We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Cedar Manor

Cedar Manor
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$42 - US$54
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: First built in 1854 as a private country retreat and housing an unmissable 200 year old cedar tree in its grounds, tradition and a sense of place are important to both the look and the food at The Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant. You will find Cedar Manor offers a seasonally changing a la carte and table dhote menu of classic British food on which all produce is sourced from providers based in the surrounding Lake District. Open to guests and non-residents, one might want to relax with a book in the cosy hotel bar and take in the views of the nearby Lake Windermere before taking a seat in the restaurant which has been awarded 2 AA Rosettes.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went for a lovely meal, despite not staying as guests.

We started in the bar area before moving into the restaurant. The food was divine and the service exceptional. Meant for a truly special evening.

Thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Abbe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing your evening at Cedar Manor, just delighted with your comments and we hope you will return on your next visit to Windermere, perhaps even stay next time...
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    28
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Manor House”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wow! When we pulled into the drive- one look told us we were in a special place. A gorgeous meticulously kept English Manor! Beautiful grounds with lovely places to sit and enjoy a cup of tea or glass of wine. The inside is delightful with exquisite attention to detail. Our room was on the first floor and was lovely, quiet and comfortable. The lounge area was nicely done with soft chairs and sofas to relax on and have a drink. The dining room was quite nice as well. Perfect for a romantic dinner. The food was fabulous so we ate there both nights for dinner. The food was fresh and the menu interesting. Nice vegetarian options are always big with us. It was pricey but worth it to have a wonderful meal! The room came with a full breakfast which was cooked to perfection.
There is a room between the lounge and dining room that was fun to sit in. Blue lighting, comfy seats, nice music. Love the chandelier!
Patricia and the rest of the staff was awesome and always available for anything you might need. So nice! The owners Jonathan and Caroline were delightful and had lots of tips on places to go. Everyone made us feel at home!
We plan to come back and stay more than 2 days. Such a pretty place to find yourself.
Tip-the 20 min walk to the lake is quaint and beautiful. I loved walking to the lake but the walk up was steep.
There s so much to see around here- even in the rain.
It was nice to meet Basil the pup and her young owner "E":)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. We are delighted that you enjoyed the dinners, especially the vegetarian choices. We are always able to provide alternative main courses for those who are staying more than one night.
We hope you are able to return to the Lakes one day.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a real small hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

stayed last week 3 nights a spotlessly clean hotel with top quality food prepared by REAL CHEFS both morning and night this is high quality small hotel not a B&B run by caroline and jonathan you wont find better hosts anywhere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Cedar Manor. Delighted with such a positive review, really pleased that you enjoyed the Hotel and restaurant.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a fantastic meal here with friends , the restaurant is very special with excellent food and service and great value for money, one of the best restaurants I have been to for excellent quality food and service , staff very friendly . If in Windermere you must go you will not be disappointed . Would love to stay here one day it is beautiful .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for reviewing you recent evening at Cedar Manor, we are delighted that you enjoyed the meal and the hotel.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Absolutely magnificent”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have been to a few restaurants in Windermere and bowness and this cedar manor is by far the best we have been to. Exceptional food, exceptional service, lovely staff and great value for money based on quality and service. Will definitely be back. Lovely end to a great week. Would definitely recommend

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravellers8A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CedarManor, Owner at Cedar Manor, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your brilliant review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your final evening in the Lakes at Cedar Manor and hope to see you all again soon.
Best wishes
Caroline and Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cedar Manor also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Cedar Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing