We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Gables Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Gables Guest House
Ranked #68 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was another great find. We stumbled into Windermere with no booking and found one of the last rooms in the town. Brilliant find! Very comfortable room, separate exclusive bathroom on the top floor. It was a bit warm through the night but everything about this place was lovely. Our hosts were terrific very knowledgable. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    40
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
24
73
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

From the numerous places my wife & I have "B&B'd", Green Gables is the one B&B we have returned to regularly over the past 7 years. If you are an "open personality" you will find the rapport with the staff as being second to none, from a friendly greeting to "we'll do whatever we can for you if it's a reasonable request". A majority of the do's and don'ts were spelt out through e-mail and telephone contact before arriving at Windermere (a wise recommendation to follow up). If you are of a more quieter nature (especially in the mornings), staff are sensitive to that need, as well. The cooked breakfasts are "out of this world" .If you want 100% satisfaction from any guest house, you will never find it. Whilst their maybe miniscule defects you would find using a nit picking magnifying glass, we would fully endorse the "It does what it says on the tin" for this excellent welcoming and homely establishment.

Room Tip: not a lot to choose between them....all are comfortable (we've slept in most of them)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I don't quite relate to the previous review saying there was too much conversation upon arriving. When my Wife and I arrived we were greeted with a Gentleman (I forget his name, I was tired at the time) who paid attention to us and asked us what places we have been to, visiting, where we are from etc. And he even entertained us with a bit of Polish/Russian as my Wife is Polish.

The room itself was great, a little dark with dark furniture, but clean, smelled good and nice refreshments.

The greatest selling point for Green Gables is probably the full English breakfast. It was easily the best I've ever had in my life, and convinced me that we'll be staying again in the future. It was not greasy, was very fresh, the eggs were fresh, the bacon was fresh, everything was just fresh and spot on.

The Staff who attended to us for the breakfast were very relaxed and down to earth, and made us feel like we were among friends.

Looking forward to the full breakfast again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

After having finished the Dales Way, Green Gables was a bit of a let-down to an otherwise wonderful experience. The host who welcomed us was a bit... strange. He tried to make conversation, but we were quite clear that we'd just like to be shown to our room, so after five or so very awkward minutes he said "Right we're ready for you now" although there was no other host there. The house itself seems to be in quite a bit of disrepair and needs redecorating. Our room was large and clean enough, but our "private bathroom", which was across the hall, wasn't so great. There was rust in the drain of the sink and hair in the bathtub. The fixtures were all also a rather unfortunate mauve colour which only served to make everything look dirtier. We slept comfortably, which is about the only good thing I can say for our whole experience, and was quite handy as we had to up very early the next morning. On that note, we had to leave too early to have breakfast... upon mentioning this to the host, he simply laughed and said "Oh far too early to have any food then" and left it at that. We have stayed in a few places that have offered us some cereal, milk and fruit to take to our room in a thermal pack so we could still eat before we left. It's really not very hard to put this kind of thing together, and would go a long way to make guests feel more welcome.
Overall, this could be a nice place were some more effort put in. But, considering the number of good reviews here, we may well have just stayed on a bad day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamanthaFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atchumak, Owner at Green Gables Guest House, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Maybe conversation was not what was wanted. Maybe we should have just said “There’s your keys. The room is on the first floor. Have a nice day”. Maybe we should not have tried to find out if the day had gone well. In Britain we say “Have you had a good day?” – this is a question – we don’t say “Have a nice day” – this is a command. Maybe we should not have tried to find out if it was their first time in the area. Maybe we should not have tried to find out what kind of restaurants they would prefer or where they would like to go for a drink. Maybe they booked the last room we had when the booking was made. Maybe they booked that room because of price. Maybe they assumed that breakfast could be had at any time they wished. Maybe they assumed that all hotels and guest houses allow breakfast to be consumed in bedrooms. Maybe they assumed that hoteliers are all telepathic and would know that they would be wanting to leave early. Maybe they did not know how to use a telephone to enquire whether arrangements could be made to cater for their specific requirements. Maybe arrangements are already being made to overhaul that bathroom. Maybe we did not realise that we were being assessed for “four in a bed”.
Maybe conversation and civility is a lost art in the modern world where the only means of communication seems to be via text or via the internet. We at Green Gables will try to keep up the old traditions of conversation etc. as long as we can and hope that the personal touch and interaction that we offer is not seen as “strange”.
We are investigating the shortcomings which were pointed out in this review and hope that we can resolve them soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We had excellent service at the hotel. Really enjoyed our stay. I recommend this guest house. It is centrally located and the rooms are held in perfect condition. The breakfast was delicious. Very friendly staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank emanuel1438795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

As a person living and working at a B & B myself i decided last minute to just escape for a night. I booked Green Gables and within an hour i was there. Was warmly welcomed by Alex and shown to a very comfortable room. Breakfast the following morning was extremely good and it was so nice for me to be waited on for a change. The girls are fantastic, so much so that i booked a second night and my second room was ready in no time. Carol is a fab owner and the girls are a credit to her. I didn't want to leave my home from home but unfortunately had to but, i did leave having made new friends!! Thank you all so much girls :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellsy944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stated at this B&B for valentine weekend ; perfect location to walk to Windermere, rooms clean & warm; food excellent. - good hearty breakfast served with friendly service (especially crazy Irish lady !) box chocs left in room for valentines, lovely touch. Def will stay again x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickyk1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Adam Place Guest House
Adam Place Guest House
#76 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crompton House
Crompton House
#53 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#14 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#78 of 111 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millbeck Guest House
Millbeck Guest House
#28 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westbury House
Westbury House
#70 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Guest House

Property: Green Gables Guest House
Address: 37 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Green Gables we have a very simple philosophy - clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. We do not provide all the latest gizmos and gadgetry. Nor do we provide "boutique" style toiletries or membership to gyms or spas. If you really want these then please ask at the time of booking and we will adjust the price accordingly. We do not have a long list of rules and regulations and you will find us more like a "home from home" than a stuffy and strict place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Green Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Guest House Hotel Windermere
Green Gables Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing