We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, friendly, welcoming and homely.”
Review of YHA Windermere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Windermere
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb location, friendly, welcoming and homely.”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Fantastic location, great views over Lake Windermere and the surronding hills. Very good facilities, clean and good sized rooms. very reasonable rates and staff were very friendly and helped me change my bookings with minimal hassle. Bit loud however, if in a room above the communal areas.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not directly above from the communal areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    52
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
61
25
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We booked into this hostel for a last minute weekend away as somewhere that was cheap and available. At no point did we request anything special - just a couple of beds for the night. The guy running the place is exceptional. Both before we arrived and once on site he saught ways to improve our break.
I normally stay in hostels because they're a cheap way to stay where you want to be but service was so good that I'd struggle to justify staying anywhere else.

Exceptional.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

All excellent. Staff and food very good.
The only criticism (most people might not agree!) is that the hostel was too warm, despite the very cold weather outside. However, we found that in our room, we could turn the radiator off and open the window.
The view from the dining area is spectacular.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Amazing. Amazing .Amazing! Had the most fantastic few days here this half term. My first time and my husband trying to convert me and the children to Youth Hosteling, Goal achieved! Hospitality wonderful, incredibly clean and a lovely wholesome family atmosphere. Back to how family holidays should be. Thanks to all. The Ephgraves, Dorset. Feb 2013

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We have just returned from a 2 day visit, staying at Windermere yha and had a truly wonderful time. The family room was perfect and the winter warmer deal was amazing value for money. The food was great. Lots of choice and great for children and adults. Having a bar at yha was a new experience for us and we rose to the challenge- trying ( and failing!) to try each of the speciality beers. Our girls, 3 and 4 years, enjoyed the toys and coloring available and we enjoyed watching them play after walks in the fresh air. Staff were as lovely and helpful as all the reviews say. We will certainly be back very soon, thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Myself, my partner and our 6 year old son have just spent 2 nights at this youth hostel. The hostel is a very comfortable, clean and welcoming place to stay. The room was very clean and tidy with a wonderful view, our son loved sleeping in the top bunk. We had our breakfast and evening meals there, meals were tasty, on time(we booked a time for our evening meal) with the choice of starters and dessert at a reasonable price, there was a huge choice for breakfast including toast, fruit, cereals and fully cooked breakfast. We sat in the lounge in the evening, it was warming and relaxing, our son had plenty to keep him entertained and we could enjoy a drink from the bar. The staff were always there to help whenever needed, for example local walks and where to visit, we could have not asked for more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andypedalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We couldn't have asked for more from this smart and comfortable hostel. Lovely spacious room, everything clean and well cared-for, staff were friendly and chatty and there was plenty to keep the kids occupied. Well-placed for days out to Bowness or the Lake District Visitor Centre (on foot if the weather's nice) and with its own wooded grounds to explore, with the help of an orienteering handout if you choose. There was plenty of entertainment for the children - a good variety of board games, quizzes and treasure hunts. Breakfast was excellent, and the self-catering kitchen was clean and well-equipped.

Room Tip: Room 12 was above the dining room, so it had that fantastic view down to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAWindermere, Front Office Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Hi GemAimee,

So glad to hear that you and your family had a great time. We try our best to be chatty, happy, and not too sappy :-)
Angela has put a lot of effort in to get the bundle of activities for the kids (both indoor and outdoor) restocked and ready for the summer ahead.

Regards,
Mic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
391 reviews
4.2 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
4.8 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
118 reviews
12.3 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Windermere

Property: YHA Windermere
Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck, Windermere LA23 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake District is a truly beautiful part of the world but like many amazing places, it can get busy. If you want to get the best of the area without jostling with the crowds, head to Broad Oaks Country House Hotel. However, if they are full, then may as well stay here at this YHA. Only 2 miles from Windermere town centre and offering panoramic views, this spectacularly situated hostel is a real gem. There's a lovely pace of life here - great if you want to unwind. We recommend you take a walk through the large wooded grounds and look out for the wonderful inhabitant wildlife. At the end of the day simply relax and enjoy gorgeous sunsets with a drink on the terrace. You may love the mix of old and older as this diminishing hostel offers some of modern facilities to possibly ensure a reasonably comfortable and 'okay' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing