We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A prison-like experience in an idyllic setting” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Windermere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A prison-like experience in an idyllic setting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Fantastic views from this youth hostel let down by an 11.30 curfew, school-like policies, and rude staff. If you only want families to stay why not stipulate this? Bad choice for groups looking for a fun break despite the website description saying it is 'perfect for activity breaks'. Stayed at other youth hostels across this and other countries for similar breaks and found them much more accommodating.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RobL0ndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hello. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We welcome everyone at the hostel but do attract a high proportion of families and walkers, as well as those looking for a quieter location. We are generally relaxed with the rules but do have an 11.30 curfew for the benefit of others needing a quiet nights sleep. There is no excuse for staff rudeness though - you can ring and let me know if this was an issue, but most of our reviews comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of staff, and I can also vouch for them being a great team.
I'm glad you enjoyed our fantastic view - one of the best YHA views in the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    51
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
60
24
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Windermere YHA is one of the nicest, well appointed hostels that i have ever stayed in. It is a short walk away from windermere train station, which has plenty of trains daily from machester. The staff are very welcoming and accomodate many requests. The bar is well stocked, and the hostel has a good lounge area. YHA windermere is well reccomended as a first stop off on a walking holiday, or as a good base for a family adventure trip around windermere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Having stayed in a number of hostels across Europe over several years, this is by some margin the best. Very good food and nice restaurant generally. Rooms are clean and plenty of showers for sharing etc. Perfect location if you are off walking. Thoroughly recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim0n1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
392 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Arrived later in the evening via taxi from Windermere station (12 pounds). Very welcoming check in, friendly staff all around.

Had a lovely Indian meal and a few beers before settling in to our private 6 bedded room. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

There were 5 guys on a walking trip and we did find the room a bit snug but managed to get all of our kit into the room and sort it out so it worked for that evening. If we had used the room for more than one night and had wet gear we would probably have considered splitting up into 2 rooms.

We chose this property because of it's location on Troutbeck and for the start of the Wainwright Memorial Walk. It may be a bit out of town if one wanted to go into Windermere on a regular basis but was perfect for us.

All the staff we met and dealt with were very accommodating, friendly, cheerful and helpful.

I look forward to staying at this hostel again. A job well done by all. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I returned to Youth Hostelling, after 20 years this weekend with a two night trip to YHA Windermere this time with my husband and two children. The hostel was comfortable and welcoming and there were lots of things to keep the children interested including toys, books and a quiz to spot items around the hostel. The breakfast was great and the evening meal delicious. All the staff were helpful and friendly.
We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahawsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hostel has the most splendid and idyllic location. I stayed for 4 nights in September 2013. My bedroom provided panoramic views of the glorious lakes district. It's perfect if, like me, you love wondering around the country time or if you have a car. It's quite a trek from the train station, so if you have luggage I recommend jumping in a cab, otherwise it's quite a lovely 45 min walk. The dining and kitchen have fantastic views. The staff are lovely! The facilities are always clean. You have the option of self catering or paying for a meal to be served to you, they have an extensive menu providing for all tastes and kids eat free! There is also a bar. I enjoyed spending my evenings curled up on a couch reading my book with a glass of wine. There are plenty of walks to do from this location, remember to bring a rain coat though! If you ask the day before, they will make a picnic lunch for you to take on your adventure! Cute! I wouldn't recommend this for travellers who want to go out drinking at night. It's very chill here. There's a 11:30 curfew, but stay in and drink here! Plenty of nice people to chat to at the bar! It's worth becoming a YHA member to get free wifi and save every night you stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for a great review! Its also a good tip about the wi fi. YHA now offer free wi fi to YHA members so it's often worth joining - this also gives you a discount on every night you stay in a YHA and local discounts too....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

When I checked in, I asked if I could have a take away breakfast on the day of departure but the man said he wasn't sure if this could be done. He offered me a packed lunch instead, this is something I didn't really want. Who would want a packed lunch for breakfast? I also said I would be leaving early, this is why I wanted a take away breakfast and I felt I was being interrogated to why I wanted to leave early! My coach left at 8.55 am and I planned to walk to the station to catch it so I wanted to allow plenty of time as I did not want to miss it!!! I had my luggage with me as well. I was informed it was 2-3 miles to the station. I could not afford a taxi and the buses at that time of the morning were at inconvenient times.

I was also told to take a free bed, I thought this was a strange to say. I am an experienced hosteller and I have never taken someone else's bed.

The day before I left I found out that a take away breakfast was being advertised on a blackboard! So I went back to ask the girl on reception if I could change my packed lunch to a packed breakfast and this man came out and dealt with me. I was made to feel like I was causing a nuisance, I was left feeling really upset. I feel it was poor service!

If you can't offer something, then paint over it. There is blackboard paint available from hardware shops!

On the day of departure, my packed lunch was not ready so I had to wait for it to be made even though I had said I need to leave early. It could have been left in the self catering kitchen the night before! I found the lady who dealt with me was quite abrupt, almost to the point of being rude.

I will admit the young girl on reception was very friendly and helpful so was the Indian man and the man with the sideburns. They were more than helpful and went out of their way to help!


.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Hello. I am so sorry you were disappointed with your request for a packed breakfast - we do offer these and I am sorry if you were given a different impression at Reception. The member of staff at Reception was trying to be helpful in checking what you would like it to include, and again in asking what time you were leaving (we usually offer to book a taxi for early departures) and in helping you choose a bed.
I have made sure that all staff are aware that we do provide packed breakfasts and also that picnic lunches can be made available at night for anyone leaving early in the morning. We appreciate your feedback on this.
I do hope that this issue didn't spoil your stay with us as we genuinely hope all guests have a great stay and come back to us soon!
Thanks again for your feedback, Julie (Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
5.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.1 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 22 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.9 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
YHA Coniston Holly How
YHA Coniston Holly How
#4 of 9 in Coniston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.8 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
12.3 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Windermere

Property: YHA Windermere
Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck, Windermere LA23 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake District is a truly beautiful part of the world but like many amazing places, it can get busy. If you want to get the best of the area without jostling with the crowds, head to Broad Oaks Country House Hotel. However, if they are full, then may as well stay here at this YHA. Only 2 miles from Windermere town centre and offering panoramic views, this spectacularly situated hostel is a real gem. There's a lovely pace of life here - great if you want to unwind. We recommend you take a walk through the large wooded grounds and look out for the wonderful inhabitant wildlife. At the end of the day simply relax and enjoy gorgeous sunsets with a drink on the terrace. You may love the mix of old and older as this diminishing hostel offers some of modern facilities to possibly ensure a reasonably comfortable and 'okay' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing