We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value”
Review of The Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamplighter
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights and cannot fault the food or ambience.

Rooms are comfortable, if a little dated. But, on the basis, that you are in the Lake District to enjoy the scenery, walks etc. this a great spot. Excellent breakfast to keep you going through the day and then a fantastic evening menu which is difficult to choose from. The triple cooked chips are to die for and the salad side dishes are highly recommneded. Excellent range of 'sharing platters' and daily specials - you really will be hard pressed to find anything better in Windemere.

The hotel is conveniently located just off the A591 and benefits from not being too close to the centre of Windemere.

All in all, we would heartily recommend the hotel, its very helpful & frinedly staff ...oh, and did I mention the food?

Room Tip: Book early!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCC198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    114
    37
    7
    8
See reviews for
42
191
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed here in May this year with my boyfriend for a 2 night long weekend. Room we were allocated was good size, bit odd to have an en-suite fire exit room but thankfully did not need to be used. Shower was attached to plugs in bath and not to wall which could do with some improvements. Breakfast was fantastic, lots on offer. Ate here one evening, dispite no reservation they were able to fit us in, very impressed with portions they reflect the cost!!! My boyfriend had one issue however over the lack of real ales that were stated on hotel description.
Close to all local pubs and shops, approx 20 min walk to lake windermere.
Would stay again!!!

Room Tip: Higher price doubles worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stopped here for my girlfriends b/day , sat 13th aug for 2 nights . Would really recommend this place couldn't fault anything about it staff are really helpful rooms , location and restaurant second to none . Definatly use this place again upon my return to Windermere .

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaung911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I have stayed at the Oakthorpe regularly with a group of adults and children on at least an annual basis since 1999. In the last twelve months the hotel has been largely redecorated and improved, and the dining facilities have been enlarged with the addition of a new dining room and external seating area. The food quality has always been excellent and the friendly owners are on hand at all times to help. The breakfasts are the tops as far as my group are concerned!

Room Tip: Ask for an ensuite room as all rooms dont have showers or toilets. Room 1 is my first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdenGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

A small hotel on the edge of Windermere town centre, about 100 metres from the main road with off street parking. Location, atmosphere, service and friendliness were second to none; nothing was too much effort for the staff and management and we had 3 enjoyable nights.
The owners have been investing in improving the property and this is very noticeable in the public areas. The guest rooms, although very comfortable, are a little tired and need to be renovated to make this into the excellent hotel it deserves to be. We were told these improvements are already planned.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qaman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

we only booked this as a place to get our head down after a wedding do. the room was lovely, four poster bed. there was a shower and a sink in the room that seemed a little strange but soon got used to it. there was no much noise from the street as some people have said, but then again we were slightly intoxicated. the bed was very comfortable and room was clean. the shared toilet was a bit of a pain but we only stayed for one night so didn't effect us that much. the breakfast was great, had a choice of what you wanted to eat including tea and orange juice and service was amazing. lovely staff. it was a bit over priced but i don't think you would find much cheaper in the area as all hotels have to put there prices up. i would stay there again, a drop in prices would be nice but still overall a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyAnn-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Great central location within minutes of Windermere railway station, bus stops, restaurants and shops. The lake is approximately 1.1/2 miles from the hotel (around 20-minutes walk) and Bowness. Pubs, restaurants and post office all within minutes of this great centrally located hotel. The staff were very friendy and couldn't do enough for us. We took our dog and was made to feel very welcome.

Room Tip: For great value, comfort and food - stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laffarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplighter

Property: The Lamplighter
Address: High St, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Windermere
#15 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamplighter 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Victorian guesthouse and pub, situated in the heart of Windermere Village and located in the heart of the Lake District. Two minutes walk from Windermere train station, just off the A591 and the perfect location from which to explore the idyllic surroundings, with local amenities on your doorstep. Offering seven comfortable en-suite bedrooms and two shower only, also attached is The Lamplighter bar serving home cooked traditional pub food and beer affording great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakthorpe Hotel Windermere
The Lamplighter Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing