We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was our 9th visit probably says it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holly-Wood Guest House
Ranked #53 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“This was our 9th visit probably says it all”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Again lovely stay
attentive but not intrusive hosts. It is only 3min walk to windermere and about 15 min walk to bowness.
excellent breakfast as always
room spacious and comfy and very clean...........................................................................

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul197600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
72
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This was our fourth stay here in the last year or so. Conveniently located in a quiet area of Windermere away from the hustle a bustle of the village centre. The rooms are very comfortable and well decorated, best nights sleep away from home in a very comfy bed. Come and go as you please with your own front door key.
Ian and Yana make the perfect hosts and Katie the resident chocolate Labrador loves been made a fuss of. Breakfast is more than adequate with a great selection of locally sourced produce served in a very pleasant dining room.
Already looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colouredimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We chose this B&B based on the high rate provided by Booking.com's users.
I believe that everything happens for a reason and choosing this B&B couldn't have made me happier. Yana and Ian are two of the loveliest people I have ever known and provide an excellent service at all times. We were very happy with the room. The breakfast was really good and a big variety of choices was always provided. I don't eat meat and Yana and Ian made sure that I was happy about my breakfast leaving me several options every day. I was amazed with the thoughtful details that make me want to come back soon. Informed by my partner about my 30th birthday, Yana and Ian had a balloon, a card and home made cupcakes ready for me at breakfast. I was speechless. Today before we left Yana and Ian gave us some tips about the best way to go home and helped us carrying the luggage to the car. I will definitely come back and wouldn't choose any other B&B!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Durao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a two night stay at the Hollywood guest house at Windermere. It was a real value for money. The couple who run this guest house were very friendly and provided us with excellent breakfast. They offered us good variety of choices during breakfast and my pick were the vegetarian sausages. An ideal location for a pleasant and comfortable stay. Tough to get this accommodation during peak season. Hence would advise to book early.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaykumar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

If you want fantastic value for money without any compromise on standards, then look no further than Holly wood Guest House.
I've stayed in dearer accommodation previously but those establishments either needed updating or the service/ hospitality was lack lustre.
Yana and Ian put their heart into giving each guest a first class experience and they are lovely people with copious amounts of integrity.
Don't waste your time reviewing any other guest houses, just book this one!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just had a few days in the Lakes and stayed at the Hollywood guest house really nice. Yana and Ian were very welcoming we had a really comfy bed on the top floor with some beautiful bath products the breakfast in the morning very tasty everything you could wish for, even some homemade goodies when you got back from a long day out. Thanks again to Yana and Ian hope to see you again...

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lindahally12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Warm and friendly, nothing too much trouble. We had a lovely stay in a boutique style room, imaculate and spacious with all the little details taken care of. Some of the highlights: We overslept on the first morning as the bed was so comfortable, the breakfast was gorgeous especially the "proper" black pudding, the hand and body lotion as good as a Jo Malone product (which I love!)

A BIG thank you Ian and Yana for our first stay, we will definitely be back!

Audrey and Malcolm

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 108 in Windermere
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#65 of 108 in Windermere
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 108 in Windermere
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
1 Park Road
1 Park Road
#36 of 108 in Windermere
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ellerthwaite Lodge
#47 of 108 in Windermere
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#7 of 108 in Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly-Wood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly-Wood Guest House

Property: Holly-Wood Guest House
Address: Hollywood Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly-Wood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holly-Wood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly-Wood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing