We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tip top” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Gables Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Gables Guest House
Ranked #67 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tip top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

If you can find a nicer more warmer person than Carol at the Green gables then PLEASE give us a call.Too many b and bs want your money and are not interested (once your in the door) in you.In this establishment you are made to feel like part of the family.Will return most def !!

Room Tip: Great top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    40
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
24
73
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hull
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We booked this B&B for two nights based mostly on the positive reviews on 'tripadvisor'. We were very pleasantly welcomed by the bubbly Carole, who greeted us warmly. Green Gables is a very homely place and well decorated throughout. (nice carpets Carole) The two rooms we stayed in were on the top floor, easily acessible with en-suite and bathroom facilities. Both rooms were spotlessly clean. The parking was never an issue with free on street parking and a low cost overnight car park. Carole was always available for advice, from local restaurants to the best places to visit during our stay. We had read about the wonderful breakfast and were not disappointed, it was the best start to the day anyone could wish for. There was plenty of choice and we were asked if we had any particular dietry needs. Gillian was a little gem at breakfast, service was prompt and the food always hot.Sadly all good things come to an end, so thank you for the home from home . Because there are so many choices in the B&B world, the difference mainly rests in the personalities of the people who own and run these guest houses. If that is the case Carole, you will need to buy the property next door. (i know a great carpet company). Green Gables on my phones favourites list.

Room Tip: top floor has an en suite room and rooms with shared bathroom/wc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

A smashing B&B in an excellent location - especially if you're using public transport to get around. Carol is a super host with a smile/story/piece of local advice whenever it's required. Room was spotless with everything you would need. Breakfast choice was really good. I stayed an extra night and would've stayed longer if I didn't have to get back to work! Definitely returning to Green Gables Windermere.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halescouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We just stayed one night, but the b and b was really welcoming. The rooms were lovely and very clean and we stayed in a 3 bed room which was great value. Breakfast was excellent and they catered well for vegetarians too. Parking is a little difficult if you want to park for free, but we paid in the car park opposite. Only slight negative is that check out was quite early and we could have done with an extra hour or two.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinz70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Guest house stays can vary greatly; sometimes you get the warm welcome followed by tepid accommodation - other times the reverse. It was very pleasing, therefore, that our lovely welcome from Carol was followed by one of the best stays we have enjoyed anywhere.
The house is a substantial and inviting period property offering very comfortable accommodation in well kept and spotlessly clean rooms. We were lucky to find a parking spot right outside the property but with the large car park opposite offering overnight parking for one pound this is never going to be an issue.
After a relaxed night we were presented with a hearty and wonderfully cooked breakfast, complete with the vibrant service of both Carol and Gillian.
We only stayed in Windermere for one night as we passed through; that we left wishing we were staying longer was due entirely to the welcome and service we received.
Thank you both; you provide an excellent service. Should we be in the area again you will be our first port of call.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Wonderful friendly welcome, great local knowledge. We had a very nice ensuite room, and the breakfast was delicious. The location is very convenient for the train station, yet is on a quiet and leafy street. Free wifi. All in all a really excellent B&B at a very reasonable choice. Three happy nights spent there and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Del24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The owner Carol is always there to help. She does her best to keep everyone happy. Room was always clean and hotel is right in the city centre. Very easy to find when travelling with your own car and had no problem at all to park my car right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Adam Place Guest House
Adam Place Guest House
#76 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#78 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#29 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holly Lodge Guest House
Holly Lodge Guest House
#32 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#15 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Orrest Cottage Bed & Breakfast
#43 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Guest House

Property: Green Gables Guest House
Address: 37 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Green Gables we have a very simple philosophy - clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. We do not provide all the latest gizmos and gadgetry. Nor do we provide "boutique" style toiletries or membership to gyms or spas. If you really want these then please ask at the time of booking and we will adjust the price accordingly. We do not have a long list of rules and regulations and you will find us more like a "home from home" than a stuffy and strict place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Guest House Hotel Windermere
Green Gables Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing