We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, decent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly-Wood Guest House
Ranked #48 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We spent two nights here and found the place to be warm and friendly, accommodating and very clean. Our room was a good size, although the bathroom was cramped. Ian and Yana were very genial hosts and made us feel at home from the minute we arrived. The breakfasts were good with a variety of locally produced foods on offer. I would recommend this as a great place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westonjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

Recently I had to undertake a two week work course in Windermere. I searched the web for B&B accommodations near to the training facility, and immediately liked the look of the Holly-Wood Guest House. I arrived and was immediately made welcome by the hosts Ian & Yana. The single room was perfect and immaculately clean with a plate of home made cakes as a welcome. The food was very good with more than ample servings. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would look to book here on any future business courses before looking elsewhere. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this part of the Lake District.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickT550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed in early April 2013. We found our hosts to be very welcoming and accommodating when we had a problem. We enjoyed being spoilt by Yana's cooking and ian was very informative about local facilities. The premises were clean and pleasantly decorated (bathroom very good). Just what we needed for our particular trip. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

just stayed here for 5 nights from fri 29/3 - wed 3/4. stayed in room 5 which is small but cosy with an amazing power shower to relieve all the pain from climbing the stairs to our room lol
our hosts ian and yana are very warm and friendly and very welcoming .
yana made hot cross buns and croissants and cakes which where a nice treat.
even had chocolate bunnies on easter sunday yumm.
breakfast was very nice with plenty of variety.
a great location to all that windermere has to offer with a homely atmosphere.
many thanks emma and stewart

Room Tip: room 5 is small and at top of the building with only high windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamLass25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Ian and Yana are a sweet couple that make your stay a lot comfortable, lovely place, cleanliness, cosy rooms, great breakfast, always found a little treat in our room. On Easter day Yana prepared some delicious home made hot cross buns......what else do you need in a holiday.....Recommended
Pitty today is our last day.....will miss a lot this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davmifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My elderly parents and I enjoyed a lovely stay here. Help with bags up to our rooms, we were made very welcome. Lovely breakfast with great variety to suit any taste. Great advice on eating places locally. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayeyed 2 nights,if we hadn't made plans for the second day and evening we would have gone home after breakfast that first morning.We booked a superior room.it was in the attic,no offer to help with bags up the 3 steep staircases.no room to swing a cat.There was not enough room in the wardrobe for 2 peoples clothes for 2 days!Very poor bathroom and decor.the shower had no pressure and there wasn't a bath.The room was so small,dark[inadequate lighting] and cold.Asmall radiator which was not effective as thete was no double glazing.
Breakfast,Yana made such a fuss when we arrives aboit what she offered for breakfast,it was vey disapointing.The crokery was'child size'the bacon ans sausages had been kept warm for a time and were so hard you couldn't cut them,yet the breakfast was cold,the toast hardly seen the toaster/grill.Tea and coffee -cheap.the second day we couldn't face the breakfast.We couldn't get out of thetre quick enough.Reading other comments from guests we do not know what standard of accomadation and food they are used to but it must be very very poor.

Room Tip: Don't stay there/if you are looking for value for money there are much better B and B's in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
Rum Doodle Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 107 in Windermere
670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#65 of 107 in Windermere
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#24 of 107 in Windermere
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 107 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#97 of 107 in Windermere
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly-Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly-Wood Guest House

Address: Hollywood Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £74 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly-Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holly-Wood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly-Wood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing