We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and classy”
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Ranked #12 of 76 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$42 - US$55
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table dhote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar and take in the views of the nearby Lake Windermere before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and classy”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

3rd place to eat on our 3 night stay and food exceptional. Traditional and staff good fun. A quiet restaurant and quite intimate, A place for a special occasion and again best to book in advance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent evening at Cedar Manor, we are pleased that you enjoyed your evening and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the Lakes.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    28
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy restaurant”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The restaurant is in a small hotel. Nice big house with beautiful garden and we saw cherry blossom! The food is good with nice presentation. If you arrived early, there is a holding area and they will serve you drinks and some snacks. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your visit to Cedar Manor for dinner. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and grounds prior to eating and then enjoyed your meal.
We hope you keep the good memories for a while longer!
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Second visit and it didn't disappoint.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The service here really is second to none - thank you for another fantastic evening! Very good food and good value overall. Great decor (things have changed a little since we last visited - love the bombay sapphire chandelier and bespoke wallpaper) and had such a lovely relaxing few drinks after dinner. Really like this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rcw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your latest visit to the restaurant at Cedar Manor. We are very pleased that you came back and saw the changes and enjoyed your latest dinner.
We hope you wont leave it so long before your next visit.
Thanks again for taking the time to review your visit.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I went to several restaurants in London, Warwick and Lake District . This is the only one that I am so impressed. Good food and service . The newly renovated lounge actually is very modern. But you have a choice to sit either there or the original lounge before dinner. Not too many choices on menu but what do u expect for a small restaurant like this?
You won't be disappointed with their wine list which has wine from different countries.

Helpful?
Thank Nyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review you evening in the restaurant at Cedar Manor. We are delighted with your comments. Very pleased to read that the dinner at Cedar Manor was your most memorable.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around the UK and hope to welcome you back to the Lake District again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss about!?”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I'm baffled by the good reviews of this hotel/restaurant!?

We went there for a meal there a few days ago and were ushered into a lounge area by reception which would not have looked out of place in the 1960s. It had a large central light with several dozen pieces of blue glass/plastic (?) hanging from its frame; there was a flame effect electric fire in the corner and wallpaper that was tricked up (very unconvincingly) to look like it was a bookcase. Poor first impression but, on the plus side, our order was taken promptly and efficiently and we were served some rather bland hors d'oeuvres with our drinks.

The restaurant itself was quite cramped and very dark (I couldn't even see the keys on the credit card reader!), presumably to enhance the romantic experience?

The menu was fairly limited and the food itself was distinctly average. It included a ribeye steak of rather poor quality, according to my partner.

I would not fault the service which was courteous and friendly without being obtrusive. The size of the bill may have matched the chef's ambitions but not his achievements, in our view.

I could not comment on the hotel itself which may have made up for this disappointment but I can think of several other restaurants in the area that I would recommend ahead of this one, particularly for a special occasion.......

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hunky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks very much for your lengthy critique our restaurant. We have to say we are a little surprised, we know that you weren't impressed with the candlelit ambience fo the dining room but are very surprised to read your feedback on the decor and food.
The newly refurbished reception room has been designed by in internationally award winning interior designer who is based right here in Windermere. We commissioned the chandelier, of course the design isn't going to be everyone's taste.
A fine dining restaurant tends to have a limited menu, its the only way of keeping it freshly prepared and seasonal. A longer menu will often indicate to a guest that frozen produce is being served via a microwave.
We are sorry that Cedar Manor wasn't for you, but as you have read, its greatly appreciated by many others.
Best regards
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing