We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice - and the little 'extras' make it even better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly-Wood Guest House
Ranked #55 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Nice - and the little 'extras' make it even better.”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We were lucky to find accomodations in WIndermere as we were late booking for the holiday weekend. The Holly-Wood Guest House was the most reasonably priced among the few establishments with vacancies for the days we wanted.

The hosts went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They provided ample local information, including the loan of area maps. The freshly prepared breakfast was served from 8:30 - 9:30, in a lovely room that overlooked the small garden with bird feeders.

While not spacious, the room was adequately sized for two with luggage. The bath, again not spacious, was clean and functional

Holly-Wood is an easy walk to Windermere and about a mile from the lakefront WIndermere-on-Bowness, yet it's on a quiet street away from traffic noise.

Perhaps the best feature was the availabilty of a refrigerator in the breakfast room. Guests are free to chill their beverages, or keep snacks. It's a great convenience.

Holly-Wood Guest House would be a great choice as a home base while visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HomeGoneHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
72
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

This B&B is spotless & welcoming. Everything about the place is fantastic. The breakfasts were brilliant. Yana & Ian were warm, friendly & very helpful which made for a very enjoyable stay. Can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

lovely small b & b in the centre of windermere, very attentive hosts,nice comfortable room, very clean, very nice breakfast, very good value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevestoke24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

4th visit i think that says it all. Very good food, great location and friendly people.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pward09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
172 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I have reviewed this before as I visited a while ago.
This time we rented the whole property, with my good friends and partner.
They all loved it as much as I did, Ian and Yana were again very accomodating, and the breakfast was to die for.
We all visited the local pubs and went fell walking. We also had a great evening meal at a local restaurant after hiking the very nearby Orest Head for sunset.
The Lake District is such an amazing place that in my opinion is a little piece of British paradise

Thank you again Ian and Yana we will be back after our travels

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awanderingmemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly_Wood_10, Owner at Holly-Wood Guest House, responded to this review, 25 January 2011
Thanks very much for your lovely review, it was great to see you again, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Holly Wood House is the a very comfortable and welcoming place to spend a holiday with Ian and Yana exactly the right people to make one feel at home. Nothing is too much trouble and the breakfasts enough to sustain one for the whole day. The complimentary toiletries, tea bags and delicious biscuits are of the highest quality. We very much enjoyed our week's break there and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monigol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

On our second visit we still find charming. Very clean and excellent breakfast. Excellent location as 5 mins walk to town shops. Parking not a problem. Would highly recomend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pward09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#22 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#15 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#9 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly-Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly-Wood Guest House

Property: Holly-Wood Guest House
Address: Hollywood Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly-Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holly-Wood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly-Wood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing