We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat”
Review of Orrest Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orrest Cottage
Ranked #47 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Orrest Cottage for two nights and couldn't have been happier. We received a really warm welcome from David and Laura. The cottage was fabulous, we managed to get free parking right opposite, it was just a few minutes walk from the town centre, beautifully presented and spotlessly clean and a perfect base for a visit to the Lake District. Our room was perfect, so warm and comfy and had tea and coffee making facilities, also the homemade flapjack left in our room each day was the best I've ever had. Breakfast was amazing, after a bowl of homemade granola (it was so delicious I asked Laura for the recipe) we had the full English both days. David and Laura were really helpful with local restaurants to try and places to visit. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to the Lakes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    28
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
171
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We've just come back from a 2 night stay at Orrest cottage and would highly recommend it as a place to stay in windermere. It's located about 5 minutes walk from the train station and a mile and a half from lake windermere. We stayed in the loft room which comes as a double bedroom and en suite and also has a small separate lounge area with drinking facilities and tv/DVD player, and an extra bathroom on the landing. The decor is modern and attention to detail lovely. The couple who run the cottage couldn't be nicer serving a great breakfast made from local produce. One final note to make is that the loft has quite low ceilings which was fine for me but my husband found it a little small, not a negative as it is a cottage and this is to be expected but it's something to be aware of.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarah2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks for your review Sarah, hope to see you again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for one night at the orrest cottage and absolutely loved it. The cottage was very pretty, lots of small details. The loft suite was spacious and clean. The flapjacks were delicious and the owners were very welcoming. We will definitely return in the summer. It's definitely worth a stay here during your time in Windermere.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenw111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I booked a nights stay for my partner Jon's birthday - couldn't have been more pleased with my choice!!
Fabulous location, 2 minute walk from Windermere bus and train station, plenty places to park close by. We had a beautiful comfortable room - with an extremely comfortable mattress! I was slightly concerned that room 1(at the front) would be noisy but I need not have worried, had a lovely comfortable night.
Breakfast was superb!! Pre-ordered the night before, it was served hot and delicious!! Little additions of home made granola and bread were just gorgeous.
All this topped off with great hosts!! Dave and Laura were lovely, very welcoming and friendly!
We will DEFINITELY be returning - and not just to collect my coat!
HIGHLY recommended. - It's a gem!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be a great choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancsLass1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed in the 'Loft Suite', the rooms were very clean and beautifully presented with cute touches. Perfect for those looking for a romantic getaway. Breakfast was delicious and so much choice, even though we had the full English everyday. The B&B is very close to the train station and there's even a fish and chip shop next door! Only a 20 minute walk down to Bowness with excellent views of the lake from Orrest Head as well, only a 20-30 minute walk away. Would recommend Orrest Cottage to anyone wanting to go to the Lakes.

Room Tip: Choose the loft suite, well worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allister93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thanks guys glad you enjoyed it, hope to see you again sometime.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last minute as a post Christmas break. We stayed in room 2, room was modern and also very clean. The cottage is in a lovely spot for either walkers or people who want to go and enjoy the restaurants/pubs. There was also plenty of choice for breakfast which was also delicious. Thanks again for a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank han84_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Orrest Cottage, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thanks guys, glad you enjoyed it, remember to contact us direct for your next booking.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend just before Christmas, we stayed in room 1 which was lovely! Really comfortable bed, slept so well! Ensuite was very clean and modern and all toiletries are supplied!! Breakfasts were amazing, we tried out a different one everyday and they definitely set you up for a day out walking! Location was brilliant, very handy for the train and close to the pubs and restaurants in Windermere as only a leisurely 30 minute walk into bowness and the lake! David and Laura are so welcoming and helpful when it comes to good spots to walk/visit! Looking forward to coming back in the summer!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiB167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Chestnuts Guest House
Chestnuts Guest House
#9 of 107 in Windermere
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#14 of 107 in Windermere
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Annesdale House
Annesdale House
#34 of 107 in Windermere
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#94 of 107 in Windermere
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orrest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orrest Cottage

Property: Orrest Cottage
Address: 17 Church Street, Windermere LA23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orrest Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David & Laura would like to invite you to stay in their cozy three-story 19th-century Lakeland Cottage situated in the town of Windermere, in the beautiful English Lake District. Orrest Cottage has been refurbished to give a contemporary feel and atmosphere. There are three comfortable en-suite rooms, each able to accommodate two adults. There is lots of fresh Lake District air and certainly plenty of local walks and many starting from just outside the front door. Across the road is the start of the Orrest Head walk, made famous by Lakeland author Alfred Wainwright, it offers you some of the most stunning views over the Lake District fells. We are ideally located just 200m, if you're walking, from either Windermere railway station or the main bus stop at Windermere Tourist Information and we're just the same distance from the centre of town. For your convenience we are Wi Fi enabled, and can offer you flexible check–in times to suit your needs. Check-out is by 10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Orrest Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orrest Cottage Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing