We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of The Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lamplighter
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Short Break”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Billed as a Restaurant with rooms we took advantage of a "discount deal". I took the option of an Upgrade and we arrived (via a good few staircases) to room 10. A double aspect room with nice natural light and a sloping roof. First thing. The Bathroom is HUGE. disproportionate to the room itself. Modern and V clean. only niggle? poor water pressure in the shower. You are on the main road through Windermere centre so in the am there is traffic noise but I have to say we slept very well. James with whom I booked also seemed ever present over the 3 days, he was utterly charming and attentive. Breakfast was fantastic. Very well cooked and served at the table rather than buffet style. Nice Bar well stocked. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    114
    38
    7
    8
See reviews for
44
194
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just returned from spending a very pleasant stay at the Lamplighter.
All the staff were polite and nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in room 5 which had a modern bath and shower and was extremely clean. I would say if you are a light sleeper perhaps ask for a room at the back of the building, as it can be quite noisy at tImes.
The breakfast was very nice, with plenty of choices, they even catered for me when I emailed ahead to ask if they supplied soya milk.
We ate in the restaurant once during our stay and the food was amazing, would have liked to have eaten there more, but our budget wouldn't run to it,
There is free wifi which worked fine for the first couple of days and then went on the blink, but when I pointed it out to the manager he did get it sorted on the last day, but that was a minor problem, and really wasn't important, that's how it is in the lakes.
The Lamplighter is very central and we used it as a base to explore this beautiful county. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance if you don't want to drive in the evening.
The car park is a bit small and it's hit and miss if you can get a space, depends what time you get back, but there is street parking, so again not too much of a problem.
I would defiantly recommend this delightful B&B for a relaxing stay in the lakes.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the traffic not room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

My brother and I were in England for family, and treated Dad to dinner at the Lamplighter. We all had fish recommended by the manager - it was excellent. Followed by pudding and custard for desert, and an after dinner drink.

Great British food in very nice surroundings.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FloydandPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

a last minute trip booked just to get away for a few days. a good welcome from James who even carried our case to the room not often that happens (in our experience) in the UK. Nice clean room with good views of the town and very centrally located. Staff all very helpful and pleasant. Food was very nice and the breakfast was very good and should be enough to keep moist folk going all day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here with another couple of friends who had made the booking. Apparently the stays are normally a minimum of 2 nights but, as we agreed to have a meal in the restaurant, the manager agreed to let us book a single night.

It was easy to find and well located in Windermere village. Parking on site was a bonus, we arrived around 12.45 on a Saturday so there were plenty of spaces, although these soon filled up. The welcome we received was extremely warm and friendly.

We were in room 4, the Bassenthwaite. The room was a good size with a decent sized wardrobe and dressing table. The bed was huge, actually 2 beds connected and really comfy. The bathroom was more compact with a small corner shower cubicle.

Our friends were in room 1 which was smaller with a normal sized double bed, but their shower was a bit bigger.

The food in the restaurant was very good; good portion sizes and really tasty, but I thought it a little overpriced. Breakfast was also really good, but it would have been nice to have a longer window of opportunity than an hour between 8.30am and 9.30am, which meant it was really busy.

If I had any criticism it would be that the room was a bit too warm, the towel rail in the bathroom really kicked out a lot of heat and I had trouble finding the correct valve to turn it off. We tried to open the sash window and had to wedge something at the bottom to keep it open. There was a fan in the wardrobe but I didn't want to sleep with this going. I'm sure if we had asked we would have been shown how to turn the towel rail off as the staff were lovely.

Despite these minor niggles I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. We really enjoyed our stay and I thought it exceptional value for money. We paid £85 including breakfast, our friends room was £75 for the night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LargoGarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights on a visit to the Lakes District and really enjoyed it. The room was spacious and clean with a modern bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. There were tea making facilities in the room which were very welcome. The hotel is situated close to the start of Windermere and you can walk most places from it. There is car parking on site. Overall the hotel is pleasant, the staff are welcoming but not overly friendly and while some re decorating would be nice, it has a lovely warm lived in feeling. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Lamplighter and were quite pleased. It is located within short walking distance of the train station, tourist information and the starting point for many bus day tours. It is also near many great pubs and restaurants. We had a room far upstairs that was spacious with windows that opened and overlooked the town. The breakfasts were cooked to order in a nice dining room. The hotel is obviously in a very old building, but it is kept up well. We may go back to Windermere again and we will stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
767 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplighter

Property: The Lamplighter
Address: High St, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Windermere
#15 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamplighter 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Victorian guesthouse and pub, situated in the heart of Windermere Village and located in the heart of the Lake District. Two minutes walk from Windermere train station, just off the A591 and the perfect location from which to explore the idyllic surroundings, with local amenities on your doorstep. Offering seven comfortable en-suite bedrooms and two shower only, also attached is The Lamplighter bar serving home cooked traditional pub food and beer affording great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakthorpe Hotel Windermere
The Lamplighter Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing