We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm friendly bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Gables Guest House
Ranked #62 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
stockport
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“warm friendly bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

green gables is a warm and friendly place to stay, carole the owner is a very attentive perfect hostess, we felt very welcome, the double room we stayed in was very pleasant, and so was the chocolates and wine, a nice little touch, the full english breakfast was gorgeous and there was plenty of toast and drinks. my husband and and i had a perfect couple of days relaxing and could not have asked for better service, we would certainley go back there again, and hope to soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StockportDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    45
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
27
75
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We booked this for a three night break over the New Year with our two young sons. The room was a 'family room'. On walking in we could see that this was a very basic bed and breakfast but decided that it was quaint and we should give it a try. On closer inspection after spending some time in the house things slowly started to unravel. There was food deposits in our room sink as well as old toothpaste in one of the glasses we were supposed to use. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable and the single duvets barely covered the beds.
Our bathroom was across the hall which was fine...until we used it. The old dilapidated window would not close and it was freezing outside, without any sort of heating in the bathroom it made it unusable for our children and not too great for us either! The black mould and cobwebs on the ceiling looked like they had been staged as they were so dense, the cleaners need to look up once in a while.
My 5 year old son asked what the smell was when he went in there, it was the damp. There is absolutely no attention to details and the house is kitted out to an absolute minimum.
We stayed for the first night, spent the second at a friends cottage and then checked out and found somewhere else for the third as we could not face staying there. The only saving grace was that the lady of the house did not charge us for the third and took full responsibility for the issues we raised with her. (still cost us £200 though for one night in a place that would struggle to get one star where we live).
All in all it was totally lacking and the owners need to get to grips with the 70/80's decor and cleanliness, this is 2010 and people expect more for their hard earned money...well I do anyway!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinFromCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Airy, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2009

I was in the town center and within walking distance of the lake. Only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtAiry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

My husband and I enjoyed our 3 nights at Green Gables. Broad Street is a quiet street away from the lake but we had a rental car so this wasn't a problem for us; we had no trouble parking in the street. The library is opposite, which is handy for internet access and the adjacent park is a nice spot in the evening for smokers! The commercial area in the immediate vicinity has a convenience store and information centre but offers few restaurants compared with the Bowness district on the lakeside.

The guest house is comfortable without being lavish, the decor is old fashioned (pink toilet etc) and a little tatty here and there but very similar to many B&Bs of this rating. The rooms are not huge but light and airy with comfortable beds.

Very friendly and helpful owners, who suggested a great value eating establishment. The breakfast was excellent and there are tea and coffee supplies in the room. There is good water pressure in the shower and plenty of hot water.

A pleasant stay and we would return.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers512014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Green Gables is centrally located in Windermere - 10 mins walk from the bus and train station. The hosts are extremely hospitable - they even arranged for an early breakfast one morning because I had to leave early. Good breakfast - enjoyed their vegetarian options especially. The place has a very homely feeling to it, decent place to stay for a day or two if you are going all alone.

One drawback is that the single room is extremely small - 2 nights is OK. But one can feel claustrophobic in that room for durations longer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LizMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atchumak, Owner at Green Gables Guest House, responded to this review, 10 January 2010
The one issue that we have with this review is that the single room was described as extremely small. To put the record straight this room has a floor area of approx. 85 sq. ft. with an en-suite bathroom of approx 24 sq.ft By no account would we consider that as being extremely small. In fairness we know of double rooms in other facilities that are only as large or slightly larger than the one being reviewed here. In every other capacity we seem to have done ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#68 of 107 in Windermere
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adam Place Guest House
Adam Place Guest House
#66 of 107 in Windermere
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#94 of 107 in Windermere
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#96 of 107 in Windermere
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#20 of 107 in Windermere
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Rose
White Rose
#54 of 107 in Windermere
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Guest House

Property: Green Gables Guest House
Address: 37 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Green Gables we have a very simple philosophy - clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. We do not provide all the latest gizmos and gadgetry. Nor do we provide "boutique" style toiletries or membership to gyms or spas. If you really want these then please ask at the time of booking and we will adjust the price accordingly. We do not have a long list of rules and regulations and you will find us more like a "home from home" than a stuffy and strict place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Green Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Guest House Hotel Windermere
Green Gables Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing