We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
charlottemckibbin
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom

Prime location, tired rooms

Review of The Lamplighter
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2019
On arriving and parking in a very tightly packed carpark, it was unclear where the entrance to the B&B was. Having walked through the restaurant we finally got served by a friendly member of staff who gave us the room key and pointed us into the direction of the room.

The room was a reasonable size with everything that you required (including a coffee machine), however it was cleaned to a poor standard. The bathroom needed a deep clean and the room a good dust.

The location was fantastic, right in the centre of Windermere a stones throw away from great pubs, restaurants and coffee shops.

The breakfast was to the standard you would expect,
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£244
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £244
  • Skyscanner.com
    £244
0.2 miles from The Lamplighter
Free Wifi
Free parking
£200
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £200
  • Skyscanner.com
    £200
0.1 miles from The Lamplighter
Free Wifi
Free parking
£149
  • Hotels.com
    £159
  • Agoda.com
    £103
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from The Lamplighter
Free parking
Pool
£135
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £140
  • Agoda.com
    £105
  • Hotels.com
    £139
2.4 miles from The Lamplighter
Free Wifi
Free parking
£293
  • Expedia.com
    £314
  • Agoda.com
    £253
  • Hotels.com
    £313
2.7 miles from The Lamplighter
Free Wifi
Pool
£137
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £138
  • ZenHotels.com
    £125
  • Hotels.com
    £134
2.5 miles from The Lamplighter
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£116
  • Expedia.com
    £126
  • Agoda.com
    £105
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from The Lamplighter
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£156
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £156
  • eDreams
    £156
0.8 miles from The Lamplighter
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
£138
  • Expedia.com
    £130
  • Agoda.com
    £115
  • Priceline
4.3 miles from The Lamplighter
Free parking
Pool
£335
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    £335
2.0 miles from The Lamplighter
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Windermere
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
187
139
60
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
187
139
60
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooked fresh coffee machine would stay again short break breakfast was excellent warm welcome dog lakes mirror walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2019 via mobile

We’ve been to the Lamplighter before for dinner and it was lovely, so this time we thought we’d go for Sunday lunch. We had roast beef and it was exceptional. The Yorkshire pudding was huge! It was £18.95 but well worth it.

We took our 4 month old baby and the staff were very accommodating of the extra room required.

Would definitely recommend for Sunday lunch!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank EnzoMillemiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2019 via mobile

Much is good. Staff very helpful and friendly. Welcoming open fire.
Rooms are a bit old fashioned and not luxurious at all -sort of one pillow style.
Breakfast good though and so convenient.
Did what we needed rather than being impressive - but staff make up for it

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank IanGordon1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2019

really gorgeous hotel in the middle of Windermare, perfect setting, free parking. The nicest breakfast . we were made to feel very welcome . Room was really comfortable and plenty of room . quiet at nighttime too.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank tinkerbellNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with our dog, which is why chose this place. The location and the staff are great nothing to much for them and the food is lovely. Breakfast was included in the room price which was also lovely. The thing that let this place down was the room. It was a premiere room but was very small, dated and dark. The shower was very weak too. If the rooms were more modern it would of been 5 stars.

1  Thank Gary_84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

Stayed here three nights last week in a ‘Premier’ room and was genuinely disappointed. The room was bare, dimly-lit and totally bland. Lights didn’t really work and there was nothing remotely premium about the room. There are better locations for the money in Windermere.

Most of the reviews here are about the food, but we didn’t eat here. What we did experience however was the overwhelming stench every day of cooking oils and fat that pervaded the entrance hall and corridors.

Great location, free parking and an opportunity for this place to really hit the mark, but they need serious filtration in the kitchen, a complete makeover and a facelift to be worth the money charged.

Wouldn’t stay here again sadly.

Thank Movieman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews