjoy it when they go..

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived and was greeted immediately and shown to our room .the room was spotlessly clean fresh and was in perfect condition. The breakfast was outstanding and the dinning area was all set out ready with fresh orange cereal and a number of other starters. The tea was in a lovely pot and the food was really hot and was outstanding. If you are thinking of visiting the lake district then look this bed and breakfast up many thanks for making our holiday all the best Paul and Paula dingsdale from st helens Merseyside

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DINGSDALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Hi Paul and Paula, thank you so much for the report on your stay at the Coppice,, We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us and the glowing words of praise..
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and please book with us direct please and enjoy more discounts.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Firstly you are hit by the amazing gardens surrounding this guest house, colours coordinating with the exterior of the house . Initially this draws you into The Coppice ,once through the front door and you are spoilt with the wonderful scent of fresh Lilies an amazing array sat in a vase in the porch window . The landlady was warm , welcoming and very helpful showed us the room we were interested in , what a delight , quirky ,clean fresh with little extras. We had just travelled down from Scotland we were tired , had car fever, and needed to unwind and freshen up . Our room offered all we needed ,oh, and must not forget the decanter of sherry compliments of the house , very welcome luckily my other half did not like sherry, but I did !!!
We had a very comfortable stay and breakfast the following morning was superb !
The hospitality at this place was the best we had received from the whole of our trip , thank you .The room we had was an attic room , may get too hot in the summer absorbing the days heat , some cooling system may be needed .
Great Guest house well done to the owners .

Room Tip: Attic rooms may be hot mid summer. Rooms with bath more expensive than with shower so like us who p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWindermere_, Owner at The Coppice Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Hi thanks for your review and for staying at the Coppice.
we do try to make all our guests feel welcome and a quick explanation of how things work, ie the SPA baths buttons and complimentary sherry decanter (some people think they will be charged if they use it), Tv DVD workings in the room etc just helps our guests to relaxe after there journey and start to enjoy their break with us..

Delighted you will also come again..
Please book direct next time please.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#7 of 107 in Windermere
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#6 of 107 in Windermere
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coppice Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coppice Guest House

Address: Brook Road, Windermere LA23 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £82 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coppice Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in traditional Lake District stone & style, The Coppice, once a Windermere Vicarage retains all its character and charm. Sitting quietly in an elevated position between the villages of Windermere and Bowness, our Guesthouse is perfectly placed for touring or walking in the Lake District National Park.The all en-suite bedrooms have been individually designed so each has its own distinctive feel and our renowned Lake District breakfast is sourced from local produce and is second to none. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Coppice Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppice Guest House Hotel Windermere
The Coppice Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing