We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”
Review of Haisthorpe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haisthorpe House
Ranked #45 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

It was our first holiday in Lake district. We had very nice experience here. Diana was very friendly. Room was clean & with all facilities.Good bathroom & clean tub/toiletries.We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solokochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Haisthorpe House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed for 3 night weekend and found the room, the welcome, the cleanliness and facilities excellent. It was nice to have a spa bath after a long day walking. The hotel had everything you could wish for your stay, including corkscrew and glasses, walking books, information and a great welcome. Breakfast was really nice with a good choice and well cooked. We found that Bowness (20 min walk) offered better restaurants, bars and cafes than Windermere itself. Well worth the walk or short cab ride.

Room Tip: Room 1 with spa bath.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgcol5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Apart from a very slow shower which left no choice for a quick shower, everything was absolutely great. Tea/coffee was good, little sewing kit if necessary. Hair dryer was good which makes a change for most b&bs. We didnt have breakfast due to not wanting to get up too early. We were free to come and go at any time, care taken for other guests of course. Short walk of about 30 mins from windermere lake!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Recently returned from a 3 night stay here. Can't fault the place. Spotlessly clean and a very quiet locale. Had a nice relaxing time here and would not hesitate to return. Diana was very welcoming as a host. I'll take the negative comments with a pinch of salt. We stay in Windermere every year and this was the best of a good lot.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank Tonyh190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We had a great time staying at the haisthorpe house - the rooms were nicely decorated and had everything a traveller would need, the bathroom was clean and I could find nothing amiss. The service reached further than we could have imagined - in addition to a great breakfast with a variety of meals to choose from (as two vegetarians, we both were very glad to be able to choose from many different options) we also were very friendly advised about trips and tours around the Lake District, about pubs and anything we wanted to know. We even got equipped with maps and information brochures.
Altogether the service really excessed what we would have imagined and we would really recommend this house for everyone who likes to stay at a house with a warm and comfy atmosphere.
- The only disatvantage we could find was that for everyone not renting a car it was a bit more complicated to get to many different locations in the Lake District by bus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oleeeeoleooleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for three nights in March. The owner, Diana, is very friendly and helpful, as is her assistant, Karen, The hotel is impeccably clean. The breakfast was perfect every time. The room was very comfortable and the spa bath got plenty of use. All in all, impossible to fault and first-rate in all respects.

Room Tip: Room 1 with spa bath was excellent
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve_and_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed for one night, and couldnt have asked for more. Diana had our room early, was very welcoming and explained everything. The room was really clean and warm with tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was lovely with toiletries and clean towels. Breakfast the following morning was excellent, couldnt have asked for better. Cereals and juice and then a choice of 3 - continental, scrambled eggs salmon and bagel ot full cooked english. The hotel had car parking on site and was about a 15 minute walk to the lake. Overall excellent and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa27875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#28 of 107 in Windermere
185 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#57 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haisthorpe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haisthorpe House

Address: Haisthorpe Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £64 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haisthorpe House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haisthorpe House is situated in a secluded yet central area of Windermere in the English Lake District. It is only a few minutes walk from the village centre, local restaurants and the picturesque Lake Windermere. The Guest House is an ideal base for touring and walking holidays or for simply taking in the beautiful Cumbrian scenery.We offer a warm and friendly welcome. A relaxed atmosphere awaits you at the guest house where a high standard of hospitality and cleanliness is provided to ensure your stay at Haisthorpe House is an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Haisthorpe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haisthorpe House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing