We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamplighter
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
STOCKPORT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very welcoming staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Only stayed here for one night and before we arrived I was quite worried having read some poor reviews. The staff were very friendly and the bar was a comfy place to have a quiet drink with plenty of choice of drinks. Our room was very large and the bed was spacious and very comfy.The room did not have a shower but that did not bother us and there was plenty of very hot water for the bath. Location of the hotel is excellent, very near shops, bars and restaurants. We ate at the hotel and the food was delicious and there is very good choice on the menu. Breakfast was delicious with a varied choice. If you are looking for a modern up to date hotel then perhaps this isn't for you but we thought the decor fitted the age of the building. I think some people forget that they are staying in a small b&b and not the Grand Hotel. As for the price we paid, we thought it was a fair amount for the location. We had no problem parking but the car parking area is quite small.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VERTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    111
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
40
185
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Positives - Check in was quick and easy, Staff were ok. Room & bathroom were spacious, bed comfortable, fine for a one night stay. Breakfast was lovely.

Negatives- Car park too small, struggled to park, room could do with modernising, slightly over priced.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ff82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Really enjoyed the place great food very warm and friendly owners, real value for money compared to others in the lakes. Best thing was the food this place should have awards fantastic fresh food!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful gentleman who made us feel welcome. The room was lovely, very clean with an extra free standing heater provided. Bathroom spacious and clean. Bar Staff very pleasant. Breakfast great with full waitress service. Very handy location for the train station and a taxi to the Lake about £3.50. Would definately book again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethtimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

the best fish and chips ive ever had, and ive had plentey, and large interesting menu, others arond me seemed to be impressed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyzdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

stayed on many ocasions, always friendly always warm and inviting, food always super will stay again next year. mr and mrs willaim berry

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie123057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

Stayed in room which was spacious with a very large bathroom,lcd television and a big comfy bed everything was clean and tidy and was good value while its not a 5 star hotel it is good value for money and was also well located.We happened to eat in the dining room downstairs which has menu-boards on the wall and were really impressed by the actually amazing food!probaly one of the best meals We've ever had!We only stayed the night but would go back just for the food!Could do with some Re-furbishment in the room's if your fussy.if you just want a bed in the lakes and to die for food then go !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mario187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplighter

Property: The Lamplighter
Address: High St, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Windermere
#15 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamplighter 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Victorian guesthouse and pub, situated in the heart of Windermere Village and located in the heart of the Lake District. Two minutes walk from Windermere train station, just off the A591 and the perfect location from which to explore the idyllic surroundings, with local amenities on your doorstep. Offering seven comfortable en-suite bedrooms and two shower only, also attached is The Lamplighter bar serving home cooked traditional pub food and beer affording great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakthorpe Hotel Windermere
The Lamplighter Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing