We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lamplighter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lamplighter
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Mixed view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Having looked at the reviews of others and doing so before we stayed here, over all it didn't live up to expectations on all fronts. The reception area is just approaching need of updating and we we had to wait a while to get checked in, but when staff arrived we were treated quickly and pleasantly. Moving up the stairs to get to the room (and note for those with limited mobility, there is no lift and there are several steps in corridors as the building is on a bit of a slope), things deteriorated. The carpet in places is nothing less than filthy and really let's the place down, paintwork is badly chipped and a makeshift cupboard roughly painted with an unfinished hasp lock looks awful, on reaching the corridor the room is on there are no less than three types of wallpaper, some painted others not and two colours of carpet. Based on this I was dreading seeing the room. The good news is that the room was ok. Bed large and comfortable, pillows not so, old furniture in need of replacement, bathroom fairly new and all functional. No double glazing so the traffic noise on the one way system is bad, oh and on Mondays it's recycling day and at 0630am it's loud, no chance of sleeping through. Weather was warm, so had to have window open which made things worse. Fan provided which helped a bit. Breakfast excellent, lots of choice, with helpful pleasant lady serving. Over all though, there is better accommodation nearby so wouldn't stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fromhome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    109
    33
    7
    7
See reviews for
40
182
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked night stay at Lamplighter , paid 90£ for deluxe room 6, It is facing HIgh Street and is very noisy, One window is broke , can't close, other is just not double glazed and hence is very loudly as traffic flows all night and day. Room has dirty carpet and bed has no headrest , so is it called deluxe room ? spider web was around windows, small lcd tv with free view, very old fashioned scratched table used as coffee stand . Place is inadequately staffed, on check in , was greeted by someone I presume is owner James, he took to show restaurant and went through all at very fast speed, on asking , CAN YOU PLEASE TELL AGAIN HOW TO BOOK TABLE AT RESTAURANT? HIS REPLY WAS " DO YOU SPEAK ENGLISH "? DID YOU UDNERSTAND THAT OR YOU WANT ME TO GO THROUGH ALL OF IT AGAIN ??? I said no its fine thanks. Because of his bad manners of customer service, I did not bother eating in that tiny restaurant. Guest house or restaurant whatever it is , it is closed to Train station but about 30 minutes walk from Actual Lake, which is situated at place called Bowness-ON-Windermere, if you are visiting lake , which i presume, then book something close to Bowness-on-windermere as otherwise you will walk alot. Accomodation room I paid for was not Deluxe at all but was just shame and when my wife looked at room and found dust around, I was just ashamed. I wanted to give surprise for a romantic night in deluxe room at 90£ for a night. i would say its not budget room as VIllage hotels have room just at 89£/night and they have excellent rooms with swimming pool etc. So you can't say it is budget that's why it is like this. 90£ is too much for noisy dirty room called as deluxe room ! Please read terrible comments , they will help. don't try to surprise your partner by booking this place, she will be shocked, she tells or no.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank visitorfromcheshire7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just stayed here for 4 nights and have really enjoyed our time here. The staff are very friendly and nothing is a problem. We have 2 rooms as we travelling with our son and the rooms are clean, fresh and easy to get into. If you need accommodation in the Lakes district we can highly recommended the Lamplighter.

Helpful?
2 Thank 15021012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the family in march. We were all impressed with our rooms. Our room was massive and the bathroom wasn't far off the size of our bedroom.

Ideal location and great prices.

Would recommend

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank taz15485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Here just overnight, have eaten here but not stayed before, the welcome was heartfelt which was a good indication of what is to follow.
A quick aperitif on the terrace in the sun followed by food that was tasty and plentiful.
The room is superb although a bed so huge I need to text my wife to come nearer.. Everything is meticulously clean and well presented my only niggle is nowhere to hang my jacket but that is entirety superfluous.
Many thanks to James and all his staff, for friendly but superb hospitality that is rice very reasonably in comparison to other hotels in Windermere... We will be back again I'm sure....

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michlo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Lamp Lighter on May day weekend 2014….. (2ND visit)
Great staff, great food - with fish being the speciality – Superb – the rooms are basic, but comfortable and the location is excellent. Just a 20 minute walk to the Lake Windermere. (You must try the Triple cooked chips)
If you are venturing to the pubs – avoid the burgers at the Queens – unnecessarily expensive and poor quality…….
The Lake district is an extremely expensive area – take plenty of money – for what we spent, we could have gone all inclusive for a week in Spain.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evansleref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice little establishment. Stayed one night. Very good price, nice rooms very large and good large bathroom.

Breakfast was very good and ate in the restaurant at night the sunday lunch was outstanding. Absolutely loved it.

Good value and good service. Can't ask for anymore.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank corbett_shane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#15 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplighter

Property: The Lamplighter
Address: High St, Windermere LA23 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Windermere
#15 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamplighter 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned Victorian guesthouse and pub, situated in the heart of Windermere Village and located in the heart of the Lake District. Two minutes walk from Windermere train station, just off the A591 and the perfect location from which to explore the idyllic surroundings, with local amenities on your doorstep. Offering seven comfortable en-suite bedrooms and two shower only, also attached is The Lamplighter bar serving home cooked traditional pub food and beer affording great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your The Lamplighter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakthorpe Hotel Windermere
The Lamplighter Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing