We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Bed is a zip 'n'link it can be made up as a kingsize or twin.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bed is a zip 'n'link it can be made up as a kingsize or twin.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Bed is a zip 'n'link it can be made up as a kingsize or twin.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris-Man...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 3 January 2019 for a stay in December 2018
1
person found this review helpful

great location in the heart of windermere lovely stroll in to Bowness property had everything you needed for a relaxing new year break myself ;wife and daughter had a great time I would highly recommend

Date of stay: December 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super Christmas stay, Great Apartment”
Reviewed 29 December 2018 for a stay in December 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location in the middle of Windermere. When finding the entrance it’s an idea to use the big white Pub called the Queens as a marker and the little Courtyard opposite is where you’ll find Foxgloves. (Arriving in the dark, as we did, it’s easy to miss)!
On arrival the apartment was decorated for Christmas superbly, Tasteful decorations, that matched the decor, giving a lovely feeling that this had been thought about, and not just “thrown up” a stunning bay window with a lit Christmas tree and fireplace garland that made the lovely furnished room very very welcomimg. The Apartment had a wood burner and Wayne the Owner had left matches and a fire log so we could light the fire...perfect, (We bought more fire logs, and did this every night, it was superb). The bedroom has a huge bed, so comfy, and the bathroom well appointed, with a great shower. The boiler isn’t above the toilet, as described in a previous review, it’s forward of it. My wife and I are both 6’6 and we had no problem with it’s location. The apartment was spotless on arrival. Little personal touches around the apartment as well as items such as a First aid equipment, Magazines, Books and toiletries made it feel like a home.
The main room is huge, with quality furnishings. Two large sofas, a large Smart TV and other entertainment electronics were available.
Kitchen was well appointed, with a dishwasher, Under counter fridge, and Oven. We stored enough food in the fridge and cooked Christmas lunch for two and Basil our dog with no Problem.
The apartment was central heated, and warm, especially when the fire was on. The view from the big bay window looked out over the Hills...(Well it did when the mist lifted!).
All in all it was a smashing stay ,Being there for more than a couple of nights in winter and walking we had plenty of coats with us. The only thing I would add would be to have a coat hook nearer the entrance.... Hanging our coats to dry was a challenge!
Wayne, you have a great place, which we enjoyed staying at. We will hopefully return soon.

Date of stay: December 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2018
Thank you once again for your lovely review. I will definitely take on board your comments relating to coat hooks. Wishing you a very Happy New Year. Best Wishes Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 13 November 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Nov 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. Hope you'll be back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barneyand...
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oh dear....Not great this time unfortunately”
Reviewed 8 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Bedroom: Good size but large amount of general dust on top of wardrobe.
Bathroom: Generally clean and modern but broken window blind. Adjacent properties view in. Boiler right above toilet, hit head hazard. Boiler wiring and gap exposing some cobwebs/dirt
Lounge - Very nice and comfortable, however no drinks license certificate showing.
Kitchen - Chopping board propped up on sink -dirty, hiding mould around sink. Oven - filthy crumbs and grease, black dirty oven racks.
Cupboards- filthy with general dirt and crumbs and left over food.
Cutlery draw- very few knives and knives very old and had pealing black paint which would easily get onto the food.
Waste disposal - No recycling bins and tiny kitchen bin located in hallway. Microwave oven - stank of curry and was stained.
Fridge - was cracked in places inside possibly a magnet for bacteria. Freezer compartment was iced up and had left over food. Door not secure as hinges broken, very fiddly to put back on.
Sound proofing - Only on occasion were the person/s upstairs heard walking around which seemed quite loud - but generally, it was quiet.

Overall, definitely not what we were expecting based on the previous fabulous reviews. I hope my frank and honest review will be useful to the owners so that they can get things sorted and can, once again, offer a good standard of accommodation to people who want and are expecting a stress free and comfortable stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2018
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your thoughts.It’s difficult to take such reviews constructively. As you can see the vast majority of guests appreciate what we offer at Foxgloves and are very happy, as the majority of the reviews reflect.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O881ZBpat...
1 review
“Foxgloves”
Reviewed 23 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Wayne has a lovely flat here in the heart of Windermere. Well-appointed, neat and comfortable. It was a lovely couple of nights and we would definitely recommend the apartment to others. Terrific!

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2018
Thank you for your wonderful 5* review. I look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. All the very best,Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
401Nicola...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

A beautiful place to stay perfectly central. The photos do not do the apartment justices. Very spacious with large bed and lovely linens. The complimentary items were a welcome touch. Love view from huge bay window in lounge. Will definitely return to foxgloves.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. Reall pleased to hear you'll return. All my best, Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelgre...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolute gem in a fabulous location! ”
Reviewed 28 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Couldn’t fault the foxgloves apartment in Windermere, check in was seamless and as a complete coincidence I turned up just as Wayne was leaving and so I bagged one of the two car parking spaces right outside of the apartment!

The apartment itself is beautiful, the pictures don’t do it justice. The living room is huge and the whole place is spotless, bed is ridiculously comfy (as others have mentioned previously) and the kitchen has all the amenities you could wish for. As I was staying with my dog literally the only down side for me is the lack of an outside space but obviously I knew there wasn’t one when I booked and we managed fine by walking to the nearby park.

As for the location, this was by far my favourite thing about the apartment! Right in the very centre of Windermere but still nice and private. I have literally recommended this apartment to everyone I have spoken to since my stay!

Recommendations if you are staying at Foxgloves:
The Crafty Baa - a 2 second walk from the apartment, awesome dog friendly little place, great food and drink, staff were great too
Just Good Good - also only 2 seconds from the apartment, also dog friendly and a delicious lunchtime burrito!
The Pig - again dog friendly of course and absolutely great food, huge menu and super friendly staff :)

Date of stay: July 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
Thank you Rachel. i'm delighted to hear you had a great time. I also have another property in Windermere and that one does have a small garden so it's perfect for the dog. Thank you for your very kind review. Wayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing