We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holly Lodge Guest House
Ranked #32 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dumfries and Galloway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at Holly Lodge with my family a few weeks ago. The place is well situated in a quiet street but only minutes walk from the town, shops, restaurants and cafes. It was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were great. Diane was friendly and helpful and Aggie was lovely! It was good to have the use of a very comfortable guest lounge and the parking at the rear of Holly Lodge was a bonus. I would definitely recommend Holly Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    40
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
96
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I spent five nights here exploring the Lake District and were more that pleased with our experience.: Dianne, the owner and hostess, is friendly and welcoming, and her assistant, a young German woman, is cheerful and efficient. I witnessed their patience with troublesome guests, and was the recipient of their efficiency and kindness throughout our stay. When I reported a problem with our TV at breakfast, there was another one in the room by lunchtime. It was a Saturday and she apologized that she could not get a new one in until Mon. evening. We weren't there to watch TV, but I was impressed with her concern that we could miss World Cup action. The new TV was there by Mon. eve, as promised.and she gave us guest of the week award (a bottle of Buck's Fizz) for being patient.
The rooms are a bit small but tastefully decorated and priced according to size. The place is impeccably clean and the bed was comfy. As a base for exploring the Lake District, it is also quite convenient, about 5 minutes from the Bowness ferry, a minute from the road that runs north and south on the western side of Lake Windermere, and convenient to buses that service all the local lake towns. Parking is free on the property if you choose to drive in the area.
Breakfast is a downright feast, starting with a cold buffet of cereals, cake, fruit, yogurt, and juices to choose from, followed by a hot breakfast you order the night before. This includes eggs, bacon, sausage, black pudding, and fried tomatos and mushrooms as well as ample toast and jam. The price is competitive with other area B&Bs, and certainly worth it. We loved this place, and we would happily return. Thanks Dianne.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZTVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights during July 2014. Room, location, breakfast, owner and staff all first class.
Cannot recommend highly enough. Will definitely return again in the near future. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMJArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

You simply can't beat Holly Lodge for the price we paid, the location is great and it has parking spaces. We had just a standard room as we only stayed one night and it was much more than adequate, decorated to a high standard and very tasteful. The bed is very comfy and the linens are lovely quality.

Staff seemed lovely and the breakfast was marvelous. What more do you need.

The shower pressure was good and the toiletries provided were nice aswell, if you are wanting to stay in Windermere village, I can't think of a better place for value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallgeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed at holly lodge for 2 nights in the family suite the rooms, breakfast choice, customer service and location is all brilliant. Highly recommended , and definitely looking to book again! Thankyou x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Diane was very welcoming and obliging on our arrival and the room (or rooms as we had a two bedroom unit) was very comfortable and very neat. It was very well situated for walking up into the main area of Windermere where there were good cafés for tea. Breakfast each morning was excellent with a good variety of cold and hot fare available. We found a brochure for a tour of the district on a shelf and this was easy to book and to be picked up from the Holly Lodge because of its central location. A wonderful place to stay and we would readily stay there again.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

It was one of the rarest experience of trust, where we got the key to the whole place with our name written on it.
Since there was no one , we left our luggage and went out....After couple of hours on getting back we met our host. ...what a lovely lady !..Diane is a very warm host and the way the house is done up...it is lovely and cozy.
Next day the breakfast was really great no wonder they have the best breakfast award.....on last day of our stay we got to taste her home made banana walnut cake....and it was yummy mm.
Would recommend highly.....she and her staff really make your stay pleasurable. We are fans of bed and breakfasts ...and nd this was one of the best experiences...would love to try her other rooms on next stay:-)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aryamitsonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#20 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#28 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#29 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#51 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#25 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Lodge Guest House

Property: Holly Lodge Guest House
Address: 6 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holly Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hotel Windermere
Holly Lodge Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing