We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed was very relax, breakfast was also most delicius.”
Review of Orrest Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orrest Cottage
Ranked #47 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Room number 1 was very comfortable, room was very clean and design was very very beutiful. I have too many places and hotels in the world. But I have never eaten butter and homemade toasted bread like this hotels breakfast in anywhere.

Room Tip: windermere is a heaven village, you can select room number 1 that on the road side but was very very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsbIzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here this week for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding in Troutbeck. Whilst small and cosy the friendliness of the hosts David and Laura was amazing. The food was as good ( or better) than you d get in any first class hotel. Laura makes all her own bread and even her own granola which is delicious.If you re expecting luxury here it's not for you. If you want a comfortable stay with a wonderful breakfast and lovely hosts then it is. Thanks for the recipes guys.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just returned from lovely break in Windemere. Superb easy instructions even down to free parking tips. (We sneaked in the Doctors Car Park, just down the Road!)
Room really cosy. Breaky excellent from cheery owner. We will stay again if it is available.
We can recommend Cafe Italia for a late night Tia Maria Coffee & Cheesecake. mmmmmm!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely place in perfect location for Windermere. We stayed here for one night. Room was lovely and perfect for what we needed. Clean and tidy and well organised. The breakfast was of a high standard and it was great value for money.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed there 18th - 20th this April. From easy communication prior to our arrival, to a wonderfully clearn, yet warm, bedroom, and breakfast to rival any. The Orrest is hard to fault in any department, and the owners are as warm and friendly as any in the Lake District. We recommend it without reservation, and will undoubtedly return in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Booked ten minutes before leaving home, having decided to stay over for once and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. A few minutes walk from the railway station and opposite is the short walk up to Orrest Head (a must for walkers, you can see why Wainwright took to walking after seeing these views). Communication was excellent from the start, David rang me just has we were boarding the train (about 25 mins after booking) to check our approximate arrival time and how to get our key. Our room was very nicely decorated, clean and had a lovely comfy bed (much welcomed after spending many hours walking). It is only a short walk into Windermere centre and a mile and a half to Bowness. Can recommend the lake cruises and for the more adventurous both the rowing and motor boats are a must. Plenty of great walks are within easy reach and David's knowledge of the area is exceptional and will give advice on where to go. As for breakfast, the homemade granola is very tasty, the full Cumbrian is excellent, one of the tastiest had in a b & b for quiet a while and great that it is local produce. Would highly recommend staying at this quaint little cottage and will certainly be back. Hopefully we will meet Laura next time too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret29414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Situated over the road from the Orrest head walk entrance path (a must do walk for the stunning views ) the Orrest cottage is a lovely 3 room guest house. Also ideally situated for the pubs and restaurants of Windermere with free on street parking right outside. Rooms are original in their decor and spotlessly clean.
As others have mentioned the full English breakfast is superb especially the sausages. The owners shared with us where they get the sausages and we called on the way home to buy some !! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
408 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sawrey House Hotel
Sawrey House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Near Sawrey
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cuckoo Brow Inn
Cuckoo Brow Inn
#1 of 2 in Far Sawrey
913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orrest Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orrest Cottage

Address: 17 Church Street, Windermere LA23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £54 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orrest Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
David & Laura would like to invite you to stay in their cozy three-story 19th-century Lakeland Cottage situated in the town of Windermere, in the beautiful English Lake District. Orrest Cottage has been refurbished to give a contemporary feel and atmosphere. There are three comfortable en-suite rooms, each able to accommodate two adults. There is lots of fresh Lake District air and certainly plenty of local walks and many starting from just outside the front door. Across the road is the start of the Orrest Head walk, made famous by Lakeland author Alfred Wainwright, it offers you some of the most stunning views over the Lake District fells. We are ideally located just 200m, if you're walking, from either Windermere railway station or the main bus stop at Windermere Tourist Information and we're just the same distance from the centre of town. For your convenience we are Wi Fi enabled, and can offer you flexible check–in times to suit your needs. Check-out is by 10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Orrest Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orrest Cottage Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing