We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunvegan Guest House
Ranked #64 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at dunvegan for a 2 night break recently it was in a good location near to pubs shops and restaurants bedroom was a little on the small size as was the bed but was clean and comfortable the owner evelyn was friendly and the breakfast was nice all in all not a 5 star but for a budget break is great

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillwoodhead72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    19
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
13
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We was welcomed at the front door after we parked around the back in the off road parking, she couldnt be more helpful and kind had plenty things to tell us about the area to do and see and also has wifi in the b&b. The weather was amazing the days we was there never wet. The only down fall for us was the mattress on the bed was like a hill top with a lump in the middle.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

booked for 2 night stay in windermere been to the area before but not stayed in windermere very warm welcome we got from evelyn the owner room was good size very cosy for what we needed. the breakfast was good too not too small just right too start the day off evelyn was very helpful and offered lots of advise on where to go we will stay again because we liked her quirkiness and smile.

Room Tip: room on front nice and light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had booked at the Dunvegan 8 months prior for the Great North Swim. Arrived at 1 o clock, 4 adults and 2 children. No answer at the door, so decided to have a coffee up the street, in the meantime phoned at least half a dozen times with no response. Walked back up to the guesthouse at 2.15, still no response at the door...walked to the rear and the window was open and the radio on. By this time is was about 2.30 and was starting to get a little nervous as the registration for the swim was at 3.30....knocked a few more times and rung several times with yet no response....knocked on neighbouring guest houses, one polite gent said that she may have nipped into town...knocked on another neighbouring guesthouse who said she had a couple of rooms available, but at extra cost...we had been in contact with the owner 1 month prior to confirm the rooms and originally booked for 2 nights, moving to one...in the end, I was dropped of for the swim in a rush, whilst the family and friends were left to organise alternative accommodation, which to be honest was well worth it....not a phone call from the owner to apologise or an explanation around not being there. Pretty disgusting as we had children with us. This weekend could have turned into a disaster....but went great, purely because of excellent family and friends......if the owner had taken other guests instead of us, a phone call would have been sufficient...will not use or recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Deepak J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I booked a weekend away to windemere as a suprise for my boyfriend, I knew I had booked the smallest room but we didnt have any problems with it, very cosy. Everything is very clean and tidy, it really was a pleasure to stay here! Evelyn was so lovely, very helpful and offered lots of advise on where to go and the best days out. Breakfast was cereal of the owners choice followed by a small cooked breakfast, again no problems. Some may find the portion sizes small but for me personally it was more than enough to keep me going until lunch time.
We would absolutely stay here again and are already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We (me and the girlfriend) got too the B&B around 17:00 ish on friday the 16th May 2014 after a long drive up from Manchester.
Hungry and tired we rang the doorbell and had a lovely, homely welcome; this cheered us up seeing a happy jolly face.
We was shown our room and given information about the B&B, local area, places to eat and drink.

We forgot some things from Manchester so we was shown the local shops.

There is parking to the rear of the B&B so this avoided parking on the road or the car park (this saved us a lot on money)

After getting dressed to go back out for food and drinks we was given a good list of places in the area, this gave us a chance to pick where to go knowing we will get good service. (HINT: Indian above the flower shop)

The bed was comfy and surprisingly big (we had a 3/4 bed)

The rooms were cleaned in the day to our surprise, we didn't expect that service! Thanks

(The only thing I noticed on the last day and I forgot to mention to the lady was the central heating boiler/hot water heater chimney was outside our bedroom window, a good investment will be a carbon dioxide alarm)

All in all it was a lovely weekend with an amazing cosy bed, and a brilliant breakfast!

Must stay again soon!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have stayed with Evelyn for 11yrs now and wouldn't stay any were else. Always welcoming a lovely breakfast that sets you up for the day. rooms are spotless, own coffee and tea making, central heating, telly, Evelyn is lovely and a friend now. We stay for a least a week every year. shower room is spotless new towels every day. bedding spotless. and our little dog is always made welcome. A central spot for exploring the Lake District, close to shops and cafes. Will be there again in June can't wait.

Room Tip: Best room is room 3 at front but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.4 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#27 of 108 in Windermere
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#42 of 108 in Windermere
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#66 of 108 in Windermere
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
0.1 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beech House Guest House
Beech House Guest House
#71 of 108 in Windermere
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunvegan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunvegan Guest House

Property: Dunvegan Guest House
Address: Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing