We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant views and great food”
Review of YHA Windermere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Windermere
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The outside of the building at YHA Windermere is a very plain design, even drab, but don't let that put you off. The surrounding gardens and landscape are beautiful, and the view from the dining room of the Lake District mountains is amazing.
The staff are very helpful and welcoming. I don't agree with RobLondon's review - the staff could not have been more welcoming to our walking group.
I would recommend that you order the breakfasts and evening meals as the food here is of very high quality. A three course evening meal and drink for £11.95 is an absolute bargain.
Note that the hostel is actually 2 miles from Windermere railway station and three quarters of a mile from the nearest bus stop. If you are travelling by public transport and have heavy bags to carry you may be best using Ambleside hostel where buses stop outside.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVBKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thanks for a great review and kind comments! For anyone buying a 2- or 3-course meal over the winter YHA is offering a free lager, glass of wine or soft drink, so it is a fantastic offer.
Glad you enjoyed the views - we've had some spectacular sunsets recently and it's well worth the effort to get off the beaten track. Taxis also meet trains at the station and are reasonably priced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for YHA Windermere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids aged 10 & 8) have stayed at this youth hostel 3 times this year and each time we have had a brilliant experience. The staff are warm and friendly, there is a great range of activities on site ( lots of games for wet Lake District evenings, and a beautiful woodland trail that kids easily explore themselves). The rooms and bathroom facilities are always clean, and the staff do a brilliant job of managing this interesting and quirky building. The breakfasts are thoroughly recommended. But best of all is the AMAZING view from the dining room window - not to be missed. This is a gem of a youth hostel, made all the more enjoyable by the wonderful staff. Thank you guys!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoosanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for a great review - we really appreciate it! Hope you can visit us again soon! Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Fantastic views from this youth hostel let down by an 11.30 curfew, school-like policies, and rude staff. If you only want families to stay why not stipulate this? Bad choice for groups looking for a fun break despite the website description saying it is 'perfect for activity breaks'. Stayed at other youth hostels across this and other countries for similar breaks and found them much more accommodating.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank RobL0ndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHAWindermere, Manager at YHA Windermere, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We welcome everyone at the hostel but do attract a high proportion of families and walkers, as well as those looking for a quieter location. We are generally relaxed with the rules but do have an 11.30 curfew for the benefit of others needing a quiet nights sleep. There is no excuse for staff rudeness though - you can ring and let me know if this was an issue, but most of our reviews comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of staff, and I can also vouch for them being a great team.
I'm glad you enjoyed our fantastic view - one of the best YHA views in the country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Windermere YHA is one of the nicest, well appointed hostels that i have ever stayed in. It is a short walk away from windermere train station, which has plenty of trains daily from machester. The staff are very welcoming and accomodate many requests. The bar is well stocked, and the hostel has a good lounge area. YHA windermere is well reccomended as a first stop off on a walking holiday, or as a good base for a family adventure trip around windermere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dasal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Having stayed in a number of hostels across Europe over several years, this is by some margin the best. Very good food and nice restaurant generally. Rooms are clean and plenty of showers for sharing etc. Perfect location if you are off walking. Thoroughly recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sim0n1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Arrived later in the evening via taxi from Windermere station (12 pounds). Very welcoming check in, friendly staff all around.

Had a lovely Indian meal and a few beers before settling in to our private 6 bedded room. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

There were 5 guys on a walking trip and we did find the room a bit snug but managed to get all of our kit into the room and sort it out so it worked for that evening. If we had used the room for more than one night and had wet gear we would probably have considered splitting up into 2 rooms.

We chose this property because of it's location on Troutbeck and for the start of the Wainwright Memorial Walk. It may be a bit out of town if one wanted to go into Windermere on a regular basis but was perfect for us.

All the staff we met and dealt with were very accommodating, friendly, cheerful and helpful.

I look forward to staying at this hostel again. A job well done by all. Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I returned to Youth Hostelling, after 20 years this weekend with a two night trip to YHA Windermere this time with my husband and two children. The hostel was comfortable and welcoming and there were lots of things to keep the children interested including toys, books and a quiz to spot items around the hostel. The breakfast was great and the evening meal delicious. All the staff were helpful and friendly.
We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarahawsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
440 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
163 reviews
2.1 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Windermere

Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck, Windermere LA23 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Windermere
Price Range: £20 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake District is a truly beautiful part of the world but like many amazing places, it can get busy. If you want to get the best of the area without jostling with the crowds, head to Broad Oaks Country House Hotel. However, if they are full, then may as well stay here at this YHA. Only 2 miles from Windermere town centre and offering panoramic views, this spectacularly situated hostel is a real gem. There's a lovely pace of life here - great if you want to unwind. We recommend you take a walk through the large wooded grounds and look out for the wonderful inhabitant wildlife. At the end of the day simply relax and enjoy gorgeous sunsets with a drink on the terrace. You may love the mix of old and older as this diminishing hostel offers some of modern facilities to possibly ensure a reasonably comfortable and 'okay' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your YHA Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing