We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chocolate bunnies and other goodies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly-Wood Guest House
Ranked #53 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“chocolate bunnies and other goodies”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

just stayed here for 5 nights from fri 29/3 - wed 3/4. stayed in room 5 which is small but cosy with an amazing power shower to relieve all the pain from climbing the stairs to our room lol
our hosts ian and yana are very warm and friendly and very welcoming .
yana made hot cross buns and croissants and cakes which where a nice treat.
even had chocolate bunnies on easter sunday yumm.
breakfast was very nice with plenty of variety.
a great location to all that windermere has to offer with a homely atmosphere.
many thanks emma and stewart

Room Tip: room 5 is small and at top of the building with only high windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamLass25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
72
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MALTA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Ian and Yana are a sweet couple that make your stay a lot comfortable, lovely place, cleanliness, cosy rooms, great breakfast, always found a little treat in our room. On Easter day Yana prepared some delicious home made hot cross buns......what else do you need in a holiday.....Recommended
Pitty today is our last day.....will miss a lot this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davmifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My elderly parents and I enjoyed a lovely stay here. Help with bags up to our rooms, we were made very welcome. Lovely breakfast with great variety to suit any taste. Great advice on eating places locally. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayeyed 2 nights,if we hadn't made plans for the second day and evening we would have gone home after breakfast that first morning.We booked a superior room.it was in the attic,no offer to help with bags up the 3 steep staircases.no room to swing a cat.There was not enough room in the wardrobe for 2 peoples clothes for 2 days!Very poor bathroom and decor.the shower had no pressure and there wasn't a bath.The room was so small,dark[inadequate lighting] and cold.Asmall radiator which was not effective as thete was no double glazing.
Breakfast,Yana made such a fuss when we arrives aboit what she offered for breakfast,it was vey disapointing.The crokery was'child size'the bacon ans sausages had been kept warm for a time and were so hard you couldn't cut them,yet the breakfast was cold,the toast hardly seen the toaster/grill.Tea and coffee -cheap.the second day we couldn't face the breakfast.We couldn't get out of thetre quick enough.Reading other comments from guests we do not know what standard of accomadation and food they are used to but it must be very very poor.

Room Tip: Don't stay there/if you are looking for value for money there are much better B and B's in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
455 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

My wife, daughter and myself stayed two nights at this wonderful guest house in early November 2012. The room we had was certainly big enough for the three of us with a well-appointed bathroom. It was immediately obvious, upon arrival that Yana and Ian, not only take great pride in their house, but also genuinely enjoy sharing it with others. Our room was immaculate, as was the whole establishment. Yana and Ian were absolutely wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble to them. They made us feel right at home, were helpful in making suggestions of what to do and see and where to eat. Upon returning from a day's sightseeing we were pleasantly surprised to have been left a gift of muffins and biscuits in our room.
Windermere, the Lakes District and its surrounding towns and villages is a magnificent part of the world. Our time there was made just that little bit more special from having stayed at Holly-Wood Guest House.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phillip8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights Friday 5th & Saturday 6th October. Ian and Yana were the perfect hosts and offered invaluable tips and advice of the area.Nothing was too much trouble for them.Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast itself was worth the trip and was certainly substantial, even for a days walking. I will certainly be staying here again when visiting the Lakes. Thanks again Ian & Yana for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have recently stayed here for 2 nights. We usually stay in hotels, but were visiting the area for a family occasion and just wanted somewhere local and convenient to sleep. Took a while to park, road busy and some of cars parked very selfishly by their owners. There was parking around the park but it wasn't suggested to us so guess may have been full. Ian showed us to our room, which was small but clean and ample for our needs. My only complaint would be that there was no light by the bedroom mirror, and it wasn't close to any natural light so I had to stand in bathroom to put makeup on which wasn't ideal when someone else was wanting the bathroom. Our hosts were very friendly, breakfast was plentiful and there was a wide range of choices. Ideal for people wanting the b & b experience and would recommend it to others

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbodymidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#65 of 108 in Windermere
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 108 in Windermere
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
1 Park Road
1 Park Road
#38 of 108 in Windermere
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ellerthwaite Lodge
#48 of 108 in Windermere
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#7 of 108 in Windermere
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly-Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly-Wood Guest House

Property: Holly-Wood Guest House
Address: Hollywood Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly-Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holly-Wood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly-Wood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing