We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place - must visit:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holly-Wood Guest House
Ranked #52 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Oulunsalo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place - must visit:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This B&B is just lovely. Yana and Ian welcomed us and from the very beginng we felt like home. We stayed 5 nights and must say, that Windermere is ideal place to discover Lake District. We travelled all around this lovely area like Carlisle and Maryport which can be reached in a few hours. We recommend that you borrow Ian`s Maps and take a walk to surrounded hills. We will absolutely visit Holly-Wood guest house again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PekkaKahkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
71
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We spent two nights here and found the place to be warm and friendly, accommodating and very clean. Our room was a good size, although the bathroom was cramped. Ian and Yana were very genial hosts and made us feel at home from the minute we arrived. The breakfasts were good with a variety of locally produced foods on offer. I would recommend this as a great place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westonjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Recently I had to undertake a two week work course in Windermere. I searched the web for B&B accommodations near to the training facility, and immediately liked the look of the Holly-Wood Guest House. I arrived and was immediately made welcome by the hosts Ian & Yana. The single room was perfect and immaculately clean with a plate of home made cakes as a welcome. The food was very good with more than ample servings. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would look to book here on any future business courses before looking elsewhere. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in this part of the Lake District.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickT550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed in early April 2013. We found our hosts to be very welcoming and accommodating when we had a problem. We enjoyed being spoilt by Yana's cooking and ian was very informative about local facilities. The premises were clean and pleasantly decorated (bathroom very good). Just what we needed for our particular trip. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the B&B for two nights recently. Hoteliers are both approachable and friendly, very welcoming.
I had a single room which on reflection would pay for a double next time but cannot fault the breakfast (there was plenty of it!), the cleanliness, location, flexibility of hoteliers to meet my needs, advice given by them on places to go, comfy bed, use of local products.
Very much enjoyed it, certainly would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

just stayed here for 5 nights from fri 29/3 - wed 3/4. stayed in room 5 which is small but cosy with an amazing power shower to relieve all the pain from climbing the stairs to our room lol
our hosts ian and yana are very warm and friendly and very welcoming .
yana made hot cross buns and croissants and cakes which where a nice treat.
even had chocolate bunnies on easter sunday yumm.
breakfast was very nice with plenty of variety.
a great location to all that windermere has to offer with a homely atmosphere.
many thanks emma and stewart

Room Tip: room 5 is small and at top of the building with only high windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamLass25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALTA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Ian and Yana are a sweet couple that make your stay a lot comfortable, lovely place, cleanliness, cosy rooms, great breakfast, always found a little treat in our room. On Easter day Yana prepared some delicious home made hot cross buns......what else do you need in a holiday.....Recommended
Pitty today is our last day.....will miss a lot this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davmifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.0 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#22 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#15 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly-Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly-Wood Guest House

Property: Holly-Wood Guest House
Address: Hollywood Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly-Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Holly-Wood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly-Wood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing