We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The owner was very kind and so very helpful,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunvegan Guest House
Ranked #64 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“The owner was very kind and so very helpful,”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just back from the Dunvegan Beb & Breakfast Windmere.
The owner was very kind and so very helpful, nothing
was a bother to her. Her accommodation is very clean and
bedroom of a good size. We were happy with the breakfast.
She provided us with off street parking but there was also
free street parking. At the botton of the street are lots of
shops, cafés and restaurants, The only thing she did not
have and we would have liked was a sitting room.
She did tell us about the Crown Carvery Lakeview Restaurant,
(Above the amusement arcade in Windermere Harbour).
The restaurant is on the edge of the harbour over
looking the lake, boats & wildlife.
Carvery course is £3.99 yes only £3.99.
Carvery and sweet £5.49
Plus you could sit and drink, looking over
the lake.
Have a good time, we did.
Regards Peter
(please tick the box if you think i was helpfull)

Room Tip: Talk to the lady and she will help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NewcastleRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    18
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I recently stayed at the guest house for 2 nights with my boyfriend in a small double room with en suite.

We didn't spend too much time in the guest house, but when we did, it was warm and comfortable. The owner was very chatty, and always interested in what our plan's were for the day, and recommended places to visit.

The breakfast and noise let it down slightly. I understand that the guest house is small, and it is impossible to block out noise from other guests moving around in their room, but we both found it difficult to sleep and were woken up early with the sound of breakfast being made.

Breakfast was basic, and not the best for healthy eaters, like us. Cereal was offered the first day, through there was no choice as to which cereal you could eat, and the second day was canned fruit (again, no option). The cooked breakfast was ok.

I would say the hotel is a good base for a couple of nights, but I don't think we would stay there again for any longer than this.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizQ87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed in this establishment for 6 nights in October 2011. I was travelling on my own and occupied the en suite single room. The landlady's welcome, the food and room facilities were excellent. I would definitely recommend it. I am hoping to book up again this year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junerichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Evelyn the proprietor was lovely and very helpful...I cant imagine the person who wrote that she was rude actually went to the same place. We stayed for 2 nights in the smallest of the en suite rooms. Everything was very clean and there was a good quality TV and kettle etc. facilities and the price was very reasonable. The breakfast was very nice and Evelyn is very accommodating of your needs, whether you are asking for extra or less on your food. She seemed to know all the surrounding lake area very well and her recommendations proved priceless in what turned out to be a great couple of days spent there. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mersyside uk
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Dunvegan is a quaint, clean, pleasant and well furbished guest house. Evelyn is welcoming and accomodating. We enjoyed our visit here and it is well siuted for fit people. However, it is 1 and a half miles to Lake Windemere from the guest which is great walking down but no so great going back up! There are buses available though...
We enjoyed our stay here and would go back!!
Note: there is limited parking at the rear of the hotel
Karen & co.

Room Tip: This guest house is good for short stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Evelyn the proprietor is the rock that holds this gem together. She saved us when our other accommodation fell through. 6pm on a Friday and she was running around finding high chairs and cots for out little ones.

She was nothing but courteous and friendly. This place is what a B&B should be all about.

Rooms were clean and well presented. Being hypercritical they could do with a lick of paint but that is not as important in my view as the warmth of welcome you receive and the ability to accommodate individual requests.

The price tag for all this was low! Value for money in a great location.

Look- this place won't win any travel awards but I can't rate it highly enough. Don't hesitate - book it

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pieandchips2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I was doing the great north swim and left before breakfast time, but Evelyn bent over backwards to leave us a cold breakfast. Very welcoming and helpful. I can only assume the person who accused her of being unfriendly stayed somewhere else.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SLLUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#31 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#43 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#65 of 108 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#21 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#9 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#23 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvegan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvegan Guest House

Property: Dunvegan Guest House
Address: Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing