We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service better than the food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumours - CLOSED

Rumours
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Northumbria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Service better than the food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The restaurant is pleasant enough, the service not bad (though we were initially over charged by £30 - which was cleared up quickly).

We went for pizza and garlic bread plus wine, for two this came out a shade under £40. Neither of us really enjoyed the pizzas which seemed to be topped with pre=prepared bought in ingredients. Whether this was right or not, they just didn't seem freshly made with the dried herb toppings heavily dominating both pizzas.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HSBsMIssus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    5
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Our favourite restaurant when we visit Bowness. Beautiful food every time with a lovely romantic atmosphere. Very nice, prompt staff and reasonable prices

Helpful?
Thank catherine214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We decide to eat here last minute and we are so glad that we did. As you arrive there is an area for your coats. (Handy!)

The atmosphere was perfect, very romantic considering we were celebrating our engagement.

The staff were warm and welcoming. Attentive but not over the top.

Drinks were very reasonable priced. I had a bottle of rose and it was kept on the table in a bottle cooler ( nice touch!)

Food: fantastic! Please see the pictures. Myself and my partner both opted for a steak for main. Cooked to perfection.

We shall return!

Helpful?
Thank JSPHILLIPS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic little meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The meal was lovely, service was wonderful. We went for my boyfriends birthday and really enjoyed it! I had pasta as a started and we shared a pizza, both of which were delicious. The bill was about 30 pound and we both had a few drinks so definitely good value, in addition the atmosphere was wonderful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Finty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Good food good wine list polite staff. I liked the variety in the menu. On my visit one lady sent a meal back said the pasta was dry, she then sent her pizza back said it was burnt she ate the ice cream, guess you cannot please every body. I thought it was good value for money

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawnpaul206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rumours also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing