We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ellerdene Guest House
Ranked #16 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We spent 3 nights here and had a very enjoyable time made better by the hospitality offered by Rick and Phil. Rooms very good, fridge supplied which is a nice extra. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious with endless supply of tea or coffee. Recommendations given on eating places were accepted and thoroughly enjoyable. Will definitely recommend to friends and family. Dog friendly too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STANNI60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
97
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Based on my experience, good value and great for a short stay in a nice location very close to Windermere shops and restaurants. Although the single room is fairly small, it isn't 'too' small and was very clean and nicely furnished. The small private bathroom for the single room is right next to the room and was also very clean. The owners were helpful and friendly in an unintrusive way and breakfast was plentiful with various hot and cold options.

If, like me, you're not a dog-owner, please don't let this put you off as a number of dogs were staying at the same time as me but the only reason I know this was I met them on my way in or out - they were extremely well-behaved and unobtrusive otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJG369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped for one night as part of a short break for my girlfriends birthday and stayed here. The rooms were lovely and clean and nicely furnished, might be small for some people but perfectly adequate and if you want space go outside - there's plenty of it! The bed and pillows were very comfy. The hosts were very friendly and they did a good breakfast and all at a very reasonable price. The location is great as your nestled between both Windermere village centre and a short walk down to Bowness.

Would definitely stay there again if we were to go to Windermere again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nottsneil84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

arrived an hour early and checked in, no problem. yes the room was small but still had space for tea/coffee facility, wardrobe and drawer space, fridge and t.v. excellent en-suite with power shower and modern fittings. absolutely spotless. the location is quiet and just a few minutes stroll into the centre of windermere. back at the guest house the guys have got attention to detail down to a fine art. modern bright breakfast room, smartly decorated. lovely breakfast, cereals, juices, then full english served at the table, on pearly white crockery with modern utensils. would i stay there again? absolutely !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everton662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here over the Valentines weekend and it is a lovely little find!
Really friendly owners and cosy, well decorated rooms.
The breakfast was amazing and very tasty, especially the perfectly done poached eggs.
Lots of choices such as fruit and cereal as well.
I never really bother writing reviews but wanted to express how welcomed we felt and pleasantly enjoyed our stay here.
Would definitely recommend and stay again. Great value for money! x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie8914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend and after reading reviews here thought it sounded too good to be true, but found all to true. Phil & Rick are fantastic hosts, rooms are small but clean and comfy with modern shower room. Breakfast where lovely (even got an extra sausage for our dog!). Location was just right for town and local amenities. Can't recommend enough.


Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Phil was so helpful, lovely warm greeting, room was spotless, cosy with plenty of clean towels and had fridge in which is great for walkers maybe wanting to make packed lunch. Even got given bottle of fizz as we got married a week ago. Phil booked us a table at the Lamplighter in town which is a 2 min walk away. The lake and Boweness is a pleasant 20 mins walk all downhill from hotel, £5 back up in a taxi. Great fresh cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Number 4 x
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyful02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#13 of 108 in Windermere
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#29 of 108 in Windermere
423 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
331 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#31 of 108 in Windermere
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerdene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerdene Guest House

Property: Ellerdene Guest House
Address: Ellerdene Guest House | 12 Ellerthwaite Road, Windermere LA23 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellerdene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellerdene Guest House, in the heart of the Lake District. Our Guest house offers clean, comfortable accommodation set within a quiet area close to the centre of Windermere village. Within easy walking distance of the train/bus station, and many of its shops, restaurants and bars. Phil & Rick would like to wish you a very warm welcome. We do welcome Families with children aged 6 and over,(No Family Rooms) Walkers,Couples,and Groups. We look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Ellerdene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerdene Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing