We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Gables Guest House
Ranked #61 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed at Green Gables for 3 nights prior to visiting Scotland to visit family. We were made very welcome on arrival and Carole showed us round and advised us of the best places to park and also of places to go for meals. The breakfasts were excellent. Fruit juice, cereal, full English and plenty tea, coffee and toast.

The room was spacious light and airy. Although our room was not en suite we had our own bathroom with shower just acrosss the hall. Bathrobes were provided which we thought was a nice touch.

Carole and Alex were very helpful in advising places to visit during our stay and advised a different route than we were planning when leaving for Scotland. The journey recommended over the Kirkstone pass was breathtaking and the pie shop in Biggar was a big hit with everyone !

All in all a very pleasant holiday

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markandange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

I have stayed at Green gable's several times in the past few year's. This guest house is the most welcoming accomodation I have had the pleasure of staying at. The location is perfect for train and bus also for shops and eating out. The rooms we have stayed in various are very clean and roomy and the service is fantastic, Carole and Alex cannot do enough to make your stay perfect. Nothing is to much for them. My daughter's and I slept solid every night for seven night's. For high season this guest house is fantastic value for money. I and my daughter have recommended people to stay here if visiting Windermere.If you want to be waited on hand and foot and spoon fed then go to a fancy hotel if you want home from home then Green Gable's is your answer. Thank you for a brilliant stay as is alway's the case.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

My Husband and I stayed at Green Gables on our 8 week trip around Britain. Of all the B and B,s we have stayed in over the past 8 weeks, we found Carole the most friendly and welcoming hostess we have encountered. Nothing was too much trouble and even though she had no room for us to extend our stay with her, she took the time and trouble to find accomodation for us in another B and B. Very centrally situated, opposite the Library, with easy parking. The breakfast was very good, the room nice and quiet, and our every wish catered for. I would not hesitate to recommend this B and B to anyone. We found Carole and her family delightful, the accommodation excellant value, and the establishment to be recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munchiePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

green gables is a warm and friendly place to stay, carole the owner is a very attentive perfect hostess, we felt very welcome, the double room we stayed in was very pleasant, and so was the chocolates and wine, a nice little touch, the full english breakfast was gorgeous and there was plenty of toast and drinks. my husband and and i had a perfect couple of days relaxing and could not have asked for better service, we would certainley go back there again, and hope to soon.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StockportDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We booked this for a three night break over the New Year with our two young sons. The room was a 'family room'. On walking in we could see that this was a very basic bed and breakfast but decided that it was quaint and we should give it a try. On closer inspection after spending some time in the house things slowly started to unravel. There was food deposits in our room sink as well as old toothpaste in one of the glasses we were supposed to use. The beds and pillows were uncomfortable and the single duvets barely covered the beds.
Our bathroom was across the hall which was fine...until we used it. The old dilapidated window would not close and it was freezing outside, without any sort of heating in the bathroom it made it unusable for our children and not too great for us either! The black mould and cobwebs on the ceiling looked like they had been staged as they were so dense, the cleaners need to look up once in a while.
My 5 year old son asked what the smell was when he went in there, it was the damp. There is absolutely no attention to details and the house is kitted out to an absolute minimum.
We stayed for the first night, spent the second at a friends cottage and then checked out and found somewhere else for the third as we could not face staying there. The only saving grace was that the lady of the house did not charge us for the third and took full responsibility for the issues we raised with her. (still cost us £200 though for one night in a place that would struggle to get one star where we live).
All in all it was totally lacking and the owners need to get to grips with the 70/80's decor and cleanliness, this is 2010 and people expect more for their hard earned money...well I do anyway!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinFromCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

I was in the town center and within walking distance of the lake. Only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtAiry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

My husband and I enjoyed our 3 nights at Green Gables. Broad Street is a quiet street away from the lake but we had a rental car so this wasn't a problem for us; we had no trouble parking in the street. The library is opposite, which is handy for internet access and the adjacent park is a nice spot in the evening for smokers! The commercial area in the immediate vicinity has a convenience store and information centre but offers few restaurants compared with the Bowness district on the lakeside.

The guest house is comfortable without being lavish, the decor is old fashioned (pink toilet etc) and a little tatty here and there but very similar to many B&Bs of this rating. The rooms are not huge but light and airy with comfortable beds.

Very friendly and helpful owners, who suggested a great value eating establishment. The breakfast was excellent and there are tea and coffee supplies in the room. There is good water pressure in the shower and plenty of hot water.

A pleasant stay and we would return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellers512014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Adam Place Guest House
Adam Place Guest House
#64 of 107 in Windermere
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ellerthwaite Lodge
Ellerthwaite Lodge
#50 of 107 in Windermere
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#68 of 107 in Windermere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#93 of 107 in Windermere
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#26 of 107 in Windermere
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Guest House

Address: 37 Broad Street, Windermere LA23 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £64 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gables Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Green Gables we have a very simple philosophy - clean, comfortable accommodation at a reasonable price. We do not provide all the latest gizmos and gadgetry. Nor do we provide "boutique" style toiletries or membership to gyms or spas. If you really want these then please ask at the time of booking and we will adjust the price accordingly. We do not have a long list of rules and regulations and you will find us more like a "home from home" than a stuffy and strict place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Guest House Hotel Windermere
Green Gables Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing