We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunvegan Guest House
Ranked #63 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for 2 nights. We were in room 1 and although very small, the room was cosy. The breakfast was the owners choice of cereal and then a small cooked breakfast. Evelyn was helpful with local attractions and advice however there was a mix up as we were departing and we were charged twice for our stay, the problem has since been resolved but we certainly could have done without the hassle of trying to get a refund.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Dunvegan Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a mates wedding not far away. It's a nice & lovely little guest house.
We stayed in room number 3 located on the first floor. It was a good size, clean as was the rest of the house. Breakfast was nice too. Free Wifi also available for guests.
The location itself is very good as its very close to the shops and a nice walk down to Windermere lake. Parking is out the back off the guest house.
A lovely lady 'Evelyn' who runs the guest house is very helpful and make your stay better.

10/10 - :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

First things I noticed when arrived at this b&b: dirty bedside table (cup stains); unclean cups; quite few hair in between the bed sheets; stained toilet. Well, when you stay at budget place I guess you have to do a bit of cleaning yourself..:)
The main issue to note: the HEATING is TURNED OFF in the evening for a night, even there was +3 degrees outside! Was freezing cold in the room and we had to sleep with our clothes on!
Things worth noting: breakfast is really small portion: one egg, one slice of ham; 2 mushrooms, half tomato, one sausage, one hash brown; one slice of bread and bowl on cereals of owners choice. And plus one hair I found in my cooked breakfast last day of leaving...
The lady owner is helpful with advice what to see, but thats only positive thing about this b&b.
I have stayed in quite few b&b's in UK, and this is the worst experience I had.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stopped here for 2 nights the house was clean the rooms spotless, nice breakfast in the morning , free parking around the back , and the woman that owns lovely woman cant do enough for you , will return ,, malky Mcnaughton

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here at the end of September. Really lovely little guest house, we stayed in room 3, it was a good size and very clean as was the rest of the house, the breakfast was very good and great having your own toaster on the table. The location is very good as its close to the shops and a nice walk down to the lake. plus there is parking out the back off the b&b which is a bonus. Evelyn who runs the guest house is a lovely lady very helpful and can not do enough to make your stay better. we really enjoyed are stay here and can not wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseekers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Really nice wee guest house. Lovely clean room. We were in room 3. Great size. Lovely breakfast in morning and having a toaster on each table is a brilliant idea. Handy for nice shops and restaurants.would defo stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindap1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here 20th August until the 23rd. Evelyn was away so we had murial looking after us, she was so nice and catered to our every need. The room was lovely and clean. Location is good and close enough to the lake to be able to walk there. Really enjoyed our stay, thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloean12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Beech House Guest House
Beech House Guest House
#76 of 107 in Windermere
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#29 of 107 in Windermere
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#62 of 107 in Windermere
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvegan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvegan Guest House

Address: Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £56 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing