We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal family break in the Lakes”
Review of YHA Windermere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Windermere
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was our first experience as a family of a youth hostel and what a great family venue. From the warm welcome when we arrived to the willingness to help dig the car out of 6 inches of snow when we left, we couldn't have asked for any more. The grounds were a bonus with a fun orienteering trail and even a few wild deer. A great lounge area to warm up in and good home cooked food on the evening. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Wonderful hostel. Great for families and young people travelling. Recently refurbished. Very clean and tidy a real home feel. Very comfortable bed. Wonderful views from the dinning room especially in the morning. and meals are cheap and filling. Greatest part about our stay was the helpful staff. more than willing to help you with your local enquiries. We stayed for a three day weekend and we're able to do a mountain goat tour which picked up up from the hostel. We were also able to do a beautiful walk to Ambleside. Only possible draw back is no free wifii but internet prices are reasonable. And be prepared to walk a little bit (15mins to the bus stop). Busses in winter especially on sunday come only by the hour but the fact it's not on amain road adds to the charm and staff provide plently of direction and maps. Will recommend to everyone thinking about going to the Lakes District.

Room Tip: breakfast is cheap and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elizabeth551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just come home from a weekend at this hostel. Fantastic staff who went above what was required in terms of service.
Comfy rooms and good showers. Drying room big enough for a busy weekend.
Bar and food fantastic and good value.

Room Tip: Room 13 is a dorm but has en suite too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moldag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My family and I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights (Sat-Sun) in January. With 2 girls under the age of 4 there was always a thought in the back of our minds, "Have we done the right thing coming to a hostel?". It turned out to be simply fantastic.

I guess the quietness of the hostel at this time of year helped make our stay so comfortable as we were practically the only ones there. The girls had the whole place to themselves to explore without getting under peoples feet (literally). The hostel is just a couple of miles outside Windemere towards Troutbeck. It was easy enough to find and plenty of parking. It was freezing outside which made the place feel even cosier as we walked in to a lovely warm reception. The reception area also had a few sofas around a fire and plenty of books and games for the little ones.

We were given room 11. We opened the door and I must admit was slightly disappointed at first. It was small. A bunk on the wall to our left and another on the wall to our right with about 1.5 meters of space between them. I was hoping for more of a 'family' room as we had planned for our youngest daughter, only 20 months, to sleep in a double bed with us. But we looked out the window at the most amazing view of the hills and this lifted our spirits. We told ourselves it would be fine...and to be fair it was. The shower was directly opposite our room which made life easy. Everything was immaculately clean.

We had booked the Winter Family Magic deal which included a family room and a family feast for £29.95 per night (http://www.yha.org.uk/special-offers/winter-family-magic.aspx). The menu offered was basic. Pasta, pizza or chicken stew on the first night and the same on the second night but with added bangers and mash. First night we went for the pasta Bolognese which went down a treat and the second night went for the sausages...also a big hit, especially the wonderful cumberland sausages! Compliments to the chef. The bar/restaurant was a lovely area big enough to sit, I would say, 50 people. The views again were simply breathtaking and it was hard to put the camera down. On the second morning we were sat having breakfast and in the space of a few minutes we spotted a wood pecker, a squirrel hanging upside down from the nut feeder and a family of deer in the next field up. can't ask for much better over breakfast (I'm easily pleased). Kitchen was spotless and extremely well equipped. There was also a TV with a couple of soft chairs around a fire. Bar prices were reasonable; £2.50 for a bottle of beer and £9 for a bottle of wine. The Cappuccini were very nice too.

On the second day, we were provided with a 'Letter Trail' for the kids which took us on a short walk around the hostel looking for letters to then construct a word. The girls loved it and if they're happy we're happy!

All in all we had a wonderful time and the only reason I haven't given it 5 stars was for the size of our room. A larger, family, room would have been perfect.

The staff were great and always around to help. The girls ran around a LOT and they didn't make us feel like it was a problem. They made the place feel very homely which was exactly what we were hoping for.

We'll definitely be back again!

Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorenzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAWindermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2012

Hi Mr & Mrs 'Bazzone',

We're certainly very please to hear that you and your family had such a great time the other week here at YHA Windermere, and the Winter Family Magic Deal has proved to be very popular at this time of year.

I just wanted to point out that all our rooms (other than the two large dormitories) function as either family rooms, private rooms (say a group of adults that prefer not to share dorms), or we may even use them as dorms if the two large rooms fill up.

We do have one five bedded room, which is unique in our hostel because it has a double bed - with a single bunk bed above, and another set of bunk beds. This room features in some of our online photograghs, which possibly leads to a bit of confusion about what consitutes a family room.

Unfortunately that room was already occupied when you arrived, and so we allocated Room 11 because, as you say, the view is spectacular (the room with the double bed faces out over the driveway, so you can't see the lake.

I just wanted to assure you that you hadn't been 'short-changed', and we hope that you'll come back and stay with us again in the near future.

Regards,

Mic Whitty
Duty Manager
YHA Windermere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Had an excellent stay at the Windermere Youth Hostel. As well as being very clean, spacious and in a perfect setting the staff were fantastic and bent over backwards to help us. We had to add a person to our booking half way through the trip and despite being fully booked, they went out of their way to help and we managed to work out a way to make an extra bed. They also returned a set of headphones to my home address free of charge when they were lost in the room change. Despite YHA's being more expensive than they used to be, £15 a night for the excellent service and accommodation was nothing.

Room Tip: If there's a few of you book a private room to guarantee and snorless night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed here with my husband and young son for a couple of nights over half-term. The hostel is in a lovely setting with fantastic views and some great walks - the one from the hostel to Ambleside is well worth doing. We don't have a car and the hostel is perfectly accessible by public transport followed by a short walk.

The staff at the hostel were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We had a family room - two sets of bunk beds - which was clean and warm; the bed linen and the shared bathrooms were also impeccably clean. There is also a very useful drying room.

The hostel of course has cooking facilities but also serves some delicious evening meals at very reasonable prices and there is a bar selling wine and some good local beers. A good breakfast is also available from 7.30am.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed at YHA Winderemere during half term with my 3 children. I found Mic and Julie both vey helpful and our room was spotless. The youth hostel was really tastefully furnished - they are obviously very pround of their hostel. Nothing was too much bother to advise us on and we enjoyed the beautiful views from the dining room, birds and a deer. We'll definitely come back here next year. Lots of games for children to play and cheaper items for spending pocket money on. Perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
4.3 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
2.1 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
449 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
1.7 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#66 of 107 in Windermere
114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#61 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Windermere

Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck, Windermere LA23 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Windermere
Price Range: £27 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy panoramic views of the lake and mountains from one of the most spectacularly situated YHAs in England. Overlooking England’s largest natural lake, YHA Windermere offers the chance to stay in an idyllic countryside setting only 2miles from Windermere and its many attractions. An ideal base for anyone wanting to escape the crowds and perfect for activity breaks and family holidays – children love the large wooded grounds with trails and wildlife. Relax with a drink on the terrace and enjoy good quality food from our newly refurbished restaurant and bar. We're now home to some colourful new tipis and bell tents too, so you can wake up overlooking the fells! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing