We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous New Years Eve stay at the cottage”
Review of Orrest Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orrest Cottage
Ranked #48 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a fantastic stay this New Year's Eve. The cottage is modern, spotlessly clean, warm and comfy. Breakfast the next day was delicious. The cottage is in Windermere a nice stroll away from Bo'ness or an easy bus ride. Perfect for walkers great base location if you are visiting sights of the lakes.

Room Tip: Room 3 in the loft is delightful with a separate living room with DVD player and DVDs to relax and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairejane81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks guys glad you enjoyed it and a happy new year to you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

Another fantastic stay at Orrest Cottage..........Everything was again first class and it was good to see David & Laura again. One difference was the breakfast........it has got even better than the last time we stayed! More choice (cant believe that was possible!), and it really sets you up for a good days walking. We cant recommend Orrest Cottage highly enough and we will be going again as soon as we can in 2014. Thanks once again, Fiona & Ian.x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarmarisBabe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thanks so much guys, lovely to see you again! Happy Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed just 1 night at this lovely B&B . The owners David & Laura couldn't have been more helpful, everything spotlessly clean, & a scrumptious breakfast cooked by David the following morning, Thanks Guys

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolieambleside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a mini getaway, was met by David who couldn't have been more welcoming. We stayed in room 3 which was lovely and spacious with two bathrooms and a lounge area. Loved the decor and the homemade flapjacks. Was a lovely touch! Didn't need to bring toiletries as there was a basket which provided shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. The breakfast was brilliant and very filling. My partner was impressed with the homemade granola Laura had made. Location was excellent! Right near the train station and a lovely 20 minute walk to windermere lake. Thank you David and Laura for a wonderful stay, cannot recommend this place highly enough, hospitality was fab !
Mia and Jauca X

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiaFJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Glad you enjoyed it guys, see you in Chester one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

What a pleasant experience. A warm welcome on a cold day. An amazing breakfast, with plenty of choice, all freshly made. Nothing was too much. Thanks David and Laura for all the suggestions on finding our wedding venue. Next time We will join you for a long Ramble.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Jacob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thanks guys, hope your wedding plans are coming along nicely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, friendly service , great location. Experienced, professional proprietors puts them heads above the competition. A wide choice of breakfast that is usually included in the room rate and easily competes with the local cafes. Little touches ( fresh milk on arrival/DVDs/Assorted glassware) just compliment the overall package.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Josh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thanks guys your comments mean a lot, hope to see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Orrest is situated just a few minutes walk from the town. The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated and very well maintained. There was complimentary tea, coffee and flapjacks which was welcomed after a long journey. The room was immaculate as was the ensuite. There was a basket of full size toiletries to use and plenty of hot water. The breakfast was well cooked and plenty provided. The owners are a great couple who made us feel very welcome, suggested places for us to visit and eat. We would definitely recommend this b & b and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyWMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annesdale House
Annesdale House
#33 of 107 in Windermere
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#97 of 107 in Windermere
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#8 of 107 in Windermere
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#41 of 107 in Windermere
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orrest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orrest Cottage

Address: 17 Church Street, Windermere LA23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £62 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orrest Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David & Laura would like to invite you to stay in their cozy three-story 19th-century Lakeland Cottage situated in the town of Windermere, in the beautiful English Lake District. Orrest Cottage has been refurbished to give a contemporary feel and atmosphere. There are three comfortable en-suite rooms, each able to accommodate two adults. There is lots of fresh Lake District air and certainly plenty of local walks and many starting from just outside the front door. Across the road is the start of the Orrest Head walk, made famous by Lakeland author Alfred Wainwright, it offers you some of the most stunning views over the Lake District fells. We are ideally located just 200m, if you're walking, from either Windermere railway station or the main bus stop at Windermere Tourist Information and we're just the same distance from the centre of town. For your convenience we are Wi Fi enabled, and can offer you flexible check–in times to suit your needs. Check-out is by 10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orrest Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orrest Cottage Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing