We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vile...stay away! ”

The Golden Mountain Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 76 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Vile...stay away! ”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Service was poor from start to finish, owner kept going over to tables and looking if we had finished, she kept staring and the atmosphere was awful she was rude and unhygienic, food was vile worst Chinese ever!

Helpful?
1 Thank engclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Manager at The Golden Mountain Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We are really sorry you did not enjoy your experience but some of the points you raise makes us wonder if you have the right restaurant?
As you can see from previous reviews most visitors are more than happy, the owner is not female and as the restaurant is only small with eight tables the staff do not tend to keep walking around and most diners find the service to be friendly and efficient.
Could you please give us a description of the person that was rude to you so that this matter can be addressed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    125
    31
    10
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cromford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We didn't find the staff particularly friendly. However,the food was served quite quickly and they included free prawn crackers on a relatively small order, which was good. The meals were certainly ok but we have had much better sweet and sour chicken - not very tasty and the batter somewhat stodgy. This is, according to locals, easily the best Chinese in the area which perhaps doesn't say a lot for the others. We had a takeaway - the seating looked fairly cramped and unappealing.

Clearly there are a lot of good reviews so perhaps we were just unlucky.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Chinese takeaway!!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Simply the best Chinese in Windermere/bowness! We have had a takeaway from the golden mountain twice recently & on both occasions it has been top notch

Helpful?
Thank windy_bottom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Beautiful food & friendly staff”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Having read the awful reviews for the Chinese restaurants in Bowness we decided to venture up to the Golden Mountain in Windermere to test out the great reviews it has. The takeaway menu is fairly extensive comparatively speaking & I tried the skewered special in satay sauce, which was absolutely beautiful & obviously fresh (not the usual yellow gloop).. The four skewers were Chicken (2) two gorgeously tender beef steaks (1) & two King Prawns (1). The prawn toast, special fried rice & sweet & sour chicken were also beautiful..

Service was lovely, very friendly & helpful, my two youngsters were also given lollipops for after their meal, which was thoughtful..

All in all a great experience, will definitely be back!!!

Helpful?
Thank Sloshamakookoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely delicious food... really enjoyed every bite... highly recommemded it :)
We were all made to feel welcome on arrival and throughout... my 6 year old son recommends the squid

Helpful?
Thank Corina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golden Mountain Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Golden Mountain Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing