We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good self-catering apartment with parking”
Review of Briscoe Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Briscoe Lodge
Ranked #74 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
The Villages, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good self-catering apartment with parking”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location with a reserved parking spot (if you are in one of the apartments). Great spot from which to explore The Lakes. Good value and plenty of space. The owners were very helpful. Wifi was included as well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDL106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    16
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds, west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night,
Room was small- but clean and well kept. We had a nice breakfast. Host was very accommodating.
Kettle in room leaked- needs replacing.
Could do with having fans in the rooms, as on a hot night quite hard to sleep.
Would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank d.darke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Briscoe Lodge having stayed in the ground floor self-catering apartment. When we arrived we called the phone number to the lodge as the doorbell didn't seem to work (I probably didn’t press it hard enough). Graham answered the door holding his baby girl and instructed us where to go with the car. What a lovely host, in fact his wife and 2 young girls were equally lovely. Graham showed us around the apartment, which is a very good size. Two bedrooms, one double, one bunk bed, bathroom, lounge, long hallway and kitchen. The is a utility cupboard in the hallway that has a hoover, mop & bucket, iron & ironing board. The furnishings throughout are simple but serve their purpose. The 3 piece sofa is very comfortable and the double bed nice and soft. Plenty of storage space in the form of drawers and a wardrobe available. The kitchen is equipped with everything you could need, including the usual microwave, toaster and kettle. All of which were incredibly clean. No lime scale in the kettle !!! The cooker is functional, as some of the symbols had worn we were unsure which was the correct option for the oven but this was rectified by a knock on the main house door and asking Jannett who happily came to show us. As the cooker probably isn’t used on a daily basis it did get a little smoky so we opened the kitchen window, sorted ! after a bit more use this would probably burn off completely. Graham pays for some of the heating and lighting but any extra electricity used, eg the microwave is payable to the meter situated in a cupboard in the front room. The main heater in the front room was out of action the day we arrived so Graham had kindly put an oil filled radiator in the room for us and provided us with £5 in £1 coins for the use of it. Over the 3 days we were there we were careful not to be silly with the electricity by not leaving lights on when they didn’t need to be and keeping doors closed to keep the heat in and even though temperatures were low we only added another £5 to the meter most of which was probably left in for the next guest. This is also more environmentally friendly, the appropriate recycling containers are also provided for rubbish. The water is heated by a switch on the wall in the hallway and takes about 15 minutes to generate enough for a couple of showers. The main house has an extensive DVD library for guest use, which can be player on the DVD player provided. Most genres are covered. The bathroom is on the small side, there is no bath available but the shower is great and so clean it looked new. I admit to being a bit of a clean freak so this pleased me greatly. The kitchen was also spotless, even the kitchen sink. There was a cobweb or two that I spotted in the front room but they’re not there now  The location of the lodge is good. Parking for the apartments is available around the back of the house right by the apartment. We walked into town a couple of times, it’s an easy walk, takes about 15 minutes at a comfortable pace, it’s uphill (slightly) on the way back. All in all a very comfortable stay in a lovely home, ran by lovely people. It also impressed me to read in their brochure that Graham is ex Army and volunteers his time to the Langdale/Ambleside Mountain Rescue. Jannett is a Lawyer and together they run the lodge whilst raising their 2 adorable girls, Graham is also qualified to give massages. When we return to the Lakes (without our Niece) we will definitely stay here again, possibly in the main house so we could experience the tasty breakfast option.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbrown2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I treated my boyfriend to a night away and chose the Briscoe Lodge via Booking.com. Really glad I did! Lovely people, great atmosphere and the room was really comfortable. Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natsicowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My friend and I stayed here one day on a short stop through the Lake District in August. The place was really lovely, free wifi, really good breakfast. We had a great, relaxing time in Windermere and will definitely recommend Briscoe Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My family of five stayed in Graham's 2 bedroom ground floor apartment. We were supposed to check in before 8PM but we ended up reaching only at 10PM and he greeted us with a very friendly smile and explained all the aspects of the apartment. He had the heaters all on already. The location is ideal, tucked away from the busy streets, but just across the city center as well as the lake. The entire family liked it so much that we wanted to extend our 4 night stay here and instead cut short our next 4 nights in London. Unfortunately he did not have any vacancies. This is my second visit to Windermere and we loved every bit of it. The rooms were very clean and well kept, My boys especially liked the bunk beds. We did not take the breakfast option (or it was not available) but the kitchen was fully equipped. The use of the one pound coin to pay for the electricity (for some of the personalised requirements like microwave etc) was also very interesting and my boys were waiting to use the machine. The rooms are not large, but we did not feel anything odd. Overall, we really liked and enjoyed the stay here in the Briscoe Lodge and if we were to return to Windermere or for that matter anywhere in Cumbria I am absolutely certain that we will come back here only.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinodJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Let me start with providing an uncustomary summary at the beginning rather than end. Briscoe Lodge is a well run and very friendly place. Whilst the accomodation is relatively basic, it's clean and cosy, set in a stone cottage just a stone's throw away from the middle of Windemere town. I have given an overall 'average' in the absence of a 'good' rating. It is not poor by any means - simply 'intermediate' as is the very definition of 'average'.

This is a family run establishment. There is a limited number of B&B rooms within the small stone cottage supplemented by a self catering annexe. The room in which we stayed was not huge (after all, it is a small cottage) but large enough for short stay purposes, being a double with closet and en suite facilities (complete with tired screeching extractor fan!). Small TV and DVD are also provided. Most importantly, rooms are kept clean and fresh linen provided as necessary.

Breakfast is a hearty full English or plentiful continental, served in the downstairs dining room. Personal breakfast selection needs to be confirmed by tick sheet the previous evening.

Point of note, those with a feline allergy (or fear) may want to avoid as there are two friendly resident cats.

The Lake District isn't exactly short of B&B establishments but for a no-nonsense and friendly short stay you can't really go wrong with Briscoe Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#67 of 107 in Windermere
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windermere Suites
Windermere Suites
#31 of 107 in Windermere
515 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#55 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briscoe Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briscoe Lodge

Property: Briscoe Lodge
Address: 26 Ellerthwaite Road, Windermere LA23 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Briscoe Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Briscoe Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briscoe Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing