We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kirkwood Lodge B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kirkwood Guest House
Ranked #27 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Quietly located close to the main Windermere to Bowness, this place is ideally situated for a short walk for both places.
We had the top floor bedroom which will soon be refurbished. Richard and Paula were very welcoming. They have only recently taken on this venture and seem ideally fitted to it. Nothing was too much trouble to them. The breakfast choices were plentiful but as usual I had the full English and can readily confirm that it was lovely.
We will be going back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but room 3 has a four poster and room 2 on the ground floor is what I will be as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

As I have been staying at this hotel for the past 17 years and have seen 3 lots of owners, I was curious to see what the new owners were like and how the B and B had fared. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the place was just as welcoming as before and the new owners the same.
The breakfast are excellent with a wide range of food, even for coeliacs.We had our usual room 3 and found it to be as before - great. Hoping to see them again,sooner rather later.

Room Tip: I have slept during my 17 years there in every room and I can say they are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Richard and Paula are the most welcoming owners a guest could hope for. I am a keen photographer and hill walker! Richard (owner/ professional photographer) knew the lakes like the back of his hand and was incredibly helpful in guiding me to great landscape locations.

My stay was second to none, especially the breakfast, perfect everyday. I will definitely be going back in the years to come and wish them all the best in the future.

Nathan!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Kirkwood Guest House is a home from home. The location of the guest house is perfect, just a 10 minute walk into the centre of Windermere. The room was lovely and clean. The owners (Richard and Paula) are very welcoming and have a great knowledge of the area. The breakfast was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camillasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Windermere is an great place to stay and kirkwood is ideally located with roughly a 10 minute walk into the heart of Windermere or down to Bowness-on-Windermere. I recenlty stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend in room 5 which had everthing you need and a lovely four poster bed. Paula and Richard were welcoming, very friendly and also extremely helpful - they know the area very well and are happy to give advice on walks and places to visit. The breakfasts each morning were brilliant - cooked to your specifications and delicious to eat! We would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone wishing to visit the Lake District and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I want to write a review to say how lovely the kirkwood is, we had a 1 night stay in rm 3. Paula was welcoming and very pleasant when we arrived! The room was lovely , clean and very tasteful . Nice if you want a romantic and a bit of luxuary! Nothing was too much trouble The breakfasts were second to none and every thing you would like was there for you, well done on catering for different dietry needs! Cheers guys will definatly be back, ps give merlin our lv

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank heyhoe74donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We recently spent 3 nights in this lovely guest house. Paula and Richard are really welcoming and friendly and during our stay nothing was too much trouble. They know the local area well and were happy to suggests walks and places to go. .We stayed in room 4 which was spacious, had a lovely comfy four poster bed and was immaculately clean. Breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked whatever way guests prefer. Windermere and Bowness are both within easy walking distance making this a great location We would recommnd this guest house and will definitley stay here again
Steve & Lyn

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#24 of 107 in Windermere
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#9 of 107 in Windermere
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beckmead Guest House
Beckmead Guest House
#38 of 107 in Windermere
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
404 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#31 of 107 in Windermere
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ellerbrook House
Ellerbrook House
#49 of 107 in Windermere
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Guest House

Address: Princes Road, Windermere LA23 2DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirkwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Kirkwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Guest House Hotel Windermere
Kirkwood Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing